Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Multiple SSID?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    259

    Multiple SSID?

    Any chance of having multiple SSID with oleg firmware as DD-WRT has?

    http://www.dotkam.com/2008/10/02/con...th-one-router/

    A good start point could be just having the possibility of creating virtual wi-fi interfaces from the console.
    Last edited by Tamadite; 26-10-2010 at 18:53.
    twitter

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    Quote Originally Posted by Tamadite View Post
    Any chance of having multiple SSID with oleg firmware as DD-WRT has?

    http://www.dotkam.com/2008/10/02/con...th-one-router/

    A good start point could be just having the possibility of creating virtual wi-fi interfaces from the console.
    creating a vlan:
    vconfig add vlan1 3
    ifconfig vlan3 enable
    ifconfig vlan3
    what this code does is create vlan3 (the number at the end) from vlan1

    so if you do
    vconfig add eth1 10
    you'll create a vlan10 from eth1

    haven't looked at the rest yet, but I guess it's something similar as this one:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WifiDocs/Adhoc

    on the other hand, I suspect things have to change in the way oleg creates an AP, since it's using wl commands instead of ifconfig and that kinda stuff

  3. #3

    Two SSIDs on WIFI and two VPNs

    Here is the task:

    1) Connect to the Internet provider through WAN cable; establish PPTP channel (standard done from the router menu)
    2) Provide WiFi to a few devices (standard done from the router menu)
    3) Connect to a VPN server in the US through the Internet (not standard)
    4) Establish a second SSID "USVPN" and through WiFi connect on computer to this "USVPN", while all the rest of computer are connected through #2 (not standard)

    Question 1: I read that #3 is doable, but not sure if #4 is doable with #3. I can go with any firmware if needed (currently I have DDWRT).

    The easiest solution is to buy one more router and set it up ... but it seems not right...

    Question 2: Is there significant degradation in WiFi performance with two SSID instead of one?

    The whole idea of this task is to have to be able to connect to NеtFlix from outside the US, while have the rest of computers to work in the Internet normally and locally...
    Last edited by aburdakov; 03-07-2011 at 10:15.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    Quote Originally Posted by aburdakov View Post
    3) Connect to a VPN server in the US through the Internet (not standard)
    4) Establish a second SSID "USVPN" and through WiFi connect on computer to this "USVPN", while all the rest of computer are connected through #2 (not standard)
    4: is standard in dd-wrt last time I checked
    and yes, you probably should see some performance loss.

    3: depends on the type of vpn server... openvpn is available and "windows" (such as pptp) vpn as well

  5. #5

    multiple ssid???

    Hi all ,

    Can someone point me how to configure multiple ssid???
    Let say "HOME" and "GUEST".
    "HOME" can see everybody , but "GUEST" should be restricted to see anybody.

    Command line is preferred method

    firmware rtn-3503

    ANY help will be appreciated )

    THX Rumen

    EDIT: Does anyone has a clue???
    Last edited by rumenchooo; 27-10-2011 at 09:52.

  6. #6
    I've tried to setup guest WiFi based on mostly what's written in this post (using google translate).

    I've set nvram to enable virtual WLAN:
    Code:
    nvram set wl0_vifs="wl0.1"
    nvram commit
    then after some google some nvram variables for WPA authentication (maybe more than needed and used by the firmware), so nvram show | grep wl0.1_ shows something like this:
    Code:
    wl0.1_hwaddr=92:E6:BA:XX:XX:CB
    wl0.1_crypto=aes
    wl0.1_security_mode=wpa2_personal
    wl0.1_auth_mode=psk
    wl0.1_akm=psk2
    wl0.1_ifname=wl0.1
    wl0.1_mode=ap
    wl0.1_closed=0
    wl0.1_ssid=GuestNW
    wl0.1_bss_maxassoc=128
    wl0.1_wpa_psk=GuestPass
    wl0.1_wpa_gtk_rekey=0
    wl0.1_wme=off
    wl0.1_bss_enabled=1
    plus modified /usr/local/etc/dnsmasq.conf so cat shows:
    Code:
    interface=br1
    dhcp-range=br1,192.168.2.2,192.168.2.200,86400
    dhcp-option=br1,3,192.168.2.1
    After reboot the SSID is visible, cat /etc/dnsmasq.conf shows that DNS setup is taken from /usr/local/etc/dnsmasq.conf, however when trying to connect, not even key check succeeds (I've checked with tcpdumping br1).

    This is how I've created bridge and used it to connect vlan3 created from vlan1:
    Code:
    ifconfig wl0.1 down
    ifconfig wl0.1 hw ether $(nvram get wl0.1_hwaddr)
    wl down
    wl -a wl0.1 bssid $(nvram get wl0.1_hwaddr)
    wl up
    ifconfig wl0.1 up
    brctl addbr br1
    brctl stp br1 on
    brctl addif br1 wl0.1
    ifconfig br1 182.168.2.1 netmask 255.255.255.0 up
    wl -a wl0.1 ssid "GuestNW"
    vconfig add vlan1 3
    ifconfig vlan3 up
    brctl addif br1 vlan3
    Where am I getting it wrong?

Similar Threads

  1. Asus RT-N16
    By Oleg in forum Russian Discussion - РУССКИЙ (RU)
    Replies: 2987
    Last Post: 21-09-2011, 13:08
  2. несколько ssid и vlan-ы - возможно ли? gP v.1
    By LevT in forum Russian Discussion - РУССКИЙ (RU)
    Replies: 67
    Last Post: 28-07-2009, 13:30
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20-01-2008, 01:39

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •