Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: RT-N10U B is supported by oleg firmware?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1

    RT-N10U B is supported by oleg firmware?

    What is the difference, RT-N10U vs RT-N10U B
    http://www.asus.com/Networks/Wireless_Routers/RTN10U_B/

  2. #2
    check out hardware and compatibility at http://code.google.com/p/wl500g/wiki/Devices

    in my opinion the B stand for "black" --> the dark knight design
    Last edited by !gm; 30-09-2012 at 22:26.
    RT-N66U TomatoUSB 1.28.0000 MIPSR2-135 K26AC USB AIO-64K running Entware-NG
    pyload 0.4.9
    minidlna 1.1.2
    samba 3.6.5
    openvpn 2.3.10
    ̶W̶L̶5̶0̶0̶g̶P̶ ̶1̶.̶9̶.̶2̶.̶7̶-̶r̶t̶n̶-̶r̶4̶7̶5̶0 retired

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Russia, Moscow
    Posts
    2,112
    Blog Entries
    32

  4. #4
    hi all, i have some issues with RT-N10U firmware 1.9.2.7-rtn from 2012.09.30.

    If I leave the USB HD plugged in, on boot or reboot. The pre-mount and post-mount scripts dont run. The HD gets detected but, it seems it doesn't invoke fstab either.
    However after booting. If I unplug the HD and plug in again. The pre-mount and post-mount scripts execute, it also follows fstab correctly and mounts the HD.

    Am I doing something wrong? or is there some bug with the N10U????

    Does anyone have any ideas?
    Is there anyway to solve this problem? it seems if the USB HD is plugged in already on boot the mounting does not start.

  5. #5

    Bricked my Asus RT-N10U

    Bricked my Asus RT-N10U Black

    I put this command and the router does not start., lights no longer flash
    #nvram set sdram.config=0x107
    nvram commit
    reboot
    can be repaired? I tried Hard reset or 30/30/30 but nothing...must throw?

  6. #6

    clkfreq question (en)

    Hello. Has anyone tried clkfreq=373, 186, 93 on rt-n10u_b ?
    Is the router booting with this value? From your discussion I understood that clkfreq=480,160,80 is a safe setting, but I want either:

    373, 186, 93 or 400, 200, 100 in order to preserve CPU / RAM / FSB ratio.

    I belive someone (Hohmach: 'C clkfreq=400,200,100 роутер после перезагрузки завис, после передергивания питания брикнулся.') said that clkfreq=400,200,100 bricked his router, but I don't understand too well through Google Translate.

    Thanks.
    Last edited by rioachim; 13-02-2013 at 01:08. Reason: Correction

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Russia, Moscow
    Posts
    2,112
    Blog Entries
    32

    Arrow Overclocking RT-10U(B)+Mod RAM 64MB

    Quote Originally Posted by rioachim View Post
    Hello. Has anyone tried clkfreq=373, 186, 93 on rt-n10u_b ?
    Is the router booting with this value? From your discussion I understood that clkfreq=480,160,80 is a safe setting, but I want either:

    373, 186, 93 or 400, 200, 100 in order to preserve CPU / RAM / FSB ratio.

    I belive someone (Hohmach: 'C clkfreq=400,200,100 , .')
    said that clkfreq=400,200,100 bricked his router, but I don't understand too well through Google Translate.

    Thanks.
    There is a question about the RT-N12

    Tried overclocking nvram set clkfreq=480,160,80 at RT-N12 (300,150,75). Works, but unstable, kernel swears off wifi.
    C clkfreq=400,200,100 router after the reboot hangs, after the distortion of the power brick. Took replaced by RT-N12B1
    http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=...42639&langid=3

    Quote Originally Posted by rioachim
    I tried to upgrade its memory to 64Mb, I did set sdram_init from 0x0419 to 0x0c19/0x0c29/0x0113
    along with (or without) manual_boot_nv=1, but it was always reporting 32Mb.

    What is odd is that after setting sdram_ncdl to 0x0000, it does not get recalculated after reboot,
    remaining 0, therefore I believe it doesn't use these nvram settings.

    I did manage to (stable) 'clkfreq' overclock it to:
    354,177,88 / 373,186,93 / 400,200,100 but it gets quite hot even after radiator replacement.
    I would recommend 354,177,88 with stock radiator to have it running for years.
    http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtop...52672&start=15

    ASUS RT-N10U

    FCC ID: MSQRTN10U

    • CPU1: Broadcom BCM5356U (300Mhz)
    • RAM1: 32MB (EMST M13S2561616A-5T)
    • FLA1: 8MB (Winbond 25Q64BV)


    ASUS RT-N10U B

    FCC ID: MSQRTN10UB

    • CPU1: Broadcom BCM5356U (300MHz)
    • RAM1: 32 MB (Winbond W9425GJH-5)
    • FLA1: 8 MB (Macronix MX25L6406E)


    Mod RAM 64MB

    • 32MB DDR SDRAM 16bit -> EtronTech EM6AA160TSA-5G (Winbond W9425GJH-5)
    • 64MB DDR SDRAM 16bit -> VDATA VDD9616A8A-5C (0x105/0x106/0x107)

    Code:
    nvram set sdram_init=0x0419
    nvram set sdram_config=0x107
    nvram set sdram_ncdl=0
    nvram commit
    reboot
    Overclocking RT-10U(B)

    Code:
    # default
    clkfreq=300,150,75
    
    # +25%
    nvram set clkfreq=500,200,100
    nvram commit
    reboot
    
    # +8%
    nvram set clkfreq=480,160,80
    nvram commit
    reboot
    
    #Log
    Jan 1 04:00:02 kernel: CPU: BCM5357 rev 1 at 480 MHz
    Jan 1 04:00:02 kernel: Using 240.000 MHz high precision timer
    
    #CPU Info
    system type : Broadcom BCM5357 chip rev 1 pkg 8
    processor : 0
    cpu model : MIPS 74K V4.9
    BogoMIPS : 239.10
    http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=...107#post246107
    Last edited by Omega; 10-05-2013 at 04:40. Reason: fixed

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by zevchik View Post
    RT-N10U B1: EtronTech EM6AA160TSA-5G -> VDATA VDD9616A8A-5C
    Code:
    nvram set sdram_config=0x107
    http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=689125!
    Based on the broadcom documentation, if you change the last digit from original 0x202, you will alter some bits which reduce the speed of the memory
    (CAS latency from 3 to 2 and reduced Page Burst from 4 to 2). I have successfully modded the memory from 32Mb to 64Mb (Infineon HYB25D512160BE-5)
    and applied nvram set sdram_config=0x101 for full memory + increase Page Burst from 4 to 8.

    If you are on stock hardware and wish to increase Page Burst from 4 to 8, you can do nvram set sdram_config=0x201 + nvram commit without any issues.
    Be careful not to change anything else in this value because it might lead to bricked router (all leds dim) which you cannot recover by 30-30-30 reset.

    Success! I resoldered the 64Mb chip mentioned above in my post (taken from some old DDR1 desktop memory) and only did nvram set sdram_config=0x101
    (to overclock it a little to 8 page burst mode). Be careful, if you do this before changing the memory chip, the router will not boot (all leds dim).
    If you only want to do the 8-page burst mode tweak (stock router), just do nvram set sdram_config=0x201, of course followed by nvram commit.

    Indeed some users overclocked the processor to nvram set clkfreq=500,200,100 but to me it seemes overkill from 300Mhz to 500Mhz in terms of heat dissipation.
    I'll stick to 400,200,100. I bought this router to replace WRT54GL (with HGA7T antennas) and I don't regret a single bit (regarding speed+features+coverage+modding).

    By the way, this is how you check temperature: echo T=$((`wl -i eth1 phy_tempsense|awk {' print $1 '}`/2+20))
    On my overclocked 400,200,100 router with a bigger radiator I get 51 degrees, while on a stock hardware router overclocked to 354,177,88 I get 52 degrees.

    http://www.dd-wrt.com/phpBB2/viewtop...52672&start=15
    Last edited by Omega; 21-05-2013 at 13:58. Reason: fixed

Similar Threads

  1. New oleg firmware version
    By Lesiuk in forum WL-500gP Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 713
    Last Post: 13-05-2016, 05:55
  2. Oleg firmware - older version
    By kvr in forum WL-500gP Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17-04-2012, 20:04
  3. Real time clock with Oleg's firmware
    By hugo in forum WL-HDD Custom Development
    Replies: 56
    Last Post: 21-04-2009, 10:20
  4. Flashing Oleg's Firmware in WL HDD
    By hugo in forum WL-HDD Custom Development
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 21-10-2004, 15:55

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •