Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 34

Thread: Twonky

  1. #16

    Notepad++

    Is a good alternative if you want to edit unix files under windows

  2. #17
    I get a weird thing happening:

    I start twonkymedia on the command line and when I stop my shell it dies.

    Anyone seen this?

  3. #18

    Autostart Twonky

    Hopefully this may be of some use to those of you who use Twonky and have had issues with getting it to autostart on system reboot.

    Before this I couldn't get Twonky to autostart i always had to go in and start it.
    The following information is based on the latest KC firmware ver 1.0.7.8.
    Anyway enough of that on with the code.

    I have found version 4.4 of twonky to be problematic, (ie) I couldn't view any divx files however I have found that version 4.2 and v.4.3 work with no issues

    You need to create a couple of files.

    I am assuming that you have twonkymedia files located in /opt/etc/twonky
    adjust the file below as necessary

    File 1. /opt/etc/init.d/S82twonky

    place code below into this file.

    #!/opt/bin/sh

    PATH=/opt/bin:/opt/sbin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin
    DAEMON=/opt/etc/twonky/twonkymedia
    NAME=ushare
    DESC="Twonky UPnP A/V Media Server Version 4.2"
    PIDFILE=/var/run/twonky.pid

    start() {
    if [ -f $PIDFILE ]; then
    echo "Warning : $PIDFILE still present. Unclean shutdown ?"
    kill -s 9 `cat $PIDFILE` 2>/dev/null
    rm -f $PIDFILE 2>/dev/null
    fi
    echo -n "Starting $DESC... "
    $DAEMON
    echo "done"
    }

    stop() {
    echo -n "Stopping $DESC... "
    if [ -f $PIDFILE ]; then
    kill -9 `cat $PIDFILE` 2>/dev/null
    killall -9 twonkymediaserver
    rm -f $PIDFILE 2>/dev/null
    fi
    echo "done"
    }

    case "$1" in
    start)
    start
    ;;
    stop)
    stop
    ;;
    restart)
    stop
    sleep 1
    start
    ;;
    *)
    echo "Usage: $0 (start|stop|restart)"
    exit 1
    ;;
    esac
    Chmod 755 /opt/etc/init.d/S82twonky

    next we create the file which crontab will run to check if twonky has been started. This will check if the pid has been put in the /var/run location.
    if the file exists then it will simply exit.

    File 2. /opt/etc/twonky-autostart.sh

    #!/opt/bin/bash

    # check for running pid and if not present
    # start twonky.
    # requires you to have S82twonky in init.d
    # put in cron as a job and run every 5 minutes

    PIDFILE=/var/run/twonky.pid

    if [ -f $PIDFILE ]; then
    exit 0;
    else
    /opt/etc/init.d/S82twonky start
    fi
    again make sure you chmod 755 twonky-autostart.sh.

    Finally

    put a check in your crontab to run this every 5 minutes.

    like so

    */5 * * * * /opt/etc/twonky-autostart.sh


    Giz1007

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    244

    This works for me...

    Hi,

    Impressive, but, I have only this in my rc.local:

    Code:
     #Start Twonkymedia, before changing library_path
     /opt/share/TwonkyMedia/twonkymedia &
    and I shut down my Asus every day, and it starts up with Twonky (4.4), no problem.
    Regarding divx, you probably should remove

    Code:
    MT:avi,divx video/avi

    in the clients.db (in directory resources)

    Love,
    Marc

  5. ciao Mark,

    does twonky media streams also video files? it is not clear to me!

    thanx!

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    244
    Quote Originally Posted by Michele Spinolo View Post
    ciao Mark,

    does twonky media streams also video files? it is not clear to me!

    thanx!
    Michele, I was not aware of your question upon today.
    Yes Twonky can stream video files, but I never tried that really. I have a Ziova Clearstream that is capable to show video's, and I have tried that only with an iso-file, which it reaches through shares, not via Twonky.
    But I think you already know much more about Twonky's video capabilities than me.

    Greets,
    Marc

  7. ciao Marc,

    i followed your steps but what I get when I try to run ./twonkymedia is

    /opt/lib/libpthread.so.0: no version information available (required by ./twonkymedia)

    can you help me?

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    244
    Quote Originally Posted by Michele Spinolo View Post
    ciao Marc,

    i followed your steps but what I get when I try to run ./twonkymedia is

    /opt/lib/libpthread.so.0: no version information available (required by ./twonkymedia)

    can you help me?
    You'd better try to run it via rc.local the way I described. Twonky needs the original libraries from the asus, not the versions in /opt.
    When I tried to run ./twonkymedia in may 2007 I must have had the original librarypath in my environment.

    Rgds,
    Marc

  9. Quote Originally Posted by mumsoft View Post
    You'd better try to run it via rc.local the way I described. Twonky needs the original libraries from the asus, not the versions in /opt.
    When I tried to run ./twonkymedia in may 2007 I must have had the original librarypath in my environment.

    Rgds,
    Marc

    thank you very much for your help! it runs now! I can access it through the web interface.
    I have to figure out how to configure it now! is the a manual somewhere?

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    244
    Quote Originally Posted by Michele Spinolo View Post
    thank you very much for your help! it runs now! I can access it through the web interface.
    I have to figure out how to configure it now! is the a manual somewhere?
    I never needed a manual for this. Just enter http://asus:9000/ where asus is the ip-address of your router, than hit the Twonky mediasettings tab.
    There is also the website and a forum, so look around and find.

    I ought not reply...

    Marc

  11. thanks anyway Marc!

    Twonky seems to work fine with PS3 although somtetimes I have DLNA server errors.
    Up to know I resolved simply rebooting PS3. It would be nice to understand weather the problem is releated to Asus, PS3 or Twonky!

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    244
    Quote Originally Posted by Michele Spinolo View Post
    thanks anyway Marc!

    Twonky seems to work fine with PS3 although somtetimes I have DLNA server errors.
    Up to know I resolved simply rebooting PS3. It would be nice to understand weather the problem is releated to Asus, PS3 or Twonky!
    Then it would be wise to look at the twonky forum.
    http://www.twonkyforum.com/viewforum...f972096da8aa3b

    Rgds
    Marc
    Last edited by mumsoft; 13-05-2008 at 20:56.

  13. I found an interesting hint yesterday night: it seems Twonky can't work properly if the HD is in sleep mode.
    What happen my PS3 can't recognize proper media format, thus "unsupported file format" is displayed.
    Even if you try to force playback you still have an error.

    To solve the problem simply reboot your asus. It is not an elegant solution but it's fast.

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    244
    Quote Originally Posted by Michele Spinolo View Post
    I found an interesting hint yesterday night: it seems Twonky can't work properly if the HD is in sleep mode.

    To solve the problem simply reboot your asus. It is not an elegant solution but it's fast.
    I have worked with Twonky for about a year on a HD that slept after a while, and never got such problems. If I started music or looked at pictures the HD just waked up and it only took some more time to get started.
    But because some process in the Asus (the log?) wakes up the HD from time to time, I now have K.C. Furge's way of silencing it, which also means it never sleeps. This is more of an elegant solution, and much faster. Rebooting the Asus, urging Twonky to read all the media again, isn't fast at all.

    Regards
    Marc

  15. Quote Originally Posted by mumsoft View Post
    I have worked with Twonky for about a year on a HD that slept after a while, and never got such problems. If I started music or looked at pictures the HD just waked up and it only took some more time to get started.
    But because some process in the Asus (the log?) wakes up the HD from time to time, I now have K.C. Furge's way of silencing it, which also means it never sleeps. This is more of an elegant solution, and much faster. Rebooting the Asus, urging Twonky to read all the media again, isn't fast at all.

    Regards
    Marc
    ciao Marc,

    I have KFurge FW, and in rc.local I have exactly the same parameters you have (or at least posted) in yours.
    I was managing movies actually, i did not try with music or pics but that was the result.

    Is it maybe something due with PS3 then: what are you using as client with twonky?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Twonky locks up my Asus WL500gx?
    By sebw in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-03-2007, 13:05
  2. Oleg + twonky + VPN
    By bakman in forum WL-HDD Q&A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15-12-2006, 09:48
  3. Twonky Vision
    By Skymannn in forum German Discussion - Deutsch (DE)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27-09-2006, 13:56
  4. Internet toegang op WL-HDD via router
    By Jeroen van Omme in forum Dutch Discussion - Nederlands
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-07-2006, 22:36
  5. twonky media server, network drive with oleg firmware
    By black_bottom in forum WL-HDD Q&A
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22-03-2006, 07:15

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •