Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: HELP! Cannot get AP mode working

  1. #1

    HELP! Cannot get AP mode working

    Hi folks,

    I'm really struggling to get a wireless PC onto my existing LAN and would really appreciate some help.

    Starting at the modem end, I have an SMC Barricade ADSL/single port router which feeds into a Belkin 5 port switch. One port of the switch connects a PC in the same room, a second port extends this wired LAN into another room on the floor below, connecting to the WAN port on the WL-500g. The LAN1 port of the WL-500g connects to a PC next to it (I'm writing this post on it now). These two wired LAN PCs are working perfectly. The WL-500g is working in AP mode - I don't need routing or firewall etc as these functions are provided by the Barricade.

    My problems start when trying to connect a PC to the LAN by wireless means. This third PC has a WL-138g wireless adaptor fitted. It is connecting to the WL-500g happily enough and the signal strength is excellent, but it is simply not being assigned an IP address by the Barricade, in fact, it doesn't appear to be seeing anything on the WAN side of the wireless router.

    Clearly I'm missing something fundemental here, perhaps someone could point it out please?

    Many thanks
    Tim

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    2,407
    try a linksys card instead or asus wl100g pcmcia card please.

    try to assign a static ip for the wl138g, see if you can reach your internal network

    and check if you are using WEP/WPA or something

    and post your findings here..


    i also urge you to read the FAQ, as your are not mentioning which firmwares you are running...

    My little Asus Collection: Too much to fit inhere, my 2 babies:WL500w 1.9.2.7-10(OLEG) VX2SE Yellow Lamborghini notebook



    WL500g Forum Asus Files OpenDir

    Asusforum.NL -- Asusforum.DE -- Asusforum.RU -- Asusforum.PL -- Asusforum.NET -- Asusforum.EU -- Asusforum.BE -- Asusforum.ES -- Asusforum.INFO

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Cologne, Germany
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by snodge
    (...)connecting to the WAN port on the WL-500g. The LAN1 port of the WL-500g connects to a PC next to it (I'm writing this post on it now).(...)
    Do you get the same effect when connecting to LAN2 etc. instead of the WAN-port?

    Peter

Similar Threads

  1. WL-HDD USB Hub not working
    By r0ll3r in forum WL-HDD Q&A
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-07-2005, 11:20
  2. ipkg offline mode not working
    By Reflex in forum WL-HDD Q&A
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 24-06-2005, 15:09
  3. What firmware to get WPA hybrid mode working ?
    By Jean-Fabrice in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21-02-2005, 15:04
  4. AP mode x Home Gateway mode
    By Fi-5 in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17-02-2005, 09:24
  5. AP client mode + AP repeater mode!
    By organetic in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27-12-2004, 19:19

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •