Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 75

Thread: Using HDD drive for Root on OpenWRT

  1. #31
    Quote Originally Posted by d3viant View Post
    I have gotten dnsmasq going on the br-lan bridge, this seems to work fine (in that it assigns IP addresses) If I add eth0.1 to that bridge, packets get forwarded straight across to my adsl modem, as if the wl-700ge were invisible (I can no longer ping 192.168.1.1 in that situation)

    It may be a case of using iptables to forward packets, although I am not sure - I don't think the original asus firmware did this...
    Could you please let me know how to connect ADSL modem? That show me don't have pppoe interface and i can't go back asus original firmware . It is very bad

  2. #32

    cant mount HDD anymore

    does anybody have an idea? at some point I cant mount HDD anymore. I reflashed the router, recreated partition. even changed the HDD to another one. nothing helps. the error is:

    root@OpenWrt:/# mount -t ext3 /dev/discs/disc0/part1 /mnt
    mount: mounting /dev/discs/disc0/part1 on /mnt failed
    system is the following:
    root@OpenWrt:/# lsmod
    Module Size Used by Not tainted
    ide-disk 16708 0
    ext3 72804 0
    jbd 54840 0 [ext3]
    aec62xx 6940 1
    ide-core 123936 0 [ide-disk aec62xx]
    switch-robo 4620 0 (unused)
    switch-core 4864 0 [switch-robo]
    diag 21920 0 (unused)
    root@OpenWrt:/# fdisk -l

    Disk /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/disc: 6448 MB, 6448619520 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 784 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

    Device Boot Start End Blocks
    Id System
    /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1 1 100 803218+ 83 Linux
    root@OpenWrt:/# df
    Filesystem 1k-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
    none 31464 8 31456 0% /tmp
    /dev/mtdblock/4 384 324 60 84% /jffs
    /jffs 896 896 0 100% /
    root@OpenWrt:/# mount
    /dev/root on /rom type squashfs (ro)
    none on /dev type devfs (rw)
    none on /proc type proc (rw)
    none on /tmp type tmpfs (rw)
    /dev/mtdblock/4 on /jffs type jffs2 (rw)
    /jffs on / type mini_fo (rw)
    none on /dev/pts type devpts (rw)
    root@OpenWrt:/# ls -l
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 483 Jan 23 2007 bin
    drwxr-xr-x 1 root root 0 Jan 1 1970 dev
    drwxr-xr-x 1 root root 0 Jan 1 00:00 etc
    drwxr-xr-x 1 root root 0 Jan 1 00:01 jffs
    drwxr-xr-x 5 root root 409 Jan 23 2007 lib
    drwxr-xr-x 1 root root 0 Jan 1 00:02 mnt
    dr-xr-xr-x 29 root root 0 Jan 1 00:00 proc
    drwxr-xr-x 15 root root 136 Jan 23 2007 rom
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 319 Jan 23 2007 sbin
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 3 Jan 23 2007 sys
    drwxrwxrwt 6 root root 140 Jan 1 00:00 tmp
    drwxr-xr-x 6 root root 56 Jan 23 2007 usr
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 4 Jan 23 2007 var -> /tmp
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 3 Jan 23 2007 www

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    190
    Quote Originally Posted by MoD View Post
    does anybody have an idea? at some point I cant mount HDD anymore. I reflashed the router, recreated partition. even changed the HDD to another one. nothing helps. the error is:



    system is the following:
    you're mount path isn't right it must be set to /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/disc

    Openwrt or Custom Firmware on asus? - http://wl700ge.hezik.nl/ - Http://wl700g.homelinux.net

    My ASUS collection: WL500gp(80GB usb-hdd - Running OpenWrt Kamikaze 7.09) | WL700gE(250GB - Running OpenWrt Kamikaze 8.09rc1)

  4. #34
    Quote Originally Posted by back2basic View Post
    you're mount path isn't right it must be set to /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/disc
    the same error also, fdisk works with /dev/discs/disc0/disc
    Last edited by MoD; 27-01-2007 at 21:32.

  5. #35
    Quote Originally Posted by hmantsao View Post
    Could you please let me know how to connect ADSL modem? That show me don't have pppoe interface and i can't go back asus original firmware . It is very bad
    It depends on how your router works I guess - mine hands out dhcp addresses, and there is a dhcp client that runs on the WAN port by default with openWRT. If that isnt the case for your router, then you can assign a static IP to eth0.1 in the /etc/config filesystem (around there somewhere I think)

  6. #36
    Quote Originally Posted by MoD View Post
    the same error also, fdisk works with /dev/discs/disc0/disc
    My mount command is

    Code:
    mount -t ext3 /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1 /mnt
    this should definitely work for you looking at your fdisk output (unless the /mnt directory doesn't exist or the filesystem on the drive is corrupted - do an fsck on the drive device if that mount command doesn't work...)

  7. #37
    Quote Originally Posted by d3viant View Post
    My mount command is

    Code:
    mount -t ext3 /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1 /mnt
    this should definitely work for you looking at your fdisk output (unless the /mnt directory doesn't exist or the filesystem on the drive is corrupted - do an fsck on the drive device if that mount command doesn't work...)
    strange situation:
    root@OpenWrt:/# mount -t ext3 /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1 /mnt
    mount: mounting /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1 on /mnt failed
    root@OpenWrt:/# mkdir /mnt/test
    mini_fo: create_sto_dir: ERROR creating sto dir.
    mkdir: cannot create directory '/mnt/test': No space left on device
    root@OpenWrt:/# df
    Filesystem 1k-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
    none 31464 8 31456 0% /tmp
    /dev/mtdblock/4 384 324 60 84% /jffs
    /jffs 896 896 0 100% /

  8. #38
    Hmm, odd - it's booted off jffs and somehow filled up that small partition (ie no room left to create a /mnt directory)

    Is there anything you can delete off jffs to create some more room?

  9. #39
    Quote Originally Posted by d3viant View Post
    Hmm, odd - it's booted off jffs and somehow filled up that small partition (ie no room left to create a /mnt directory)

    Is there anything you can delete off jffs to create some more room?
    trying to go back to the original asus firmare shows:
    pivot_rc starting...
    pivot_rc proceeding to boocramfs: wrong magic
    t from disk...
    ERROR(a):mount_pivot_point failed to mount location : /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part1...
    ERROR(b):mount_pivot_point error : Invalid argument...
    pivot_rc boot loop error for location 0...
    pivot_rc complete -> calling /sbin/init...
    or
    pivot_rc starting...
    pivot_rc pcramfs: wrong magic
    roceeding to boot from disk...
    ERROR(a):mount_pivot_point failed to mount location : /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target
    0/lun0/part1...
    ERROR(b):mount_pivot_point error : Invalid argument...
    pivot_rc boot loop error for location 0...
    pivot_rc complete -> calling /sbin/init...
    could it be that the flash ir physicallly broken?

  10. #40
    It seems to be very confused about where the hard drive actually is - you said you have tried openWRT on a different hard drive from the original one. Does the original still contain the ASUS formatted reiserfs partition - if so, try plugging that back in and see what the ASUS firmware says...

  11. #41
    Quote Originally Posted by d3viant View Post
    It seems to be very confused about where the hard drive actually is - you said you have tried openWRT on a different hard drive from the original one. Does the original still contain the ASUS formatted reiserfs partition - if so, try plugging that back in and see what the ASUS firmware says...
    my previous post is about asus firmware with original HDD.

  12. #42
    That doesn't look so good then! - try plugging your had drive into a pc and formatting it to reiserfs (or the openWRT one to ext3) then try to use the appropriate firmware again.

    I hope this'll solve it - otherwise it looks like you may have screwed up your flash ROM...

  13. #43
    Quote Originally Posted by d3viant View Post
    That doesn't look so good then! - try plugging your had drive into a pc and formatting it to reiserfs (or the openWRT one to ext3) then try to use the appropriate firmware again.

    I hope this'll solve it - otherwise it looks like you may have screwed up your flash ROM...
    i have tried 3 HDD:
    1. original asus
    2. Openwrt HDD that was inside the router when everything went wrong
    3. another HDD with Openwrt

    I have recreated ext3 partition several times. even created fat32 on pc and then back to ext3. nothing helps. so it seems that it is flash, not hdd related problem.

  14. #44
    Well, that isn't so good for you then - the only other thing I can think of is to do a few firmware flashes to see if you can clear out the flash memory - you can do openWRT over serial port too I believe(as opposed to just tftp)

    On a seperate note, I got the openWRT to work properly as a router - it seems that turning on the firewall just enables this feature - no extra config required!

    Any extra configuration you need to do will be for individual ports that need to get to the router I guess...

  15. #45
    Quote Originally Posted by d3viant View Post
    Well, that isn't so good for you then - the only other thing I can think of is to do a few firmware flashes to see if you can clear out the flash memory - you can do openWRT over serial port too I believe(as opposed to just tftp)
    I have serial port. do you have any idea how to use serial to reinicialize flash or aother stuff that could help. is there any tool that could test the flash?
    Last edited by MoD; 28-01-2007 at 14:56.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Lost Access to HDD
    By cokeman in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-10-2006, 08:39
  2. Mirroring WL-700g external USB hard drive
    By Joho in forum WL-700g Q&A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-09-2006, 14:49
  3. twonky media server, network drive with oleg firmware
    By black_bottom in forum WL-HDD Q&A
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22-03-2006, 07:15
  4. Flashing Oleg's Firmware in WL HDD
    By hugo in forum WL-HDD Custom Development
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 21-10-2004, 14:55
  5. USB HDD connects as Webcam
    By Oldchatterman in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 19-10-2004, 17:54

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •