Results 1 to 15 of 27

Thread: [HOW-TO] webcam

Threaded View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767

    [HOW-TO] webcam

    UPDATE: in the beta firmware on http://wl500g.googlecode.com you can use the refresh-time in the web admin with the same end result as in this how-to. Might be even easier :-)

    Well, I decided to make a little how to for simple webcamming via the admin-interface.
    Everybody knows that rcamd isn't really the best way to stream your webcam since it uses all your cpu... but I have a solution for that
    Also, not every motion detection program seems to work with webcams supported by the router, but rcamd usually does.

    allright, here we go:

    Step 1
    First of all we need a compatible webcam, you can look in the forums for a good one that works. http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=...Busb%5D+webcam

    I myself have the Logitech Quickcam 4000 pro connected.
    So next thing we do is connect it to the router, and then configure the settings in the webadmin interface.

    you can make it look similair like this if you want.
    note that the webcam driver should be loaded automatically, so it doesn't matter what you select.
    Just save the settings and reboot the device.

    Step 2
    Now log in via putty into your router.
    make sure you have putty maximized so your screen is completely filled with putty
    issue the command
    ps
    or
    ps axf
    to see the list of active processes

    in that list of processes you will find something similair to this:
    rcamd -p 7777 -s 0 -z MET-1METDST,M3.5.0/2,M10.5.0/3 -a 0 -t 0 -r 0 -f 640x480 -m 100 -c 100
    note that it will appear 3 times in the list, if it does not, your webcam is probably not supported!

    just select this piece with your mouse so it'll become white:

    now just open up notepad and press control + c to paste it into notepad.

    Now make sure, that everytime I call my copied rcamd process, you use your own copied version, as it might differ!

    Step 3
    Now we will do some magic
    rcamd -p 7777 -s 0 -z MET-1METDST,M3.5.0/2,M10.5.0/3 -a 0 -t 0 -r 0 -f 640x480 -m 100 -c 100
    the bold piece in this code is importand, you need to change it.
    -s is an option that allows you to lower the framerate, so also the cpu usage
    at this time it says 0, so it will capture an unlimited frames per second, till the cpu or the webcam can't handle any faster, we are about to change that.
    now if we change the 0 into a 4, the webcam will send every 4 seconds 1 image. so that will give you a framerate of 0.25fps
    no worries, it won't show up as only 1/4 of your screen
    You can adjust this number to your own wish, but I like the 4, because you won't notice the webcam is runnig on the performance
    Now also place a "&" behind the whole line, and end up having something similair to this:
    rcamd -p 7777 -s 4 -z MET-1METDST,M3.5.0/2,M10.5.0/3 -a 0 -t 0 -r 0 -f 640x480 -m 100 -c 100 &
    Step 4
    now we are still in putty will make the final hand to the evil process:
    vi /tmp/local/sbin/post-mount
    Now paste somewhere in this file the following:
    #Restart rcamd with proper settings
    killall rcamd
    sleep 3
    after this lines, paste your own rcamd copy!
    so it will look like this:
    #Restart rcamd with proper settings
    killall rcamd
    sleep 3
    rcamd -p 7777 -s 4 -z MET-1METDST,M3.5.0/2,M10.5.0/3 -a 0 -t 0 -r 0 -f 640x480 -m 100 -c 100 &
    now save the file and:
    flashfs save && flashfs commit && flashfs enable && reboot
    now to be sure it works, just issue "ps" to look at the cpu usage, and check if rcamd is using hardly any cpu

    Final step
    YES! now you can finally watch your webcam!
    huh? what not working?
    probably you have problems with the activeX webcam program on the webcam site.
    if you don't know what the site is...
    http://yourasusip:7776


    As far as I know the active X version only works with IE
    first go to control panel of windows, then to internet options:

    go to the security tab
    select trusted websites
    lower the the security level to lowest
    click on websites to add a new website to be trusted


    enter your asus ip adress or domain to add into the trusted websites
    make sure you have https selection off, otherwise you won't be able to add something.

    now apply everything and refresh your webcam page
    just install the activeX, and when promted if you want to run the object on your pc, answer yes
    and tata, here is your webcam feed
    Be sure the time changes in the picture
    you probably need to adjust the focus of the webcam too, for a sharp image, just turn around the lens wheel (with most webcams)


    now if you use the activeX version, yo can left click and right click on the image.
    left click will capture a screenshot and save it to somewhere on your disk
    right click will capture a movie to your harddisk

    I hope this works for ppl
    Last edited by wpte; 23-07-2009 at 20:35.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 21-12-2012, 08:55
  2. [How to] rtorrent & ntorrent
    By mancub in forum WL-500gP Tutorials
    Replies: 101
    Last Post: 18-12-2008, 07:21
  3. [How To] 2 zusätzliche interne USB Ports am WL500gP nutzbar machen
    By rj.2001 in forum German Discussion - Deutsch (DE)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-10-2008, 11:32
  4. [HOW TO] Bluetooth in wl500g
    By TIk in forum WL-500g/WL-500gx Tutorials
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17-09-2008, 21:38
  5. [HOW TO] Timeouts beim Laden von bestimmten Seiten beheben - MTU Problem
    By modnet25 in forum German Discussion - Deutsch (DE)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-09-2006, 10:55

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •