Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 17

Thread: HowTo setup a TELNET Daemon

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    2,407

    HowTo setup a TELNET Daemon

    here i'll explain very simple how to setup a telnet daemon, so you can telnet to your router

    BE CAREFULL, PORT 23 WILL BE EXPOSED TO YOUR WAN TOO!!!!
    THE TELNET DAEMON DOES NOT ASK FOR A PASSWORD!!!


    step one: setup your FTP to access your root, can be found in the HTT Forum

    step two: upload those files to the /tmp/ directory in your router
    http://files.wl500g.info/asus/wl500g/telnetd/busybox
    http://files.wl500g.info/asus/wl500g/telnetd/telnetd

    if this doesn't work upload those files too:
    http://files.wl500g.info/asus/wl500g/telnetd/faucet
    http://files.wl500g.info/asus/wl500g/telnetd/modules
    http://files.wl500g.info/asus/wl500g/telnetd/mysh
    http://files.wl500g.info/asus/wl500g/telnetd/strace

    step three: perform those four commands, and you are ready to telnet to your router: telnet://my.router

    chmod a+x /tmp/busybox
    chmod a+x /tmp/telnetd
    ln -s /tmp/busybox /tmp/sh
    /tmp/telnetd -d -l /tmp/sh &

    to perform those commands:
    open up the 'System Command' page at
    http://my.router/Main_AdmStatus_Content.asp
    fill in the command you wan't to execute
    and push the Refresh button (DO NOT hit the enter your keyboard, the command won't be executed then)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    2
    You could disallow connections from the wan port with iptables, right?? That would make it less unsafe.

    RR

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Den haag, Netherlands
    Posts
    23
    For the WL-500g(and maybee others) it is also possible to use the built-in busybox. To do this use the following commands instead:

    Code:
    chmod a+x /tmp/telnetd
    /tmp/telnetd -d -l /bin/sh &
    The built-in busybox give's you the following commands:
    [, ash, basename, busybox, cat, chmod, cp, date, dmesg, echo,
    false, grep, ifconfig, init, insmod, kill, killall, klogd, linuxrc,
    ln, logger, ls, lsmod, makedevs, mkdir, mknod, more, mount, mv,
    ping, ps, pwd, reboot, rm, rmdir, rmmod, route, sed, sh, sleep,
    sync, syslogd, telnet, test, tftp, true, umount, uudecode, uuencode

    ps. in the 1.7.5.6 firmware the telnet poort is blocked on the WAN side by the firewall. so it should be secure if you thrust the people on your lan/wlan.
    Last edited by DeF; 09-05-2004 at 21:28.

  4. #4
    [QUOTE=Antiloop]here i'll explain very simple how to setup a telnet daemon, so you can telnet to your router

    BE CAREFULL, PORT 23 WILL BE EXPOSED TO YOUR WAN TOO!!!!
    THE TELNET DAEMON DOES NOT ASK FOR A PASSWORD!!!


    step one: setup your FTP to access your root, can be found in the HTT Forum

    Hello i have 1.8.1.3 and i canīt access de FTP root with the help of the HTTP forum.

    Is there another way?

    tks

    Vox

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    2,407
    [QUOTE=vox]
    Quote Originally Posted by Antiloop
    here i'll explain very simple how to setup a telnet daemon, so you can telnet to your router

    BE CAREFULL, PORT 23 WILL BE EXPOSED TO YOUR WAN TOO!!!!
    THE TELNET DAEMON DOES NOT ASK FOR A PASSWORD!!!


    step one: setup your FTP to access your root, can be found in the HTT Forum

    Hello i have 1.8.1.3 and i canīt access de FTP root with the help of the HTTP forum.

    Is there another way?

    tks

    Vox
    if you have a usb-hd/key inserted upload the needed files to your harddrives root after that copy files via the commandline ( http://my.router/Main_AdmStatus_Content.asp )

    Code:
    cp /tmp/harddisk/busybox /tmp/busybox
    cp /tmp/harddisk/telnetd /tmp/telnetd

    My little Asus Collection: Too much to fit inhere, my 2 babies:WL500w 1.9.2.7-10(OLEG) VX2SE Yellow Lamborghini notebook



    WL500g Forum Asus Files OpenDir

    Asusforum.NL -- Asusforum.DE -- Asusforum.RU -- Asusforum.PL -- Asusforum.NET -- Asusforum.EU -- Asusforum.BE -- Asusforum.ES -- Asusforum.INFO

  6. #6
    Code:
    cp /tmp/harddisk/busybox /tmp/busybox
    cp /tmp/harddisk/telnetd /tmp/telnetd
    [/QUOTE]

    Hello Antiloop!

    tks for help. i still canīt telnet.

    I can copy the files, but wen i put the commands:

    chmod a+x /tmp/busybox
    chmod a+x /tmp/telnetd
    ln -s /tmp/busybox /tmp/sh
    /tmp/telnetd -d -l /tmp/sh &

    it doesnīt do nothing.

    One question:

    ln -s /tmp/busybox /tmp/sh
    /tmp/telnetd -d -l /tmp/sh &

    is this one line of command only?
    because i have tried this with one and tue but nothing

    tks for the help hope to hear from you all

    vox

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Antiloop
    Hi Antiloop,

    Clicking those urls gives me lots of codes... in the web browser!
    > Is it normal?
    > If yes, how to upload these files to my USB stick?

    PS: I'm running fw 1.8.1.9 and I can acces my ftp root.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,307
    No. Your browser should open a 'download dialog box'. If it doesn't you can also try to save it by savind the source code (right click on the webpage and select 'view source').

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    206
    Quote Originally Posted by Styno
    No. Your browser should open a 'download dialog box'. If it doesn't you can also try to save it by savind the source code (right click on the webpage and select 'view source').
    Yeah, or click on the link with your right mouse button and select "save target as"
    Brubber

    WL-500g, WL-138g, WL-160g

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Styno
    No. Your browser should open a 'download dialog box'. If it doesn't you can also try to save it by savind the source code (right click on the webpage and select 'view source').
    Everything works...
    Thanks!

    It seems that nor built-in busybox nor the one that I've downloaded from chupa contains vi! Is there full version of the busybox that can hold into the wl500g?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    2,407
    Quote Originally Posted by Spot
    Everything works...
    Thanks!

    It seems that nor built-in busybox nor the one that I've downloaded from chupa contains vi! Is there full version of the busybox that can hold into the wl500g?
    execute it as ./tmp/busybox vi

    My little Asus Collection: Too much to fit inhere, my 2 babies:WL500w 1.9.2.7-10(OLEG) VX2SE Yellow Lamborghini notebook



    WL500g Forum Asus Files OpenDir

    Asusforum.NL -- Asusforum.DE -- Asusforum.RU -- Asusforum.PL -- Asusforum.NET -- Asusforum.EU -- Asusforum.BE -- Asusforum.ES -- Asusforum.INFO

  12. #12
    for fw 1.8.1.9, I stopped at step one: setup your FTP to access your root neither click the url nor manually append text to /tmp/stupid-ftpd.conf

    so, I copy all correspond files to usb-hd via FTP and mount the usb-hd to /mnt

    after running the commands by Main_AdmStatus_Content.asp:
    chmod a+x /mnt/telnetd
    /mnt/telnetd -d -l /bin/sh &

    I can telnet my.router but no any authentication.
    Is any configuration missed?

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by Antiloop
    execute it as ./tmp/busybox vi
    OK... It works fine with the busybox dowloaded from chupa but not whith the built-in one.
    Is there a another path for this one?

    (sorry for these basical questions... but the way to proceed differs with custom fw... )

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,307
    Quote Originally Posted by Spot
    OK... It works fine with the busybox dowloaded from chupa but not whith the built-in one.
    Is there a another path for this one?

    (sorry for these basical questions... but the way to proceed differs with custom fw... )
    if you type 'busybox' whithout any parameters, it will give you a list of applications it contains. Probably vi isn't one of them. Therefore you need the full busybox in you temp directory...

  15. #15
    the busybox download from http://files.wl500g.info/asus/wl500g/telnetd/busybox

    and also saved to the ftp-hd root

    ls /mnt
    etc
    ftp_pub
    ftp_pvt
    part1
    partWeb
    busybox
    faucet
    modules
    mysh
    strace
    telnetd

    I have run these two commands before running telnetd
    chmod a+x /mnt/busybox
    ln -s /mnt/busybox /bin/sh

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Telnet From Wan
    By mao44 in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 18-05-2005, 21:33
  2. Telnet
    By dejay in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-05-2005, 19:53
  3. HowTo setup Firewall
    By mr.destroyer in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26-10-2004, 09:51
  4. smtp daemon
    By Jean-Fabrice in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29-07-2004, 14:10
  5. SSH daemon - do we really need this?
    By Oleg in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-01-2004, 22:41

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •