Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Wake on Lan with this router

  1. #1

    Wake on Lan with this router

    Hi

    I am trying to get wake on lan working on my WL-700GE. The router itself seems to be stopping the "magic packet" If I replace the router with a plain switch, then sending a packet within the network works fine, but if the router is plugged in, the packet never seems to reach it's destination. There is a wakelan package in the ipkgs optware repository for the router, I have installed and tried this aswell to no avail.

    Does anyone know of any programs that run on the router that could cause this odd kind of behaviour?

    thanks

    d3viant

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    191
    A router does not route broadcast packets.

    If you run ether-wake on the router itself, and the PC is in a network directly attached to it (no routers or bridges between), it should work, as it does for me.
    Last edited by MMCM; 18-12-2006 at 00:04.

  3. #3
    Now I guess the question is "is there an ether-wake package (or equivalent) for this router?"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    191
    ether-wake is part of busybox, if it is compiled in.
    I'm using OpenWrt Kamikaze on my WL-500gx & WGT634U, and configured busybox to include ether-wake.
    It tested the wakelan binary from my old backup of the WL-500gx running Olegs Firmware, and it did not work.
    The difference between those two is, that ether-wake sends a special ethernet frame (OSI layer 2), whereas wakelan broadcasts a special UDP packet to 255.255.255.255:9 (OSI layer 4).

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OSI_model

    Additionally, it's important to have the right BIOS settings on your PC (enable WOL), with the right hardware (WOL cable connected from PCI card to mainboard on older machines).

    You could test with Ethereal/Wireshark on the destination PC, if it is reached by the packet.

  5. #5
    Ok, with wakeonlan the packet never got to it's destination machine. Is there a version of busybox available for the WL700GE with ether-wake already compiled in do you know?

    The version currently on my router is 1.1.3 and it does not have ether-wake available by the looks of it...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    191
    I have busybox 1.2.1 running on my WL-500gx.
    If you send me you mail address (via PM), I can mail you my busybox binary to test.

    If it works:
    Don't replace your busybox with mine, until you are sure it contains everything you need.
    You could symlink ether-wake to my busybox binary stored somewhere else.

Similar Threads

  1. router cannot reconnect with PPPoE
    By gstadler in forum WL-500gP Q&A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-06-2007, 20:51
  2. Cannot access FTP from outside the router?
    By Rasmuskarlsen in forum WL-500gP Q&A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23-05-2007, 22:10
  3. Bridging WAN, LAN, and WLAN
    By jhoderd in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-08-2006, 12:12
  4. Completely new WL700gE router crashed after firmware update - plz help!
    By ClaudeX in forum WL-700g Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20-07-2006, 01:03

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •