Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 30 of 30

Thread: Want to instantly get a 15% performance boost?

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    244
    Quote Originally Posted by Magnus View Post
    Hi,
    where can I watch at the performance?
    On my router is no top command. Is there anything else ??

    -Magnus
    Ok, if I telnet to the router and login as root, there is no Top. But if I login as marc, that will give me all the programs I have installed, and Top is there. But I installed KFurge's image and followed his instructions to personalize the router.
    I am not sure, but I bet that Top is amongst the new Busybox commands.

    Correct me if I am wrong

    Marc

  2. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by mumsoft View Post
    Ok, if I telnet to the router and login as root, there is no Top. But if I login as marc, that will give me all the programs I have installed, and Top is there. But I installed KFurge's image and followed his instructions to personalize the router.
    I am not sure, but I bet that Top is amongst the new Busybox commands.
    Yest, top is part of the upgraded optware busybox. Regarding your problem, you probably don't have /opt/bin in your $PATH when when logged in as root.

    - K.C.

  3. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by F3ar0n View Post
    Wow this worked amazing

    I have to say a big thankyou to kfurge, d3viant and everyone on these boards.
    Glad you hung in there. I've got another one for you... In addition to the gpio trick, my box is running at 300MHz now... It used to run at 264Mhz.

    I want to do a little more testing before turning this trick out into the wild, but google can unlock all of the secrets if you're brave enough.

    - K.C.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    190
    Quote Originally Posted by kfurge View Post
    Glad you hung in there. I've got another one for you... In addition to the gpio trick, my box is running at 300MHz now... It used to run at 264Mhz.

    I want to do a little more testing before turning this trick out into the wild, but google can unlock all of the secrets if you're brave enough.

    - K.C.
    Hi,
    Have been googling for over 2hours but didn't find anything
    can you please post the link or pm it to mo ?

    Do you know if this also works on openwrt

    Grtzz
    Ronnie.

    Openwrt or Custom Firmware on asus? - http://wl700ge.hezik.nl/ - Http://wl700g.homelinux.net

    My ASUS collection: WL500gp(80GB usb-hdd - Running OpenWrt Kamikaze 7.09) | WL700gE(250GB - Running OpenWrt Kamikaze 8.09rc1)

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Guys, running @300MHz without a heatsink on the CPU is not recommended...

  6. #21
    Quote Originally Posted by Oleg View Post
    Guys, running @300MHz without a heatsink on the CPU is not recommended...
    Yeah, I know. That's why I'm planning on taking some thermal measurements before and after prior before posting. The how-to won't come without a recommendation.

    - K.C.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Santa Rosa, California
    Posts
    6

    Talking A big improvement

    Just installed the ksoftirqd fix. It makes a big difference to my system. My two mapped Samba drives no longer take forever to respond. Another headache gone thanks to kfurge and the rest of you.

    Thank you!

    --Brian

  8. #23

    Thumbs up

    I installed the ksoftirqd fix as well, this seems also solve the ftp problem that I facing before. Before apply the fix, when ftp from Internet to the box, the ftp connection will lost at about 250 to 300MB of file transfer, and I needed to wait for at least one hour before I can login the box through ftp again.

    After apply the ksoftirqd fix, I have try 3 files which both > 1GB, both can transfer successfully.

    Again, thanks KC for your great effort!!!

  9. #24

    Thank you

    Dude that worked great... Thank you so much!

  10. #25
    Quote Originally Posted by Fullback View Post
    Dude that worked great... Thank you so much!
    You bet.

    - K.C.

  11. #26

    I simply added echo "interrupt=no" > /proc/miscio/power_enable_config

    At the end of the rc.local file before fi.

    Am I doing it right?

  12. #27
    Quote Originally Posted by tiexano View Post
    At the end of the rc.local file before fi.
    The exact location is not critical, but mine is within the "rc.local.done" if statement so it only runs once at startup.

    - K.C.

  13. #28

    Question is this still applicable?

    Hi K.C. -

    Just wondering, if this is still applicable to your WL700gE_kc_1078_02.nas firmware?

    Is it already in there? But i dont seem to see it in the rc.local file.

    I think A 15% performance gain is a lot specially if mldonky tops up to 90%.

    Thanks,
    Lloyd

  14. #29

  15. #30

    ksoftirqd_CPU0 still a problem for me

    hy i have a wl500gp v1 ,oleg`s 1.9.2.7-10
    it work`s perfectly. no hdd atached for the moment

    but..

    when i start my download from internet it goes 5.8 mb .maxim (i have a 10mb band)
    The problem is when i`m downloading the ksoftirqd_CPU0 uses the cpu 100%
    and if i enter the 192.168.1.1 to aces my roter..i have a big lag...sometimes even the page is not displyed corectly.

    somthing i noticed ..i have to pc wired atached to my wl 500gp and if i download somthing from one pc to another(both top configurations) i have the 6mb 6.5 max transfer. and i know that this is the half speed normaly it must be 10 12 mb no? 100/8=12.5

    i ve tried ""echo "interrupt=no" > /proc/miscio/power_enable_config"" i found in the "how to speed up 15 %" thread..but i ve got


    [admin@gtm /proc]$ echo "interrupt=no" > /proc/miscio/power_enable_config
    -sh: cannot create /proc/miscio/power_enable_config: Directory nonexistent

    can someone help me to ...calm down the ksoftirqd_CPU0 ..?
    Edit/Delete Message

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. WL-HDD performance tweaking
    By rumagent in forum WL-HDD Q&A
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 22-04-2007, 10:35
  2. Any way to boost the tranfer speed to extern HD?
    By Rasmuskarlsen in forum WL-500gP Q&A
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 31-10-2006, 22:16
  3. Wifi performance
    By samitro in forum WL-500gP Q&A
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-09-2006, 21:57
  4. Significant USB performance enhancement
    By Cryptic in forum WL-500g Custom Development
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 08-08-2006, 20:06

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •