Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 33

Thread: Running the WL700gE at 300MHz

  1. #16
    The results of memc are below. It looks like the backplane is running at 133 MHz, not 150.

    I believe the router has been configured with the last sb_clock_table[] entry in:

    nasoc/src/linux/linux/arch/mips/brcm-boards/bcm947xx/compressed/misc.c

    - K.C

    [root@WL700gE tmp]$ ./memc
    Device memory mapped ok
    chipid: 00284704
    chip: 4704, rev: 8, pkg: 2, corerev: 3, PLL_TYPE2 /* 48Mhz, 4 dividers */
    300000000 Hz, 2 UART(s)
    flashcontrol: 00000000
    flashaddress: 00000000
    flashdata: 00000000
    clockcontrol_n: 00000803
    clockcontrol_sb: 01010000 133333333Hz
    clockcontrol_pci: 01020600 33333333Hz
    clockcontrol_m2: 01020600 33333333Hz
    clockcontrol_mips: 05000100 300000000Hz
    clkdiv: 00000002
    pcmcia_config: 00000074 Disabled Sync 16 bit ByteSwap: yes Div: 3
    pcmcia_memwait: 02060212 20/60/20/180
    pcmcia_attrwait: 070e143f 70/140/200/630
    pcmcia_iowait: 040e041a 40/140/40/260
    ide_config: 00000076 Disabled Async flash Sync 16 bit ByteSwap: yes Div: 3
    ide_memwait: 070e143f 70/140/200/630
    ide_attrwait: 070e143f 70/140/200/630
    ide_iowait: 040e041a 40/140/40/260
    prog_config: 00000072 Disabled Async flash 16 bit ByteSwap: yes Div: 3
    prog_waitcount: 00000000 0/0/0/0
    flash_config: 00000011 Enabled 16 bit ByteSwap: no Div: 2
    flash_waitcount: 02060212 20/60/20/180

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Quote Originally Posted by kfurge View Post
    The results of memc are below. It looks like the backplane is running at 133 MHz, not 150.
    Nice, then it should be safe to use it @300Mhz. On the wl500gp we use clkfreq=300,150 as 133Mhz at @backplane does not work for some reason.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Great White North
    Posts
    28
    Looks like it has been about 5 days since the last post - has anyone's router gone poof yet?

    Hacksaw.

  4. #19
    Good question. If we're counting, I have personally set 2 routers to 300MHz.

    - K.C.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Great White North
    Posts
    28
    Here is a question...

    I left my router on for 24 hours with the HDD spinning. The brick is damn hot. Would attaching a USB fan help out with the heat dissipation?

    Without taking the router apart, I can't tell if there is any airflow access to internal components. Would cooling on the top or bottom be better? I am standing mine up so I have access to both sides.

    Hacksaw

  6. #21
    Quote Originally Posted by Hacksaw View Post
    I left my router on for 24 hours with the HDD spinning. The brick is damn hot. Would attaching a USB fan help out with the heat dissipation?

    Without taking the router apart, I can't tell if there is any airflow access to internal components.
    Mine gets pretty warm when the HDD is spinning, but I wouldn't call it "damn hot".

    I'd have to say that trying to reduce the temperature of any of the important components with external airflow would be largely ineffective. The HDD is completely sealed in a metal box. The CPU and SDRAM are also buried under a metal EMC shield. To complicate things further, they're on opposite sides of the router.

    IMHO, the long-term reliability of the HDD will suffer because it's packaged so tightly in the router. I believe that idling the HDD to keep it as cool as possible when not in use is one of the best thing that can be done to improve its reliability. The electronics really don't care.

    - K.C.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Great White North
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by kfurge View Post
    Mine gets pretty warm when the HDD is spinning, but I wouldn't call it "damn hot".
    Well, if it was sitting in my lap it would get a little uncomfortable :-)

    Looks like I will leave it be then.

    Do you know of anyone who has tried to put a laptop HDD in the router? Might cut down on heat and noise. Of course you will loose capacity...

    Hacksaw.

  8. #23
    nice you are trying to get the most out of the wl700 but none of you have written anything about expected, and actual performance gains. Can anyone elaborate on this?

    /regards
    Henrik
    /regards
    Henrik

  9. #24
    Quote Originally Posted by n00ben View Post
    nice you are trying to get the most out of the wl700 but none of you have written anything about expected, and actual performance gains. Can anyone elaborate on this?
    Since the backplane frequency is essentially unchanged, I/O performance won't improve any.

    However, CPU bound processes will see a 13.6% peformace improvement from the MHz bump alone.

    - K.C.

  10. Quote Originally Posted by Oleg View Post
    Nice, then it should be safe to use it @300Mhz. On the wl500gp we use clkfreq=300,150 as 133Mhz at @backplane does not work for some reason.
    So I can assume that my 500gP will not burn down my room with these settings? You tested this for a couple of days?

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    3,805
    Usually, Oleg recommends to avoid doing that unless you ensured better heat dissipation for the CPU, i.e. attach a heatsink to it.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Quote Originally Posted by Elect View Post
    So I can assume that my 500gP will not burn down my room with these settings? You tested this for a couple of days?
    My wl500gp runs @300Mhz for several months now, but some guys were not able to even boot @300Mhz (i.e. bricked the box, but recovered using a console), but clkfreq=288,144 worked fine for them. My other wl500gp with 128mb of ram was unstable @300Mhz (i.e. showed memory errors during tests), it's running @264Mhz now.

    And yes, I've a heatsink attached.

    IO performance does not change, as PCI is still running @33Mhz.

  13. I don't think the 30 mhz will make such a big difference. At least, not as much as I would like to see for the pain it costs to recover it. 300 mhz would be nice though, but the probable need for a heatsink makes it less interesting.

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by Oleg View Post
    My wl500gp runs @300Mhz for several months now, but some guys were not able to even boot @300Mhz (i.e. bricked the box, but recovered using a console), but clkfreq=288,144 worked fine for them. My other wl500gp with 128mb of ram was unstable @300Mhz (i.e. showed memory errors during tests), it's running @264Mhz now.

    And yes, I've a heatsink attached.

    IO performance does not change, as PCI is still running @33Mhz.
    Very interesting thread.
    Oleg, Please you post "howto add 128mbs of ram to 500gP"?
    Thanks you very much.

  15. #30
    Quote Originally Posted by kfurge View Post
    I've completed my analysis of running the WL700gE at 300MHz. My results were extremely positive.

    With an ambient room temperature of 23.2 C, I measured the following temperatures on the BCM4780 processor:

    Idle @ 264MHz (with gpio interrupt fix): 28.0 C
    99.8% CPU load @ 264 MHz (as shipped from Asus): 29.8 C

    Idle @ 300 MHz: 28.8 C
    99.8% CPU load @ 300MHz: 29.8 C

    As you can see, I measured no difference in temperature between 264MHz and 300MHz when running at high CPU load. The maximum increase in temperature was from idle at 264 MHz to max load at 300MHz. Even in this case, the rise was was only 2 degrees C.

    All measurements were taken after a soak time of at least 15 minutes with a recently calibrated Fluke Model 61 Infrared Thermometer.

    A hi-res picture of the setup is here:

    http://wl500g.info/files/asus/custom...410-201724.JPG

    A similar picture of a slightly cooler reading at 300 MHz and moderate CPU load is here:

    http://wl500g.info/files/asus/custom...410-201744.JPG

    Given this data, I'm convinced it's completely safe, from a thermal perspective, to run the router continuously at 300Mhz with no heatsinking or other modifications.

    So... How does one set the frequency to 300MHz?

    [root@WL700gE ~]$ nvram set clkfreq=300
    [root@WL700gE ~]$ nvram commit
    [root@WL700gE ~]$ sync
    [root@WL700gE ~]$ sync
    [root@WL700gE ~]$ reboot

    That's it.

    Tables within the router, and bootloader, keep the SDRAM timing within spec. Thus far, I've reset the clock on two routers with no ill effects.

    As usual, YMMV. Do this at your own risk!

    - K.C.
    Whether at a raising of frequency of the processor productivity of data transmission on the network interface (TCP\IP) increases?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. wl700gE shell type
    By MoD in forum WL-700g Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-11-2006, 10:40
  2. Orb + WL700gE: My Dream Combination
    By Musk in forum WL-700g Q&A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-10-2006, 08:42
  3. Completely new WL700gE router crashed after firmware update - plz help!
    By ClaudeX in forum WL-700g Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20-07-2006, 01:03
  4. ELF 32-bit errors, port openwrt package to WL700gE
    By lewislin in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-03-2006, 22:30
  5. ASUS has opened page of downloading for the WL700gE
    By homedimon in forum WL-700g Pics & Specs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17-02-2006, 08:56

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •