Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Newbie Advice Needed

  1. #1

    Newbie Advice Needed

    I currently have a combined ADSL modem/Router working which is connected to a few P.C.'s via a 10Mbit hub.
    The router is acting as a DHCP server.

    I want to add a WL500g but want to keep the ADSL modem/router in place. What kind of setup should I go for? Should I just replace the hub and run the WL500g in WAP mode only connected to the adsl router/modem? If so does this limit my ability to use the printer sharing/usb functionality?

    Cheers,

    Nevillybob.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Den Bosch, The Netherlands
    Posts
    33

    Setup as an access point.

    You could replace the 10mb hub for the WL500G, and set ip up as an "Access Point"
    But than you can't use some nice functions of this thing. But the printerport will work in this mode.
    4 * 10/100mb ports are available for your other pc's in the wired lan.
    Enter the setup: Menu System setup, Operation, and select Access Point.
    By doing this, the five LAN ports and the wireless users are connected as one network without the router functions.
    The next thing you can do (but is not a must) is setup a fixed IP and subnet mask (255.255.255.0) for the access point:
    Menu IP Config, Lan, then pick an IP that matches the IP adress pool of your other (DHCP enabled) router.
    By choosing a fixed IP for your access point it's easyer to remember for configurations.

    Thats all.
    Last edited by Rynno; 02-05-2004 at 12:39.

  3. #3
    Thanks for the swift reply.

    You mention I would not be able to use some of the nice functions. Which functions would they be?

    Many Thanks

    Nevillybob

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    270
    Quote Originally Posted by nevillybob
    Thanks for the swift reply.

    You mention I would not be able to use some of the nice functions. Which functions would they be?

    Many Thanks

    Nevillybob
    Hehe, just try to switch the router to AP mode and you will see what disappears from the web configurator menu... For instance it's USB application settings (FTP server and Web Camera) etc... But it's still possible to change the configuration or start daemons using Telnet / SSH of course (if you are running on Oleg's customized firmware).

Similar Threads

  1. Firewall rules - pls advice
    By jolae in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13-06-2005, 19:42
  2. Wireless audio setup - advice pls
    By Graldensblud in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27-04-2005, 23:51
  3. [newbie] Which Firmware ??
    By yilias in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19-07-2004, 23:10
  4. Newbie questions
    By nigelmercier in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-05-2004, 14:08

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •