Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: LAN / WAN / WL Interfaces...

  1. #1

    LAN / WAN / WL Interfaces...

    Hi Oleg

    Which Nvram variables is which interface? :-)

    On my ASUS WL-500g Deluxe I get this :

    Code:
    $ nvram show |grep "ifname"
    
    printer_ifname=usb
    wan0_ifname=vlan1
    wl0_ifname=eth1
    wan0_pppoe_ifname=
    lan_ifnames_t=vlan0 eth1 eth2 eth3
    lan_ifnames=vlan0 eth1 eth2 eth3
    size: 10155 bytes (22613 left)
    restore_lan_ifname=br0
    wan_ifnames=vlan1
    lan_ifname=br0
    wan_ifname_t=vlan1
    wl_ifname=
    restore_lan_ifnames=eth1 eth0.1
    wan_ifname=vlan1
    wan0_ifnames=vlan1
    wan_pppoe_ifname=
    I do know that vlan1 is WAN and I guess br0 is the LAN switch.

    But what about wireless? is that the wl0_ifname=eth1 interface?

    What about the 4 LAN ports on the switch....can I handle thoose independently ?

    ...I guess they are the ones listed by lan_ifnames...

    A small table of all interfacenames with explanation would be appriciated :-)

    Rgards
    macsat
    macsat
    http://www.macsat.com - Tutorials and information on using ASUS WL-500G and family.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    vlan0 is 4 lan ports
    vlan1 is the wan port
    eth1 (wl0_ifname) is the broadcom wireless.

  3. #3
    Thanks :-)

    ...but what is br0 then ? :-)

    Also - I see only eth1, eth2 and eth3

    eth1 is WLAN

    So that leaves for eth2 and eth3 for 4 LAN ports....or are they not split in separate ports like that?
    macsat
    http://www.macsat.com - Tutorials and information on using ASUS WL-500G and family.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Quote Originally Posted by macsat
    Thanks :-)

    ...but what is br0 then ? :-)
    br0 bridges both wired and wireless lan together (logical interface)

    Also - I see only eth1, eth2 and eth3

    eth1 is WLAN

    So that leaves for eth2 and eth3 for 4 LAN ports....or are they not split in separate ports like that?
    no, in fact switch has one internal port only (eth0), which is then logically splitted using vlans.

Similar Threads

  1. Traffic on WL-500gx interfaces
    By lada in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14-06-2005, 00:43
  2. Setting address of interfaces
    By kolaf in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-06-2005, 12:10
  3. wl-500gx interfaces,wds, and firewalling.
    By kolaf in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25-05-2005, 10:55
  4. Separating bridged interfaces?
    By chuck in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24-05-2005, 16:02
  5. Interfaces in wl500b v.2
    By webman in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-05-2005, 12:33

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •