Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 39

Thread: Firmware v1.7.5.9 CR2 [Oleg]

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353

    Firmware v1.7.5.9 CR2 [Oleg]

    Download files@chupa here:
    firmware
    rootfs
    Sources for building

    New firmware which contains bugfixes for the following problems:
    • WebCam, Ftp, Samba server does not work in 1.7.5.9-1 due to several incompatibilities between official/custom firmwares
    • DNS proxy rejects queries after PPPoE/PPTP reconnection
    • Custom firmware configuration for the WAN iface was not set in PPPoE mode

    available for download.
    Rootfs and sources are available here.
    Last edited by Oleg; 19-06-2004 at 19:05.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Also, I've added tips and tricks section here . Read them also.
    Last edited by Oleg; 19-06-2004 at 19:24.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    frankfurt
    Posts
    84
    okay webcam and ftp is working! thx oleg!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    13
    The problem with VPN connections also seems to be fixed.
    Any clue about what was wrong?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    I've no idea. The only thing which is relevant is the DNS, but that's looks strange.

  6. #6

    init

    Just one question?

    Which stuff is better to place in pre-boot script, and which in post-boot??
    And one more choice is to modify /usr/local/init/functions

    Could give me some tips?

    THX
    Pipos (2xWL-500g, WDS-only mode, used as backbone for MAN network; 1xWL-500g in Client Mode with NAT)

  7. #7

    One Webcam still doesn't work

    The Afina one still doesn't work with CR2, but the Logitech one now works. Thanks.

  8. #8

    Question Additionally on Webcam...

    BTW the webcam capability never works on me when connecting from Internet, for either the official firmware or the hacked ones (garbage text code was shown instead). Any idea?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Helmond, The Netherlands
    Posts
    89

    Can't write to samba share

    I installed 1.7.5.9-2 and followed Oleg's instructions how to change the smb.conf file. I changed the working group so I see the share in my network. However I cannot write to this share. After loading the samba drivers also i am prohibited to upload to the USB dongle via FTP.

    Another question I have; I added some commands in the post-boot file, however I have the feeling the commands are not executed sequencially, I think the commands are executed in parallel. When I combine the commands in a single script and execute the script from the post-boot file everything works fine.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    2,407
    Quote Originally Posted by geoffreytw
    BTW the webcam capability never works on me when connecting from Internet, for either the official firmware or the hacked ones (garbage text code was shown instead). Any idea?
    use the search, a workaround is available

    and you can not connect to the data port for viewing your webcam (unless your are able to read data )

    My little Asus Collection: Too much to fit inhere, my 2 babies:WL500w 1.9.2.7-10(OLEG) VX2SE Yellow Lamborghini notebook



    WL500g Forum Asus Files OpenDir

    Asusforum.NL -- Asusforum.DE -- Asusforum.RU -- Asusforum.PL -- Asusforum.NET -- Asusforum.EU -- Asusforum.BE -- Asusforum.ES -- Asusforum.INFO

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    103
    Did anyone have the client mode working in this firm.
    I'm struggeling for some time now. I'm trying to connect to a linksys WRT54G

    net setup

    ADSL (192.168.1.254) - Linksys (192.168.0.1)-Asus(client mode 192.168.0.10) - PC (192.168.0.30)


    I used nvram set 13_x_ClientMode=1 + commit.

    In terminal I do a

    route add default gw 192.168.0.1 eth2
    and a echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward

    After that I can ping the AP from the ASUS, and have from the asus box connections to the net

    Now, when I try to connect from my PC, I cannot ping the linksys, not any other ip (exept the asus). So somehow the Asus does not forward my requests.

    Suggestios, am I'm forgetting something?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    270
    Quote Originally Posted by erik_bies

    ADSL (192.168.1.254) - Linksys (192.168.0.1)-Asus(client mode 192.168.0.10) - PC (192.168.0.30)
    That's not correct setting. You should change the IP address of your PC to different subnet otherwise routing can't work (I suppose you have the same mask for all interfaces 255.255.255.0). Try 192.168.2.x.
    Also check the gateway settings - ASUS needs to be set as default gateway for your PC.

    route add default gw 192.168.0.1 eth2
    and a echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
    You don't need to set the routing using Telnet anymore. Just change WAN parameters in web configurator - please note the WAN interface is exchanged with WLAN in Client mode. It works fine including DHCP support - it is possible to perform release / renew online.
    Last edited by Technik; 26-06-2004 at 17:29.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Quote Originally Posted by bramfm
    I installed 1.7.5.9-2 and followed Oleg's instructions how to change the smb.conf file. I changed the working group so I see the share in my network. However I cannot write to this share.
    Did you use share$ for writing?

    After loading the samba drivers also i am prohibited to upload to the USB dongle via FTP.

    Another question I have; I added some commands in the post-boot file, however I have the feeling the commands are not executed sequencially, I think the commands are executed in parallel. When I combine the commands in a single script and execute the script from the post-boot file everything works fine.
    No they're working just like other scripts - synchronously, unless you've specified " & " at the end of the each command.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Quote Originally Posted by erik_bies
    Did anyone have the client mode working in this firm.
    I'm struggeling for some time now. I'm trying to connect to a linksys WRT54G

    net setup

    ADSL (192.168.1.254) - Linksys (192.168.0.1)-Asus(client mode 192.168.0.10) - PC (192.168.0.30)
    Seems you're trying to setup this in bridging mode (no routing, etc). You should then switch wl500g to access point mode in addition to activating client mode. No other manual modifications required.

  15. #15

    combine 1.7.5.9-2 with 1.7.5.9

    Hi.

    My printer works om 1.7.5.9, but not on the r2.
    But my ADSL only works om r2...

    Can these be combined???

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Firmware v1.9.2.7 CR1 [Oleg]
    By Oleg in forum WL-500g Firmware Releases
    Replies: 53
    Last Post: 14-04-2005, 00:26
  2. Firmware v1.9.2.7 CR2 [Oleg]
    By Oleg in forum WL-500g Firmware Releases
    Replies: 64
    Last Post: 11-01-2005, 19:22
  3. Firmware v1.7.5.6 CR2 [Oleg]
    By Oleg in forum WL-500g Firmware Releases
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 05-05-2004, 04:10
  4. Firmware v1.7.5.6 CR2.1 [Oleg]
    By Antiloop in forum WL-500g Firmware Releases
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 03-05-2004, 12:13
  5. Firmware v1.7.5.6 CR1 [Oleg]
    By Antiloop in forum WL-500g Firmware Releases
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 07-04-2004, 18:22

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •