Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: WL-500g Premium aka WL-500gP Info

WL-500g Premium aka WL-500gP Info

Hi everyone,

I am from Romania and the guys at the store here told me that WL-500g is no longer available , and it will be replaced by "WL-500g Premium".

I wanted to buy a WL-500g but that is no longer possible so now I have to buy a WL-500gP. But before I do that I just wanted to ask if this model also supports firmware upgade like WL-500g did ??

What are de differences between WL-500g and WL-500gP ??

I need this router to perform QOS in my lan ... is this still possible ??

Thanks in advance
    Mircea

I have no knowledge of an upcoming device called wl-500gP, but there will definately be the wl-700gE coming. Think it's safe to say that this one will do EVERYTHING you ever wanted to do with a router (cept flying to the moon, that might need a firmware upgrade or two )

This is the link for the router ...

http://www.asus.com/products4.aspx?l...21&modelmenu=1

Oh cool, thx for the link. Didn't know they are continuing the 500 series.

The obvious differences are "UPnP Media Server (whatever that is)" and the "Download Machine" (for example a Bittorrent client I expect, like the wl-700gE), a 0.3A more powerful DC adaptor (i think the wl-500gx had 2A), that would be good for USB devices without own power supply. I'm trying to download the manual to check for QoS ability, but DL speed is SLOOOOW!

Edit: Yes according to manual it has the "Bandwith Management" known from the wl-500g(x).
    Last edited by TheEagle; 09-05-2006 at 22:39.

UPnP mediaserver is a media streaming server that supports the UPnP standard, like the Twonkyvision server for example.

For an (incomplete) list of hardware players that support this standard, chek out this link :
    http://www.twonkyvision.de/UPnP/devices.html
    macsat
    http://www.macsat.com - Tutorials and information on using ASUS WL-500G and family.

More info on WL-500gP