Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: [WEBCAM] "Couldn't connect to server" - WL-500g with Terracam USB PRO

  1. #1

    Question [WEBCAM] "Couldn't connect to server" - WL-500g with Terracam USB PRO

    Hello there,

    I need a little (o maybe more) help on the following topic:

    I've got a Terrtec Terracam USB PRO attached to my Asus WL-500g. The green status LED of the camera is on.

    I've configured my router the way that seems to me the right one (see picture).

    But if I'm trying to get a picture from my camera, the error messages "couldn't connect to server" pops up (see picture again).

    The camera is working if atteched directly to my computer. The green status LED is on. Oh yes, router firmware is 1.7.5.6.

    Thank you very much

    Krocus
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Krocus; 20-04-2004 at 19:37.

  2. #2
    Looking through the other webcam related posts it seems to me I'm not the only one have the problem described above.

    Diverent cameras, same error. Any clue?

    Thanks

    Krocus

  3. #3
    Mh,

    nobody an answer to that one?

    Okay, the other way around: Anybody out there, who got a similar setup up and running?

    Thanks in advance

    Krocus

  4. #4
    My Logitech webcam results in the same error message, and reading arround also seems to indicate that my webcam is not supported.

    As for your webcam, it seems like there may be two versions out there, with two different chipsets. Maybe yours is not an OV511 based webcam?

    BR,
    René

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    2,407
    probably your camera is just NOT supported at the moment..

    you should also have a look at www.smcc.demon.nl

    note: pwc 8.6 is the current driver for the wl500g.

    My little Asus Collection: Too much to fit inhere, my 2 babies:WL500w 1.9.2.7-10(OLEG) VX2SE Yellow Lamborghini notebook



    WL500g Forum Asus Files OpenDir

    Asusforum.NL -- Asusforum.DE -- Asusforum.RU -- Asusforum.PL -- Asusforum.NET -- Asusforum.EU -- Asusforum.BE -- Asusforum.ES -- Asusforum.INFO

  6. #6
    I have the same webcam, and it is not working. Same (dis)functionality as described above.

  7. #7
    Hello there,

    I called the Asus "support" hotline a few days ago. Nobody there's ever heard about "my" problem. They weren't able to provide a solution by phone. So I left my email address and they promised me to send me an answer.

    Nothing happend so far...

    Anybody else tried the hotline?

    Krocus

  8. #8
    Hi,

    long weekend, back on that topic. Short summery of my doings since my last posting here:

    1.) Never heard again form the "so called" Asus Support.

    2.) Upgraded from 1.7.5.6 to 1.8.1.9. There is a change now: There will no longer be the "Can't connect to server"-error but instead I can see - and know I quote from http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=63&page=2&pp=15 - garbage. It seems to be exactly the same problem.

    3.) I tried that link again:

    Quote Originally Posted by Antiloop
    probably your camera is just NOT supported at the moment..

    you should also have a look at www.smcc.demon.nl

    note: pwc 8.6 is the current driver for the wl500g.
    Sadly it won't work anymore.

    Any (new) ideas?

    Thank you very much

    Krocus

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    2,407
    Quote Originally Posted by Krocus
    Hi,

    long weekend, back on that topic. Short summery of my doings since my last posting here:

    1.) Never heard again form the "so called" Asus Support.

    2.) Upgraded from 1.7.5.6 to 1.8.1.9. There is a change now: There will no longer be the "Can't connect to server"-error but instead I can see - and know I quote from http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=63&page=2&pp=15 - garbage. It seems to be exactly the same problem.

    3.) I tried that link again:



    Sadly it won't work anymore.

    Any (new) ideas?

    Thank you very much

    Krocus

    do you ALWAYS see the garbage? i see this to, but this is caused (at my place) due the fact that the image was requested at time of writing causing an imcomplete/garbage image

    and please try the activex component.. you are able to turn that one on.. (it works @ my place with sp2)

    My little Asus Collection: Too much to fit inhere, my 2 babies:WL500w 1.9.2.7-10(OLEG) VX2SE Yellow Lamborghini notebook



    WL500g Forum Asus Files OpenDir

    Asusforum.NL -- Asusforum.DE -- Asusforum.RU -- Asusforum.PL -- Asusforum.NET -- Asusforum.EU -- Asusforum.BE -- Asusforum.ES -- Asusforum.INFO

  10. #10
    Hi Antiloop,

    thanks for the quick reply.

    Quote Originally Posted by Antiloop
    do you ALWAYS see the garbage? i see this to, but this is caused (at my place) due the fact that the image was requested at time of writing causing an imcomplete/garbage image
    Always, yes. By clicking on "Preview" in the "USB Application - Web Camera"-dialog. All refreshes (automatic and manual) shows diferent nicely colored garbage-pics.

    and please try the activex component.. you are able to turn that one on.. (it works @ my place with sp2)
    I think I do already you the activex component. Here are my settings:

    Enable Web Camera: LAN only
    Web Camera Mode: ActiveX and Refresh
    Web Camera Driver: OV511 2.10
    Image Size: 320x240
    Sense Level: Medium
    Refresh Time: 1s
    Caption String: Web Camera Live Demo!!!
    HTTP Port 7776
    ActiveX Port 7777

    So how to avoid those "timing problems"? Slow The "Refresh Time"? Maybe I did not get your point exactly?

    Thanks again

    Krocus

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    2,407
    Quote Originally Posted by Krocus
    Hi Antiloop,

    thanks for the quick reply.



    Always, yes. By clicking on "Preview" in the "USB Application - Web Camera"-dialog. All refreshes (automatic and manual) shows diferent nicely colored garbage-pics.



    I think I do already you the activex component. Here are my settings:

    Enable Web Camera: LAN only
    Web Camera Mode: ActiveX and Refresh
    Web Camera Driver: OV511 2.10
    Image Size: 320x240
    Sense Level: Medium
    Refresh Time: 1s
    Caption String: Web Camera Live Demo!!!
    HTTP Port 7776
    ActiveX Port 7777

    So how to avoid those "timing problems"? Slow The "Refresh Time"? Maybe I did not get your point exactly?

    Thanks again

    Krocus

    well I didn't state anything as possible solution, the timing is done in the firmware itself afaik: refresh time is for the webpage only

    and you have to grant access every time for the activeX component because it is also not signed, as long as you don't get that it isn't in use

    My little Asus Collection: Too much to fit inhere, my 2 babies:WL500w 1.9.2.7-10(OLEG) VX2SE Yellow Lamborghini notebook



    WL500g Forum Asus Files OpenDir

    Asusforum.NL -- Asusforum.DE -- Asusforum.RU -- Asusforum.PL -- Asusforum.NET -- Asusforum.EU -- Asusforum.BE -- Asusforum.ES -- Asusforum.INFO

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by Antiloop
    well I didn't state anything as possible solution, the timing is done in the firmware itself afaik: refresh time is for the webpage only
    Do you mean the router-firmware or the camera-firmware? Maybe I'm lacking some technical understanding:

    [...] the image was requested at time of writing [...]
    Which writing are you talking about? Do you mean there is maybe a picture still in writing when the camera gets the next request?

    and you have to grant access every time for the activeX component because it is also not signed, as long as you don't get that it isn't in use
    If I use the IE I'm asked only once every time I follow the "Preview"-link. If I grant access to the activeX component the displayed image contains that garbage. It refreshes every second. The refresh is timed by the activeX component, right?!

    So have you (or anyone else) an idea what else I can do to solve this problem? (And please, don't say I should buy a new camera! I found many more posts here talking about problems with this camera. I can't beleave all of you have just bought another one!? Or just have given up on the problem?)

    Krocus

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    2,407
    Quote Originally Posted by Krocus
    Do you mean the router-firmware or the camera-firmware? Maybe I'm lacking some technical understanding:



    Which writing are you talking about? Do you mean there is maybe a picture still in writing when the camera gets the next request?



    If I use the IE I'm asked only once every time I follow the "Preview"-link. If I grant access to the activeX component the displayed image contains that garbage. It refreshes every second. The refresh is timed by the activeX component, right?!

    So have you (or anyone else) an idea what else I can do to solve this problem? (And please, don't say I should buy a new camera! I found many more posts here talking about problems with this camera. I can't beleave all of you have just bought another one!? Or just have given up on the problem?)

    Krocus
    yes in the router firmware,

    time of writing just as I say.. doesn't even matter in this case when something is requested at time of writing it is not complete so it can't be shown complete...

    and uhm.. perhaps the answer is buy another cam.... or wait and maybe it will be fixed sometime or ask Terratec to fix it...

    My little Asus Collection: Too much to fit inhere, my 2 babies:WL500w 1.9.2.7-10(OLEG) VX2SE Yellow Lamborghini notebook



    WL500g Forum Asus Files OpenDir

    Asusforum.NL -- Asusforum.DE -- Asusforum.RU -- Asusforum.PL -- Asusforum.NET -- Asusforum.EU -- Asusforum.BE -- Asusforum.ES -- Asusforum.INFO

Similar Threads

  1. "Ethernet bridge" and "Station" ???
    By arch in forum WL-500g Custom Development
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29-10-2005, 10:08
  2. FTP users can't connect, "admin" can?!
    By Timmyt in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 25-03-2005, 18:43
  3. Setup "Remote Server"
    By Harley538 in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26-08-2004, 23:19

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •