Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Oleg's firmware, QoS on WL-500gP

Diffserv for QoS and VoIP

Hi.
    I am a beginner with linux so i wonder if someone could help me with this...
    I want to connect a VoIP adapter to a LAN-port on WL-500g and to ensure that VoIP traffic have the priority over all other traffic on the other WLAN/LAN ports routed to/from internet on the WAN-port, I want to enable Diffserv. I know that my VoIP adapter has Diffserv support, but how do i check if availabe and furthermore enable Diffserv support in WL-500g ? http://diffserv.sourceforge.net/ state that linux kernel 2.4 has this implemented, but what kernel version do WL-500g have ? I would realy appreciate if someone could explain this in detail to a real newbie like me...

Roald
    Norway

The WL-500g has support for QoS, but for Diffserv to work there will probably be some kernel options required which are not enabled (yet). Just try it and if there need to be extra kernel options, you'll have to build your own kernel (or ask another forum member to do it ).

If this seems too difficult, try getting QoS for VOIP by configuring QoS using the webinterface or with Wondershaper.

I have looked into the QoS thing by using the WEB-interface, but with a VoIP adapter (Sipura SP-1000) witch uses a range of ports for RTP outbound traffic, it is difficult to figure out a way to use the WEB-interface to get a good result. I have used a Speedtouch 510i configured with Diffserv support so i hoped that my new WL-500g was able to do the same job..

Someone else out there who have a clue about how to get Diffserv support up and running ..?

Well, I still think this ain't gonna work with the precompiled firmwares here, so if you don't want to build your own you can try the following:

Use iptables to mark the portrange and then filter these marked packets using the Wondershaper script and place them in the high-priority queue.