Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 128

Thread: Wondershaper QoS discussion

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,307

    Wondershaper QoS discussion

    In an efford to try to keep the firmware topics clean, this thread will discuss all questions and remarks regarding Wondershaper' QoS (or Bandwidth control).

    Some must-read info:
    Wondershaper info

    Oleg' FAQ for v1.7.5.9 firmwares

    WIKI (dynamic information system)
    Last edited by Styno; 30-10-2005 at 21:08.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Styno, please remove bootCmd stuff, it's not correct.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    2,407
    Quote Originally Posted by Oleg
    Styno, please remove bootCmd stuff, it's not correct.
    ghehe hit the EditText button then

    My little Asus Collection: Too much to fit inhere, my 2 babies:WL500w 1.9.2.7-10(OLEG) VX2SE Yellow Lamborghini notebook



    WL500g Forum Asus Files OpenDir

    Asusforum.NL -- Asusforum.DE -- Asusforum.RU -- Asusforum.PL -- Asusforum.NET -- Asusforum.EU -- Asusforum.BE -- Asusforum.ES -- Asusforum.INFO

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Quote Originally Posted by Antiloop
    ghehe hit the EditText button then
    Too simple.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,307
    Hmm, i didn't add the bootCmd section at all , someone else did. It's a WIKI...
    Last edited by Styno; 18-08-2004 at 10:31.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,307
    Okay ontopic now:
    I configured the router with post-boot scripts to enable wondershaper and did a test:
    On the router I did: 'ping www.tweakers.net -t' and the pings returned in approximately 15 ms.
    Then I started a download and the pings went up to approximately 500 ms instantly.

    I reviewed the wshaper script and it explicitly provides priority to ICMP (ping e.g.) over other traffic. Why is my ping going sky high then? Queueing on the ISP side?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Reduce traffic rate settings.
    In fact, downloading should not make any impact on pings. Upload does make difference.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Taiwan
    Posts
    5
    Thanks ,Oleg and everybody here first

    I have read these 2 links as follow already,
    Oleg' FAQ for v1.7.5.9 firmwares
    WIKI (dynamic information system)

    but I still confuse about the wshaper.

    see my settings first.(I'm a newbie in linux)

    1.telnet to the wl500g
    2.mkdir /usr/local/init
    3.cp /init/functions /usr/local/init/functions
    4.add 1 line command /init/wshaper start "eth1" 1024 100
    in the /usr/local/init/functions (at the bottom of this file)

    5.flashfs save
    6.flashfs commit
    7.flashfs enable
    7.reboot

    is it correct?

    and for example :
    if I want to let 192.168.1.3 with (200k/10k)
    192.168.1.4 with (150k/20k)
    192.168.1.5 with (100k/10k)
    192.168.1.6 with (300k/30k)
    what should I do?

    add 4 lines commands in the /usr/local/init/functions ??

    /init/wshaper start "eth1" 200 10 192.168.1.3/32
    /init/wshaper start "eth1" 150 20 192.168.1.4/32
    /init/wshaper start "eth1" 100 10 192.168.1.5/32
    /init/wshaper start "eth1" 300 30 192.168.1.6/32

    I think it's wrong!
    because when i use it but all ip run with 300k/30k
    how I can do?? or it's impossible?

    or I just can let 192.168.1.3 192.168.1.4 192.168.5 as low priority source?

    like that command
    /init/wshaper start "eth1" 1024 64 192.168.1.3/32,192.168.1.4/32,192.168.5/32

    then the ip 192.168.1.6 can get the highest priority??

    appreciate your answers in advanced.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    377
    Hi

    I´m not that deep into wondershaper but to shap single ip´s i think you have to modify the script itself, after all its just an convenient front-ent to the kernel QoS services and intendet for single line usage on a router (shaps for all connektions then) or to be run on your local linux machine. Will look into it when my Asus arives (Antiloop, waiting was useless this morning ).
    My Stuff: WL-500g, Mapower H31x 10GB HD, Philips Webcam Vesta PRO, TerraTec Webcam PRO, USB Hub

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,307
    Quote Originally Posted by adar
    1.telnet to the wl500g
    2.mkdir /usr/local/init
    3.cp /init/functions /usr/local/init/functions
    4.add 1 line command /init/wshaper start "eth1" 1024 100
    in the /usr/local/init/functions (at the bottom of this file)
    5.flashfs save
    6.flashfs commit
    7.flashfs enable
    7.reboot

    is it correct?
    Step 3 is wrong:
    3.create /usr/local/init/post-firewall with vi
    4.add: /init/wshaper start "$1" 1024 100
    4a.make script executable with chmod +x /usr/local/init/post-firewall
    and for example :
    if I want to let 192.168.1.3 with (200k/10k)
    192.168.1.4 with (150k/20k)
    192.168.1.5 with (100k/10k)
    192.168.1.6 with (300k/30k)
    what should I do?
    Do you really want this because if 192.168.1.4 is the only one generating traffic it can't use the full bandwidth.

    add 4 lines commands in the /usr/local/init/functions ??

    /init/wshaper start "eth1" 200 10 192.168.1.3/32
    /init/wshaper start "eth1" 150 20 192.168.1.4/32
    /init/wshaper start "eth1" 100 10 192.168.1.5/32
    /init/wshaper start "eth1" 300 30 192.168.1.6/32

    I think it's wrong!
    because when i use it but all ip run with 300k/30k
    how I can do?? or it's impossible?
    Wrong again

    You have to modify the /init/wshaper script to do this. How? I don't know yet.
    Probably just copy it to /usr/local/init and edit it with vi to apply the rules. Don't forget to set the right path in the post-firewall script in this case.

    or I just can let 192.168.1.3 192.168.1.4 192.168.5 as low priority source?

    like that command
    /init/wshaper start "eth1" 1024 64 192.168.1.3/32,192.168.1.4/32,192.168.5/32

    then the ip 192.168.1.6 can get the highest priority??

    appreciate your answers in advanced.
    Thats the most realistic option.
    Last edited by Styno; 19-09-2004 at 14:41.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Quote Originally Posted by adar
    Thanks ,Oleg and everybody here first

    I have read these 2 links as follow already,
    Oleg' FAQ for v1.7.5.9 firmwares
    WIKI (dynamic information system)

    but I still confuse about the wshaper.

    see my settings first.(I'm a newbie in linux)

    1.telnet to the wl500g
    2.mkdir /usr/local/init
    3.cp /init/functions /usr/local/init/functions
    4.add 1 line command /init/wshaper start "eth1" 1024 100
    in the /usr/local/init/functions (at the bottom of this file)

    5.flashfs save
    6.flashfs commit
    7.flashfs enable
    7.reboot

    is it correct?
    telnet to the wl500g
    Code:
    mkdir /usr/local/init
    echo "/init/wshaper start \"\$1\" 1024 100" > /usr/local/init/post-firewall
    chmod +x /usr/local/init/post-firewall
    flashfs save
    flashfs commit
    flashfs enable
    reboot

    and for example :
    if I want to let 192.168.1.3 with (200k/10k)
    192.168.1.4 with (150k/20k)
    192.168.1.5 with (100k/10k)
    192.168.1.6 with (300k/30k)
    what should I do?
    rewrite the wshaper script completely, to put every IP in different class

    add 4 lines commands in the /usr/local/init/functions ??

    /init/wshaper start "eth1" 200 10 192.168.1.3/32
    /init/wshaper start "eth1" 150 20 192.168.1.4/32
    /init/wshaper start "eth1" 100 10 192.168.1.5/32
    /init/wshaper start "eth1" 300 30 192.168.1.6/32

    I think it's wrong!
    Sure.
    because when i use it but all ip run with 300k/30k
    how I can do?? or it's impossible?

    or I just can let 192.168.1.3 192.168.1.4 192.168.5 as low priority source?

    like that command
    /init/wshaper start "eth1" 1024 64 192.168.1.3/32,192.168.1.4/32,192.168.5/32
    Code:
    /init/wshaper start eth1 1024 64 "192.168.1.3 192.168.1.4 192.168.1.5"

    then the ip 192.168.1.6 can get the highest priority??
    yes
    But this probably will not work due to NAT. You may want try shaping br0 instead, swapping upload/download.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,307
    I've updated the WIKI page and added a new page on howto migrate from BootCmd's to post-boot scripts (flashfs-boot).
    Last edited by Styno; 19-09-2004 at 14:22.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,307
    I've never had the idea that Wondershaper worked for me but I didn't have problems with my bandwidth either so I didn't investigate it. This changed yesterday: I was playing an online first person shooter when someone started a download from my FTP server. The game became unplayable because of high pings (lag) so I had to disable te FTP server and start again. This problem should have been avoided by the Wondershaper script so I started looking into the problem:

    I've done some tests where I was pinging to 'www.tweakers.net' while downloading a large file from 'www.chupa.nl' and this is what i've found out:

    The following command placed at the first line in the post-firewall script does not work at all:
    Code:
    /init/wshaper start "$1" 976 460
    But when I give the following command on the command-line, Wondershaper does work:
    Code:
    /init/wshaper start "br0" 976 460
    as does:
    Code:
    /init/wshaper start "eth0" 976 460
    So I've removed the command from the post-firewall script and placed the following command on the first line in the post-boot script:
    Code:
    /init/wshaper start "br0" 976 460
    Now it does work for me , any ideas on the cause?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    The idea to this to post-firewall was as following - 1) automagically determine WAN port name; 2) possible wshaper changes to properly handle NATed connections with mangle table.

    As for you problems. You've effectively switched upload/download rates by starting shaping LAN side (yes, LAN, not WAN). So your config in terms of post-firewall is in fact become

    Code:
    /init/wshaper start "$1" 460 976
    which is not, that is you expecting

    Finally, as seems your download rate is not 1Mbit, it's lower. Try lowering it from 976 down to 460 looking for better results.

  15. #15

    How to check wondershaper ...

    Hello,

    is their a way to see if woundershaper is running and what is going on ?

    I configured the post-firewall script, but it seems not to change anything.

    Thx
    Lionking

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. WonderShaper/tc IP filtering
    By kolaf in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-08-2005, 16:34
  2. wondershaper howto?
    By rexster in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-05-2005, 15:06
  3. Wondershaper in Post-Firewall
    By britnet in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-03-2005, 13:46
  4. Slow performance of WL-HDD - Discussion
    By Oleg in forum WL-HDD Q&A
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 21-11-2004, 22:07
  5. Would it be possible to implement wondershaper?
    By Snigel in forum WL-500g Custom Development
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 26-06-2004, 21:22

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •