Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: From 1.9.2.7-10 to 1.9.2.7-rtn-r3702 ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Milano - Italy
    Posts
    164

    From 1.9.2.7-10 to 1.9.2.7-rtn-r3702 ?

    Hi everyone.
    After many years passed with the original Oleg's last firmware for my WL500W, I'd like to move to the new -rtn firmware.

    Can someone please explain me if should I reinstall all my /opt from the beginning or if is possible to update only the router firmware ?

    I read about disc name changes in fstab... is there some other thing I should know ?

    Thanks

    Max

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    you don't have to reinstall your optware.

    I'd suggest you backup your flashfs and web-admin settings. then do a factory reset and upgrade the firmware.
    You can restore the flashfs, but I'd recommend to reconfigure your web-admin manually due to new configuration parameters available.

    after making the small adjustments in fstab you should be good to go again

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Milano - Italy
    Posts
    164
    Just update successfully to firmware 1.9.2.7-rtn-r3702, but I have (at the moment...) 3 questions:

    1) since I updated to Samba36 (before firmware update) I see 3 strange lines in my syslog (see the red lines):

    Code:
    Dec 27 08:29:53 ntp client: Synchronizing time with 0.it.pool.ntp.org...
    Dec 27 08:29:53 kernel: Adding 64220k swap on /dev/discs/disca/part1.  Priority:-1 extents:1 across:64220k
    Dec 27 08:29:53 e2fsck: /dev/discs/disca/part2: recovering journal
    Dec 27 08:29:57 e2fsck: /dev/discs/disca/part2: clean, 9152/90720 files, 254300/361460 blocks
    Dec 27 08:29:58 e2fsck: MyAsus_Data: recovering journal
    Dec 27 08:30:00 e2fsck: MyAsus_Data: clean, 51/933888 files, 921607/1867556 blocks
    Dec 27 08:30:00 kernel: kjournald starting.  Commit interval 5 seconds
    Dec 27 08:30:00 kernel: EXT3 FS on sda2, internal journal
    Dec 27 08:30:00 kernel: EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.
    Dec 27 08:30:00 kernel: kjournald starting.  Commit interval 5 seconds
    Dec 27 08:30:00 kernel: EXT3 FS on sda3, internal journal
    Dec 27 08:30:00 kernel: EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.
    Dec 27 08:30:00 rc.unslung: start service /opt/etc/init.d/S05syslogd
    Dec 27 08:30:00 syslogd exiting
    Dec 27 08:30:01 syslogd started: BusyBox v1.19.3
    Dec 27 08:30:01 syslogd: started.
    Dec 27 08:30:01 rc.unslung: start service /opt/etc/init.d/S10cron
    Dec 27 08:30:02 /opt/sbin/cron[402]: (CRON) STARTUP (V5.0)
    Dec 27 08:30:02 rc.unslung: start service /opt/etc/init.d/S10xinetd
    Dec 27 08:30:02 rc.unslung: start service /opt/etc/init.d/S20dbus
    Dec 27 08:30:03 xinetd[407]: xinetd Version 2.3.14 started with no options compiled in.
    Dec 27 08:30:03 xinetd[407]: Started working: 3 available services
    Dec 27 08:30:09 rc.unslung: start service /opt/etc/init.d/S99rtorrent
    Dec 27 08:30:12 su: + none root:root
    Dec 27 08:30:21 su: + none root:root
    Dec 27 08:30:24 su: + none root:root
    2) can someone please explain me the correct syntax for NAT Setting/Virtual server about the Source IP field ?
    I need to connect using VNC from outside (all IP) and forward a port to my desktop.
    In old Oleg's fw there was no Source IP but only incoming/outcoming port and destination IP.

    EDIT: it seems that leaving the source IP field empty = ALL

    3) In Wireless configuration I choose to use channel 1 and subchannel 5 (bw 40Mhz) but my tablet reports that the router is using channel 3 (I know was a bug in Oleg's fw too).

    Thanks

    Max
    Last edited by QMax; 27-12-2011 at 17:49.

  4. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by wpte View Post
    then do a factory reset and upgrade the firmware.
    I also did same firmware jump yesterday (exactly same versions for my wl500gP. But I didn't done the factory reset neither before nor after the update. Should I anyway do this if everything work fine for me now? What possible problems could be without factory reset. I had nothing special installed except Oleg's firmware.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Milano - Italy
    Posts
    164
    Quote Originally Posted by wislord View Post
    Should I anyway do this if everything work fine for me now?
    I think it will be a nice idea. The new firmware have many new functions and loading an old configurations totally different can cause some problem.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    Quote Originally Posted by QMax View Post
    1) since I updated to Samba36 (before firmware update) I see 3 strange lines in my syslog

    3) In Wireless configuration I choose to use channel 1 and subchannel 5 (bw 40Mhz) but my tablet reports that the router is using channel 3 (I know was a bug in Oleg's fw too).
    1) could it be that you used to have a different username than "admin" ? maybe you used root back with the old firmware

    2) ok... I thought that part was fixed, theMir0n made quite a few patches for that.
    as far as Im aware it works properly on my rt-n16

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Milano - Italy
    Posts
    164
    Quote Originally Posted by wpte View Post
    1) could it be that you used to have a different username than "admin" ? maybe you used root back with the old firmware

    2) ok... I thought that part was fixed, theMir0n made quite a few patches for that.
    as far as Im aware it works properly on my rt-n16
    1) Yes wpte, it's exact, I'm using root instead of admin. But, what does mean that lines in log ?

    2) I'll test in different combinations (20 Mhz/40 Mhz) and different channels and I'll report... but next year

    Max

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    Quote Originally Posted by QMax View Post
    1) Yes wpte, it's exact, I'm using root instead of admin. But, what does mean that lines in log ?

    2) I'll test in different combinations (20 Mhz/40 Mhz) and different channels and I'll report... but next year

    Max
    1) so you've set up the name just like before the upgrade yes?
    I'm not entirely sure what it means... but it has something to do with the owner of a file or folder. as long as everything works fine I wouldn't worry too much

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Milano - Italy
    Posts
    164
    I changed admin to root, just after the firmware upgrade, with my /opt folder unmounted, so permissions should be ok.

    It's just a curiosity, cause all seems working fine.

    PS: what's new in the last 1.9.2.7-rtn-r3708 and 1.9.2.7-rtn-r3716 nightly builds ?

    Thanks and happy new year !

    MaX

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    Quote Originally Posted by QMax View Post
    PS: what's new in the last 1.9.2.7-rtn-r3708 and 1.9.2.7-rtn-r3716 nightly builds ?
    changelog of svn: http://code.google.com/p/wl500g/source/list
    it's a bit technical, but hey, I can't make a proper change list for every night

Similar Threads

  1. Полный сброс настроек роутера в дефолт
    By Regron in forum Russian Discussion - РУССКИЙ (RU)
    Replies: 161
    Last Post: 07-11-2014, 13:13
  2. WL500gp Besonderheit beim Wechsel von Firmware 1.9.2.7-d auf rtn
    By pc-nico in forum German Discussion - Deutsch (DE)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-09-2011, 11:48
  3. Firmware 1.9.2.7 CR9
    By Oleg in forum WL-500g Firmware Releases
    Replies: 53
    Last Post: 13-04-2009, 15:28
  4. command to (re)connect form windows client
    By antoschka in forum WL-700g Q&A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21-05-2008, 11:48
  5. 1.9.2.7 sources?
    By jlangston in forum WL-HDD Q&A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17-08-2006, 03:27

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •