Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: WL-550gE USB port ??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    19

    Question WL-550gE USB port ??

    Has anyone tryed to connect a USB port to the WL-550gE router ??
    I'm using WL550gE-1.9.2.7-7f-pre4 firmware from Oleg (Thx Oleg) and it suports USB storage.
    I would like to know if I can connect a USB port via some moding on the PCB to connect a USB hard drive or memory stick

    Excuse my poor english

    Best regards
    Renegate
    Last edited by Renegate; 06-07-2006 at 09:55.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    125
    I have no WL-550gE so I can't try this...
    The internal pictures clearly show (filled) solder holes for a 2x4 pin header marked with +5V, D1-, D2+ and GND (and D2-, D2+, of course). So just connect your usb device there (in my opinion, additional current limiting/filtering on the data lines isn't necessary; maybe you want to include a fuse between +5v and your device) and it will most probably work. Standard usb wire colors should be: red for +5V, white for D-, green for D+ und black for GND. Just in case you need them.
    Bear in mind that neither ASUS nor this forum nor I are responsible for any damage, so use common sense and only try this if you can afford to lose your router...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    19

    thx wtzm

    I will try to connect a cheap memory stick to the +5V, D1-, D2+ and GND and see what happens whish me luck

  4. #4
    Renegate did u try this?

    I tryed, but some strange stuff is happening. As soon as a wire at 15cm is connected to D- it will say:
    hub.c: Maybe the USB cable is bad?

    and keep posting that in system log.

    So my guess is they have made a kind of protection for this mod, but still can't see how they can detect a simple wire ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    19
    Renegate did u try this?

    I tryed, but some strange stuff is happening. As soon as a wire at 15cm is connected to D- it will say:
    hub.c: Maybe the USB cable is bad?

    and keep posting that in system log.

    So my guess is they have made a kind of protection for this mod, but still can't see how they can detect a simple wire ?
    update to this firmware http://oleg.wl500g.info/gp.old/WL550....7-7f-pre4.trx and ceck the wires (be shure that they are connected right > red for +5V, white for D2-, green for D2+ und black for GND) then try again it will work for shure.
    I use a 4 GB stik and it works.
    Good luck !!!

    Best regards,
    Renegate
    Last edited by Renegate; 26-10-2006 at 09:05.

  6. #6
    Well thank you so much ! I got it to work, but I now assume that only 1 of the usb ports works ? (the one closest to the cpu). It is meant to be this way right?

    ***
    Edit:
    Got both to work now, its just because there is only 5v at 1 of the pins.


    cheers
    dkn
    Last edited by dkn; 28-10-2006 at 13:54.

  7. #7
    Is it work now?
    Whitch contacts should I use? The ones, what closer to CPU, or another ones?
    Thanx for reply,
    Kirill.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    19

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by Kirill View Post
    Is it work now?
    Whitch contacts should I use? The ones, what closer to CPU, or another ones?
    Thanx for reply,
    Kirill.
    Yes it works download and update to tis firmware http://oleg.wl500g.info/1.9.2.7-7f/W...1.9.2.7-7f.zip connect the wires > red for +5V, white for D2-, green for D2+ und black for GND (the port closest to the cpu) but if you want to make the both ports work then you have to connect the +5V wire for the firs port to the +5V on the second USB port It has been tested and it works. Now I have one USB stik (4GB) and a printer connected to the router.
    Best regards
    Renegate.

    PS. Thx Oleg for this firmware

  9. #9
    Oleg also told me, that some kind if USB equipment would not work until 15kOm resistors on each data pin (D+ , D-) are connected.

  10. #10
    Can show us some pics of the soldering? Thanks!

  11. #11
    Hellou guys.

    I have just done the modification of WL-550gE this weekend.
    USB ports are working quite fine. I can also post here some pictures of complete work.

    devices working are: USB external disks(with external supply), webcam is working. i am still testing another devices...

    BUT !!!

    there is a problem with flash sticks or card readers.
    this is the only error i get:

    "hub.c: Maybe the USB cable is bad?"

    it is a problem of unsufficient power supply?
    is here someone who has the same problem.
    how can i solve it ?

    thanks for your answers.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    19

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by Duri View Post
    Hellou guys.

    I have just done the modification of WL-550gE this weekend.
    USB ports are working quite fine. I can also post here some pictures of complete work.

    devices working are: USB external disks(with external supply), webcam is working. i am still testing another devices...

    BUT !!!

    there is a problem with flash sticks or card readers.
    this is the only error i get:

    "hub.c: Maybe the USB cable is bad?"

    it is a problem of unsufficient power supply?
    is here someone who has the same problem.
    how can i solve it ?

    thanks for your answers.
    Some kind of USB equipment would not work correctly until 15 K Ohm resistors on each data pin (D+ , D-) are connected.
    Also download and upgrade this firmware http://oleg.wl500g.info/1.9.2.7-8/WL550gE-1.9.2.7-8.zip it's quite stable and it contains newer drivers.

    Best Regards,
    Renegate ™
    Last edited by Renegate; 03-12-2007 at 13:15.

  13. #13
    Duri, I have the same error msg like yours when I try to connect a SD card, and I didn't add any resistor as suggested. Please let me know if adding resistor will fix it, and really appreciate for some pics of your great work.

  14. #14
    about resistors:
    You simply need to add one 15kOhm resistor between D+ and GND, and a second 15kOhm resistor between D- and GND.

    btw my router is dead by now, but it has nothing to do with soldering or so. i pissed it off when i played with nvram settings. so if anyone could help please add your post here : http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=12483

    and of course the pictures (sorry for low quality):
    Attached Images Attached Images     

Similar Threads

  1. linuxrc bug? - WL-500g not booting from usb drive with hub
    By daniel632 in forum WL-500g Custom Development
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14-03-2012, 16:28
  2. Problem mit Printer und HD am Usb Hub...
    By Sidd in forum German Discussion - Deutsch (DE)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29-03-2006, 18:53
  3. WL500g 2 USB Drucker und ein LPT
    By Trebron in forum German Discussion - Deutsch (DE)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28-01-2006, 00:48
  4. Wl500g > 2 USB and 1 LPT Printer
    By Trebron in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27-01-2006, 23:17
  5. Please help... USB HDD doesn't work
    By jirina42 in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-01-2006, 20:04

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •