Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28

Thread: WLAN Connection speed A716 / Wl500g

  1. #1

    WLAN Connection speed A716 / Wl500g

    Antiloop,

    In one of your topics you mentioned that your A716 only connects at 1 or 2 mb ; I have the same problem, although when I disable the wlan and insert a CF card (Symbol) it connects at full speed ( same AP/WEP keys)
    To other AP's (cisco,linksys) I can connect also full speed
    Other Wlan card's like Cisco PCM342 ,linksys 54 Mbit and Orinoco cards can also connect to Wl500g at full speed (beit 11 Mbit or 54 Mbit)

    Only the combination A716 / Wl500g causes trouble (2 Mbit is too slow to play mp3 or read tomtom cards (I use the wl500g in my car together with usb hdd en A716 , the whole combo connects via wds to my "home" in order to download new music overnight ; probably the first mobile wl500g ?)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    2,407
    yes indeed, i don't have problems with other cards for instance PCCard (PCMCIA) the WLAN of my A716 connect without problems at 11mbit to my antique WL300(not G!!), the weird thing is when resetting the wl500g and my mypal is turned on it reconnects at 11mbit untill i disconnect and reconnect again. So out of that theory it seems something during startup or some negotiating whatever is causing the 2mbit problem

    i also own a Asus WL110 card, but haven't tried it yet in my A716. And my A620 is at asus for mainboard replacement. IF i have time i'll try the wl110 in my a716 and we'll see at which speed it will connect

    My little Asus Collection: Too much to fit inhere, my 2 babies:WL500w 1.9.2.7-10(OLEG) VX2SE Yellow Lamborghini notebook



    WL500g Forum Asus Files OpenDir

    Asusforum.NL -- Asusforum.DE -- Asusforum.RU -- Asusforum.PL -- Asusforum.NET -- Asusforum.EU -- Asusforum.BE -- Asusforum.ES -- Asusforum.INFO

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    2,407
    okay i've figured out how the A716 will connect at 11Mbps

    you have to perform this command (set it as bootCmdX if you are using a Custom FW)

    i've tested this with FW 1.8.1.3, are wireless settings are default in the WL500g

    Code:
    wl suprates 11
    Definition:
    suprates
    Returns or sets the 11g override for the supported rateset
    With no args, returns the rateset. Args are a list of rates,
    or 0 or -1 to specify an empty rateset to clear the override.
    List of rates are in Mbps, example: 1 2 5.5 11

    My little Asus Collection: Too much to fit inhere, my 2 babies:WL500w 1.9.2.7-10(OLEG) VX2SE Yellow Lamborghini notebook



    WL500g Forum Asus Files OpenDir

    Asusforum.NL -- Asusforum.DE -- Asusforum.RU -- Asusforum.PL -- Asusforum.NET -- Asusforum.EU -- Asusforum.BE -- Asusforum.ES -- Asusforum.INFO

  4. #4
    Hi Antiloop,
    tried your solution (fw 1.8.5.2) but same problem
    first connect 11mb (after reboot of both devices), after a re-connect only 1 or 2 mb
    I think the problem lies in the A716, not the wl500g, as all other cards connect and reconnect with 11mb
    I will try to get support from Asus

  5. #5
    sorry typo in fw must be 1.7.5.9-2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    2,407
    Quote Originally Posted by ceesmf
    Hi Antiloop,
    tried your solution (fw 1.8.5.2) but same problem
    first connect 11mb (after reboot of both devices), after a re-connect only 1 or 2 mb
    I think the problem lies in the A716, not the wl500g, as all other cards connect and reconnect with 11mb
    I will try to get support from Asus
    asus is already occupied with it... i'm testing it with them

    are you sure the suprates was set correctly?

    check it with

    Code:
    wl suprates

    i've just discovered something weird..
    when connecting to my other wl500g (that one had always been in WPA-PSK TKIP+AES mode, turned it back to test this)
    IT PERFECTLY connects at 11Mbps!?!? without performing the wl suprates command..

    this is very strange... i'll try to find out why now..
    Last edited by Antiloop; 18-07-2004 at 01:20.

    My little Asus Collection: Too much to fit inhere, my 2 babies:WL500w 1.9.2.7-10(OLEG) VX2SE Yellow Lamborghini notebook



    WL500g Forum Asus Files OpenDir

    Asusforum.NL -- Asusforum.DE -- Asusforum.RU -- Asusforum.PL -- Asusforum.NET -- Asusforum.EU -- Asusforum.BE -- Asusforum.ES -- Asusforum.INFO

  7. #7
    HI Antiloop
    To make things worse , I have four WL500g's, 1 central as gateway, the others as accespoints and bridging to the central one, by using different SSID's you can have 4 "different networks " the suprates trick works on the wl500g in "gateway mode", it connects and reconnects at 11mb but refuses to authenticate after reconnecting, neither with the asus utility nor with cironds winc for pocketpc (wich seems to use the profiles, created by the asus utility). In accespoint mode still the some old story (1 or 2mb only),
    I checked with "wl suprates" and it reported "11" ; so that's ok
    When I switch off Wlan and insert my Symbol CF card, no problem at all
    Because of the brdiging I can only use WEP, WPA is not supported (yet?)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    2,407
    which channel are u using btw?

    i did a strange discovery..

    My little Asus Collection: Too much to fit inhere, my 2 babies:WL500w 1.9.2.7-10(OLEG) VX2SE Yellow Lamborghini notebook



    WL500g Forum Asus Files OpenDir

    Asusforum.NL -- Asusforum.DE -- Asusforum.RU -- Asusforum.PL -- Asusforum.NET -- Asusforum.EU -- Asusforum.BE -- Asusforum.ES -- Asusforum.INFO

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    2,407
    okay

    when using those channels:

    channel 1 A716 connects to WL500g at 2 mpbs (sometimes at 1mbps)
    channel 2 A716 connects to WL500g at 2 mbps
    channel 3 A716 connects to WL500g at 2 mbps
    channel 4 A716 connects to WL500g at 2 mbps (sometimes even 5mbps)
    channel 5 A716 connects to WL500g at 11mbps (sometimes at 5mbps)
    channel 6 A716 connects to WL500g at 11mbps (drops back immediately to 2mbps)
    channel 7 A716 connects to WL500g at 11mbps
    channel 8 A716 connects to WL500g at 11mbps
    channel 9 A716 connects to WL500g at 11mbps
    channel 10 A716 connects to WL500g at 11mbps
    channel 11 A716 connects to WL500g at 11mbps
    channel 12 A716 connects to WL500g at 11mbps
    channel 13 A716 connects to WL500g at 11mbps

    when quicktesting some findings with my WL300(NOT G!)
    channel 1 A716 connects to WL300 at 11mbps
    channel 6 A716 connects to WL300 at 11mbps


    can you please try this out if this works with your A716 ?

    My little Asus Collection: Too much to fit inhere, my 2 babies:WL500w 1.9.2.7-10(OLEG) VX2SE Yellow Lamborghini notebook



    WL500g Forum Asus Files OpenDir

    Asusforum.NL -- Asusforum.DE -- Asusforum.RU -- Asusforum.PL -- Asusforum.NET -- Asusforum.EU -- Asusforum.BE -- Asusforum.ES -- Asusforum.INFO

  10. #10
    As usual I picked for no reason the worst .... 6
    (for all wl500g's because of the bridging)

    will let you kow

  11. #11
    Hi Antiloop

    Here are my testresults

    Channel 10 and 13 : no association at all, with and without wep
    Channel 6 (gateway mode and Ap mode) first connect 11mb, after reconnect 2mb or 1 mb
    Channel 1 (gateway mode ) Most of the time 11mb, sometimes 2mb or 1 mb
    Channel 1 (ap-mode) 2- or 1mb

    All tests were carried out with all Wl500g's bridged in WDS mode and in non-bridged mode, A716 within 2 meters of Wl500g

    Also switching on or off of the 54g protection did't change anything

    Strange thing is dat only the combination Wl500g /A716 seems to have problems

    With my A716 I can associate to whatever AP without problems; tested with Linksys WRT54G and Cisco AP342

    All my other wireless card's ; Orinoco,Cisco,Linksys and Asus connect to the WL500g in every mode en speed

    Weird situation indeed

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    2,407
    hm veryvery weird..

    allthough WRT54g should give the same results

    i've just quicktested the WRT54g with A716

    channel 1 = connect at 11Mbps
    channel 6 = connect at 11Mbps


    this is very odd.. i don't have any explanations anymore atm

    My little Asus Collection: Too much to fit inhere, my 2 babies:WL500w 1.9.2.7-10(OLEG) VX2SE Yellow Lamborghini notebook



    WL500g Forum Asus Files OpenDir

    Asusforum.NL -- Asusforum.DE -- Asusforum.RU -- Asusforum.PL -- Asusforum.NET -- Asusforum.EU -- Asusforum.BE -- Asusforum.ES -- Asusforum.INFO

  13. #13
    Hi Antiloop

    Today I had some time to perform some more tests

    I installed a WL107G as a client adapter in a XP machine and connected to a WL500g running in AP mode and WDS enabled and connected to another WL500g
    XP shows connecting speed of 54 Mbits; then I connected the A716; same old problem; only a 2Mbits connection

    Next step was configuring the WL107G as an AP (special mode) still the A716 only connects at 1 or 2 Mbits
    This all shows clearly to me the problem is not a WL500g related on, but lies within the A716 firmware

    Any news form Asus on this topic ?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    2,407
    no news yet,

    though i've done some testing too, when using a Linksys WRT54g for test and i picked channel 6

    it connected at 11Mbps for a few secs and dropped back to 2mbit

    when picked channel 11 it worked perfectly at 11Mbps

    so it looks like my environment has effect on the performance of the A716 WLAN


    last thing i want to test is to hook up the WRT54g somewhere else than at my place too see if it drops to 2Mbps too when using channel 6

    My little Asus Collection: Too much to fit inhere, my 2 babies:WL500w 1.9.2.7-10(OLEG) VX2SE Yellow Lamborghini notebook



    WL500g Forum Asus Files OpenDir

    Asusforum.NL -- Asusforum.DE -- Asusforum.RU -- Asusforum.PL -- Asusforum.NET -- Asusforum.EU -- Asusforum.BE -- Asusforum.ES -- Asusforum.INFO

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    2,407
    Quote Originally Posted by Antiloop
    no news yet,

    though i've done some testing too, when using a Linksys WRT54g for test and i picked channel 6

    it connected at 11Mbps for a few secs and dropped back to 2mbit

    when picked channel 11 it worked perfectly at 11Mbps

    so it looks like my environment has effect on the performance of the A716 WLAN


    last thing i want to test is to hook up the WRT54g somewhere else than at my place too see if it drops to 2Mbps too when using channel 6
    update:

    i've been testing my A716 at another place with the linksys wrt54g, also at that place signal drops from 11 to 2 when using channel 6

    and to verify it wasn't only my A716 i've used another A716 (which is a few weeks old at this moment of writing produced in July-2004, mine is produced in May-2004) the new one does exactly the same

    it connects at 11mbit and then drops to 2mbit

    My little Asus Collection: Too much to fit inhere, my 2 babies:WL500w 1.9.2.7-10(OLEG) VX2SE Yellow Lamborghini notebook



    WL500g Forum Asus Files OpenDir

    Asusforum.NL -- Asusforum.DE -- Asusforum.RU -- Asusforum.PL -- Asusforum.NET -- Asusforum.EU -- Asusforum.BE -- Asusforum.ES -- Asusforum.INFO

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Connection speed
    By daninor in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14-08-2005, 21:10
  2. Increase WLAN speed
    By Thisisnotme in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-08-2005, 10:21
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20-05-2005, 08:57
  4. Cannot get WLAN connection working
    By greenland in forum WL-HDD Q&A
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 02-11-2004, 01:05
  5. Problem in wlan connection
    By Cantara in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28-04-2004, 17:04

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •