Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 84

Thread: RRDTool Traffic Graph Tutorial - Extremely easy to follow !

  1. #46
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    191
    Quote Originally Posted by zwitter View Post
    One thing just kills me. All router power goes to make those crapy lines and i havent installed nothing except samba, wwwphp, dropbear, nano. Refresh goes every 5 min and still :/
    If that wont help i will say byebye to rrdtool.sh and find other way to generate stats
    You should use the older rrdtool version 1.0.50, it's about 10x faster generating graphs. The output is not that pretty because it doesn't use antialiasing.
    Additionally, stop generating graphs you never look at. I use cgi scripts with lighttpd on openwrt (worked with thttpd on olegs fw too), and graphs are generated on demand only.
    I do sample data every minute with traffic of 4 interfaces, cpu load and cpu usage and my average cpu usage is below 5%.

  2. #47
    Quote Originally Posted by MMCM View Post
    You should use the older rrdtool version 1.0.50, it's about 10x faster generating graphs. The output is not that pretty because it doesn't use antialiasing.
    Additionally, stop generating graphs you never look at. I use cgi scripts with lighttpd on openwrt (worked with thttpd on olegs fw too), and graphs are generated on demand only.
    I do sample data every minute with traffic of 4 interfaces, cpu load and cpu usage and my average cpu usage is below 5%.
    Well i used new package and it was taking all the time about 80%-90% cpu so if you do the math there isn't a lot of space for anything else [i was lagging out from time to time]
    Anyway where i can't get that package ? I'm kinda new to linux but most of things im learning quite fast - just need some directions xD
    Well i found smth usefull tho i dont have a clue which build i should use:\
    http://rpmfind.net/linux/rpm2html/se...?query=rrdtool
    Last edited by zwitter; 25-06-2007 at 11:42. Reason: Update

  3. #48
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Vienna, Austria
    Posts
    191
    Quote Originally Posted by zwitter View Post
    Well i used new package and it was taking all the time about 80%-90% cpu so if you do the math there isn't a lot of space for anything else [i was lagging out from time to time]
    Anyway where i can't get that package ? I'm kinda new to linux but most of things im learning quite fast - just need some directions xD
    Well i found smth usefull tho i dont have a clue which build i should use:\
    http://rpmfind.net/linux/rpm2html/se...?query=rrdtool
    rpm are for PC base linux distros, you won't be able to use those on your router, you need to look for *.ipk packages.

    Read some of the tutorials at macsat.com first.

    Unfortunatly the http://ipkg.nslu2-linux.org/feeds/op.../cross/stable/ feed contains only the newer version of rrdtool. When I was still using olegs firmware, I downloaded an old package of rrdtool from somewhere, but I don't remember where.
    OpenWrt kamikaze feed do contain both versions of rrdtool, so you can decide what you want :-)
    You could try to download that .ipk and extract the required binaries manually, but I don't know if that will work.

    But anyway, switching from background generated graphs to cgi/runtime generated graphs will free your router from a lot of work.

  4. #49
    Code:
    [admin@(none) root]$ ipkg.sh update
    Downloading http://wl500g.dyndns.org/ipkg/Packages ...
    wget: wl500g.dyndns.org: Unknown host
    ipkg_download: ERROR: Failed to retrieve http://wl500g.dyndns.org/ipkg/Packages, returning
    ipkg_update: Error downloading http://wl500g.dyndns.org/ipkg/Packages to /opt/lib/ipkg/lists/wl500g
    hmmm?

  5. #50

    Mrtg

    Quote Originally Posted by MMCM View Post
    Since I am generating many graphs (cpu load, network, cpu usage (%)), it eats a lot of CPU time for nothing (most of the graphs will never be looked at).

    When I read about rrdcgi, I decided to give it a try.
    In theory it works well, but in practice, it takes some time just to generate one graph (dependent on size), so the cgi-script is mostly killed before it finishes.
    It seems the CGI_TIMELIMIT is set to 30 seconds, not the typical value of 300.

    Did this occur to anybody else?
    It's bad you have to recompile thttpd to change this.
    Is there a version with a higher value of CGI_TIMELIMIT available?

    The source path for php-thttpd in the unslung ipkg list file points to the www.acme.com website with the original source, not the one with configs & scripts for the specified package. It would be fine to have the customized code available.


    Martin
    Hi I currently use mrtg to create graphs every 5 min. There is extension for it so it will only create RRDtool database and then you can use cgi script from their web site to generate graphs but it didn't work for my it complained about
    some value in dynaloader.pm line 80.
    Anyway any chance to share how can we get graphs for cpu and load?
    thanks

  6. #51
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    dk
    Posts
    5

    Lightbulb HDD free space in rrd graph ??

    Hi all

    First of all, I must say, this is a very nice forum

    Got 4 wl-500gP from work, an started to play with 'em... And the howto's are easy to follow, and i think, that it took me about 45-60 min to setup my final one (3 others are still working, but not 100%).

    Now - The thing is, I would really like to have some sort of fealing with my diskspace on my philips 320GB USB drive.

    Is there a tool allready for this or is it from scratch

  7. #52
    What do you mean with 'fealing'?

    do you want to access the usb disk ?

  8. #53
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    3,805
    another approach may be usage of a small lcd monitor to display the current memory/hdd consumption

  9. #54
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    dk
    Posts
    5
    well, some read-out of some sort, could be nice...

    Could be a graph or just displayed in numbers. The thing is, I don't know how to log the information. If I ssh to my router, I can type in 'df -h', and the data is displayed.

    But how to get it on my http page of net, mem and CPU graphs, I do not know...
    If you eat a can of beans, you don't know which one made you fart !

  10. RRDTool - How many processes?

    Hi Everybody,


    I have installed successfully RRDTool and I set it up in crontab. I use rrdrun.sh shell script in /opt/etc/cron.5mins directory to run /opt/usr/bin/rrdtool.sh.

    If I list running processes by ps command, I notice a weird thing: I see many rrdtool processes. Here is the result:

    -bash-3.2# ps
    PID Uid VmSize Stat Command
    1 root 380 S init
    2 root SW< [keventd]
    3 root RWN [ksoftirqd_CPU0]
    4 root SW [kswapd]
    5 root SW [bdflush]
    6 root SW [kupdated]
    7 root SW [mtdblockd]
    8 root SW [khubd]
    13 root SW< [mdrecoveryd]
    80 root SW [gpio_out_pulse]
    81 root SW [button_notify_u]
    84 root SW< [ksed]
    85 root SW [ksechanged]
    100 root SW< [raid1d]
    105 root SW< [raid1d]
    108 root SW [kreiserfsd]
    175 root 268 S syslogd -R 255.255.255.255
    177 root 52 S klogd
    179 root 132 S httpd 80 y
    181 root 128 S httpd 8080 share_browsing
    185 root 520 S upnp -D -L br0 -W ppp0
    186 root 48 S nas /tmp/nas.lan.conf /tmp/nas.lan.pid lan
    190 root 152 S pppd file /tmp/ppp/options.wan
    205 root 12 S portmap
    206 root 172 S dnsmasq -i br0 -r /tmp/resolv.conf
    209 root 12 S rpc.mountd
    212 root SW [nfsd]
    214 root 12 S rpc.statd
    215 root SW [lockd]
    216 root SW [rpciod]
    220 root 12 S rpc.rquotad
    284 root 12 S waveservermain
    286 root 12 S rcamdmain
    287 root 20 S infosvr br0
    297 root 8 S usbcopymain
    512 root 556 S thttpd -d /shares/MYVOLUME1/MYSHARE1/web -c ** -p 8081 -u root -nos
    514 root 408 S dms /shares/DMSRoot WL700gE 00:1A:92:B4:46:4E
    520 root 408 S dms /shares/DMSRoot WL700gE 00:1A:92:B4:46:4E
    523 root 408 S dms /shares/DMSRoot WL700gE 00:1A:92:B4:46:4E
    524 root 408 S dms /shares/DMSRoot WL700gE 00:1A:92:B4:46:4E
    539 root 148 S mt-daapd -c /tmp/mt-daapd.conf -s WL700gE
    540 root 864 S mt-daapd -c /tmp/mt-daapd.conf -s WL700gE
    543 root 864 S mt-daapd -c /tmp/mt-daapd.conf -s WL700gE
    544 root 864 S mt-daapd -c /tmp/mt-daapd.conf -s WL700gE
    549 root 4 S /apps/bin/utelnetd -i br0
    566 root 864 S mt-daapd -c /tmp/mt-daapd.conf -s WL700gE
    597 root 176 S /opt/sbin/dropbear
    608 root 572 S /opt/sbin/nmbd -D
    611 root 444 S /opt/sbin/smbd -D
    615 root 112 S /opt/sbin/smbd -D
    620 root 72 S /usr/sbin/ez-ipupdate -c /opt/etc/ddns.conf
    631 root 268 S proftpd: (accepting connections)
    655 root 624 S thttpd -d /opt/share/www -c /opt/etc/thttpd.conf -p 81 -u root
    658 root 168 S /opt/sbin/cron
    672 root 160 S /bin/printd
    735 root 8832 S /opt/bin/mlnet.lite
    737 root 8832 S /opt/bin/mlnet.lite
    738 root 8832 S N /opt/bin/mlnet.lite
    1005 root 72 S /opt/sbin/cron
    1006 root 136 S sh /opt/etc/cron.5mins/rrdrun.sh
    1007 root 52 S /opt/bin/bash /opt/usr/bin/rrdtool.sh
    1057 root 72 R rrdtool graph /opt/share/www/rrd//wlanday.png.new -a PNG -s -86400 -w 550 -h 240 -v bytes/s DEF:ds1=/opt/var/lib/rrd//et
    14550 root 212 S /opt/sbin/cron
    14551 root 508 S sh /opt/etc/cron.5mins/rrdrun.sh
    14552 root 872 S /opt/bin/bash /opt/usr/bin/rrdtool.sh
    14598 root 932 R rrdtool graph /opt/share/www/rrd//wlanday.png.new -a PNG -s -86400 -w 550 -h 240 -v bytes/s DEF:ds1=/opt/var/lib/rrd//et
    14643 root 212 S /opt/sbin/cron
    14644 root 516 S sh /opt/etc/cron.5mins/rrdrun.sh
    14645 root 780 S /opt/bin/bash /opt/usr/bin/rrdtool.sh
    14691 root 756 R rrdtool graph /opt/share/www/rrd//wlanday.png.new -a PNG -s -86400 -w 550 -h 240 -v bytes/s DEF:ds1=/opt/var/lib/rrd//et
    14736 root 216 S /opt/sbin/cron
    14737 root 508 S sh /opt/etc/cron.5mins/rrdrun.sh
    14738 root 780 S /opt/bin/bash /opt/usr/bin/rrdtool.sh
    14784 root 756 R rrdtool graph /opt/share/www/rrd//wlanday.png.new -a PNG -s -86400 -w 550 -h 240 -v bytes/s DEF:ds1=/opt/var/lib/rrd//et

    etc.


    Does anyone know what this strange behavior is?

  11. #56
    check out the rrdgraphs for traffic somewhere on this board. it demonstrates how you can log data.

  12. #57
    Also see this. There's a script there which contains an example about how to graph disk space. But I hope you know your rrdtool (and bash) 'cause that script is not for the faint of heart.

  13. #58
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Next to Serpent ..
    Posts
    62
    I try your script copacup and i get : -sh: rrdstorm.sh: not found when i run it.
    #-------------------------------------------------------------------
    # configuration
    #-------------------------------------------------------------------

    RRDTOOL=/opt/bin/rrdtool
    RRDUPDATE=/opt/bin/rrdupdate
    RRDDATA=/opt/var/lib/rrd
    RRDOUTPUT=/opt/share/www/rrd/
    FORCEGRAPH=no

    Script is of course executable, and i make the need dirs in the right paths and last, rrdtool is installed ^^.
    Is of course lack of linux knowledge, but point please what i missing.
    Firmware is .10 on a v1 500GP.
    Last edited by poiu; 28-07-2008 at 19:10.

  14. #59
    Well you need to install bash first, then you should check grep functions(grep mnt, could also be grep part1, for hdd), also use latest version which have just been updated. Currently the hdd graph values must be updated every 30 s, but for the other(CPU;RAM..) values can be updated every minute using cron. Here is how my cron looks like:
    Code:
    */1 * * * * admin bash /mnt/rrdstorm.sh update 0 1 3 4 5 
    */12 * * * * admin bash /mnt/rrdstorm.sh graph_cron s 0 1 3 4 5 
    0 */1 * * * admin bash /mnt/rrdstorm.sh graph_cron h 0 1 3 4 5 
    3 */6 * * * admin bash /mnt/rrdstorm.sh graph 0 1 3 4 5

  15. #60
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Romania, Bucharest
    Posts
    11
    Hi there.

    Seems i encountered the same problem.

    Code:
    [xxx@xxx bin]$ ./rrdstorm.sh
    -sh: ./rrdstorm.sh: not found
    [xxx@xxx bin]$ bash
    [xxx@xxx bin]$ ./rrdstorm.sh
    bash: ./rrdstorm.sh: /bin/bash: bad interpreter: No such file or directory
    Any idea what am I doing wrong ??

    All I modified were the RRDDATA= and RRDOUTPUT= fields.

    Thanks.

    ----------------------------

    Later edit:

    Ok, i was stupid, didn`t even read the error. Thing is that bash was installed under /opt/bin/bash and the rrdstorm script was looking for it under /bin/bash.

    Replaced the header of file:
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    with
    Code:
    #!/opt/bin/bash
    and it seems to have executed successfully.
    Last edited by lordbone; 29-07-2008 at 14:14.
    WL-500gP V2 - Oleg Firmware

Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Tutorial, hoe bekijk ik mijn webcam vanaf het internet
    By carl in forum Dutch Discussion - Nederlands
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 29-06-2009, 16:37
  2. samba and oleg tutorial
    By ddieter in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15-02-2008, 14:08
  3. Easy-to use cron-system.
    By macsat in forum WL-500g/WL-500gx Tutorials
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29-05-2007, 22:18
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17-09-2005, 19:34
  5. How can I log the traffic ?
    By exilist in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-06-2004, 10:31

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •