Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast
Results 76 to 90 of 96

Thread: Info update: WL-700gE

  1. #76
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25
    Quote Originally Posted by PXP52
    @JaJoah

    Your WEB-IF looks different as mine !! What Firmware you are running ?
    You have a link in DM --> Install Utillities and your buttons looks different (Post No. 64)
    What is behind the link ???????


    ...
    Well, see for yourself



    If you click on the link it will install the utilities that are also on your installation cdrom. Nothing special.
    My current collection:

    WL-500gX (original firmware), WL-500gX (Oleg 1.9.2.7-7g), WL-500gX (Oleg 1.9.2.7-8), WL-700gE (Asus 2.0.0.7)

  2. #77
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Germany - Near Rüsselsheim
    Posts
    39
    @JaJoah

    Damm !?!?! Why my Web-IF looks different as yours ? I run 1.0.4.1 also.
    I shud make a fimrware restore of 1.0.4.1.

    What shows the portrange in Web-IF for BT. Mine shows me a range 20xx to 20xx.

    Can you check it form what your router shows ?

    In 1.0.3.9 the change the range.

    WL-700g firmware version 1.0.3.9
    1. Add XBOX360 support
    2. Add PPPoE relay
    3. Chg: PPPOE module for performance and stability
    4. Chg: Enhance ctorent for BT download performance
    5. Chg: Adjust Bandwidth Mangement for quicker ACK, remove default rule for HTTP access.
    6. Chg: Adjust FTP accound access:
    PBSA mode: Anonymous access(without password) for username : "anonymous", "ftp", "guest"
    Access Right: allow to delete/rename if share access write/delete is enabled.
    7. Chg: Add back ap mode for better NAS performance. But user need to unplug/plug power to make it work.
    8. Chg: Enhance NAS performance in gateway mode.
    9. Chg: Enlarge port range for BT listen to 1024~65535
    10. Chg: Add link to Windows Setting from User Management when system is in PBSA mode.
    10. Fix: DDNS update problem
    11. Fix: Webcam can't record exceed 6 seconds.
    cu


    Dirk

  3. #78
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    16
    @PXP52

    My Web IF looks the same as that of JaJoah... and I also have 1.0.4.1. The BT port range you mention is the same as mine.

    But how does your Web IF look like then? (screenshot?)

  4. #79
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Germany - Near Rüsselsheim
    Posts
    39
    @Leviter

    Look at post 62 and 64.
    One sreenshot is mine and tje other from JaJoah.

    My router shows me 1.0.4.1 is running in Web-IF, but the site of the DM in Web-IF looks different as mine.

    cu

    Dirk

  5. #80
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    16
    @PXP52

    Ah, I see!!! You use the default XP theme while JaJoah has set it to display it in 'classic' mode. This mode has no rounded buttons for instance. Also take a look at the buttons on the right top of the browser window itself in the screenshots you took and JaJoah took. These show the difference in themes.

    (themes in XP can be set when you right click on your desktop and click 'properties')

    ... that however does not explain why you don't have the link to install the utilities.

  6. #81
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Germany - Near Rüsselsheim
    Posts
    39
    @Liviter

    The thing with the style i know. But i dont understand why the link is missing.
    I will restore the firmware after work.

    cu

    Dirk

  7. #82
    Quote Originally Posted by JaJoah
    a long story....

    Btw, are any of you posters on GATHERING.TWEAKERS.NET ?
    I go there every day

    why isn't the 700g on the dutch asus site yet?
    Last edited by bartgrefte; 17-05-2006 at 17:31.

  8. #83
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Germany - Near Rüsselsheim
    Posts
    39
    @All

    I find out how to shut down the disk of the WL-700gE :-)
    You must push the PWR button for 10 seconds and the disk will shut down.
    To wakeup the disk push the button again (short).

    A other thing i miss is settings export and import

    And damm , no answer from asus since 2 days about the filesize problem ! They are so slow

    Drik

  9. #84

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by PXP52
    The thing with the style i know. But i dont understand why the link is missing.
    I will restore the firmware after work.
    k
    I just got mine and there is also that link! So that is strange with you.
    So far I happy. it looks all good. will do some testing later..
    HD shutdown doesn't work so far... Ok when the router is off it is shutdown
    Last edited by Fixma; 17-05-2006 at 23:13.
    Greetings,

    Alex

  10. #85

    Problem's I´ve Encountered

    I Just Have Mine !!

    Ok de 2Gb problem, is only in BT mode?
    - Harddriver never stops spinning

    - WebCam Doesn't Work "Creative, modelo WebCam Live! Pro"

    - Don't know who establish a connectio with WL-700g in AP mode... Is the same way as the gateway? Or it is impossible to connect to the web config page in AP mode?

    And for finish, where is the WDS (Wireless Distribution System) ?!?I've looked every were, and don't find'it

    Thanks

  11. #86

    Exclamation

    The HD can't spin down since all the firmware is on the IDE HD, the drive never goes to idle. also the log files are on the HD. so that stays also open and the HD will spin up after a while.

    If everything can loaded into the RAM then maybe the HD can spin down. But that is a big change in the firmware..
    Greetings,

    Alex

  12. #87
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    25

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by Fixma
    The HD can't spin down since all the firmware is on the IDE HD, the drive never goes to idle. also the log files are on the HD. so that stays also open and the HD will spin up after a while.

    If everything can loaded into the RAM then maybe the HD can spin down. But that is a big change in the firmware..
    Doesn't that mean that when the HDD fails, you can throw the router in the trash
    My current collection:

    WL-500gX (original firmware), WL-500gX (Oleg 1.9.2.7-7g), WL-500gX (Oleg 1.9.2.7-8), WL-700gE (Asus 2.0.0.7)

  13. #88
    Quote Originally Posted by JaJoah
    Doesn't that mean that when the HDD fails, you can throw the router in the trash
    No. you can re-install the firmware from CD/file (did not try) . but the router will shutdown when the HD fails..
    Greetings,

    Alex

  14. #89
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Germany - Near Rüsselsheim
    Posts
    39
    Ok guys ,

    about the spindown of the HD of the wl-700g.
    Look on page 2 of the quick starter guide.
    Chapter 1.4 Front panel:

    OFF Hard disk unmounted or no power

    *Push this button and wait 10 seconds to shut down the disk.

    I try this and one time i get it spinning down. But only to time :-(

    Did you try this out ?

    cu

    Dirk

  15. #90
    Quote Originally Posted by JaJoah
    Well, I'm not that eagre to format the HDD because I think that will cripple the router seriously. Just go through the disk by Windows Explorer, and you'll see what I mean (example: the HTML of the photobook is on there, as well as some other stuff the router uses)

    @PXP52: those speeds are all on the LAN at my home. I've got an W2K3 server running with WWW & FTP services. So 2,4MByte/s on an internal network (100Mbit) is just slow.

    Anyone get any betther speed with this device.. 2,4MByte/s ist just damn slow for me.........

    Some more info about this, or respond from Asus??

    thnx

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Wireless info: speed and distance
    By Snufkin in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13-11-2005, 18:30
  2. Info regarding "WAN dies"
    By Cantara in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 91
    Last Post: 23-07-2005, 12:26
  3. FYI: PPPoE "instability" info from other forum
    By daffy in forum WL-500g Custom Development
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-08-2004, 20:21
  4. Status Log info
    By Pandabeer in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-05-2004, 20:00
  5. Broadcom info
    By Goner in forum WL-100g/WL-100gDeluxe/WL-103b/WL-120b/WL-120g [Broadcom Chipset]
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23-02-2004, 15:14

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •