Page 12 of 19 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast
Results 166 to 180 of 283

Thread: alpha rt-n firmware releases

  1. #166
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by wpte View Post
    Anyway, does someone know how to make the harddrives to spin down? hdparm doesn't seem to work and my old scsi script doesn't work for the RT-N (hence it doesn't have any)
    I would like to know too

    Quote Originally Posted by lly View Post
    Have you try scsi start/stop utilities from project downloads page?
    How do I install the scsi start/stop utilities when

    Quote Originally Posted by wpte View Post
    on my RT-N16 my drives don't show up as scsi drives.
    and

    Quote Originally Posted by theMIROn View Post
    2.6 kernel uses /dev/sd[a-z] entry for drives and /dev/sd[a-z][0-9][0-9] dor patritions, and /dev/discs/disca/disc is just a symlink to /dev/sda for now
    Thanking you in advance.

    By the way I am a Linux noob

  2. #167
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    Quote Originally Posted by theMIROn View Post
    2.6 kernel uses /dev/sd[a-z] entry for drives and /dev/sd[a-z][0-9][0-9] dor patritions, and /dev/discs/disca/disc is just a symlink to /dev/sda for now
    suspected something like that.
    and the scsi tools work fine on /dev/sda

  3. #168
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    41
    Quote Originally Posted by wpte View Post
    suspected something like that.
    and the scsi tools work fine on /dev/sda
    Sounds great! Can you provide me with instructions on how to use/install the tools. Thx

  4. #169
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    Quote Originally Posted by Bohlendach View Post
    Sounds great! Can you provide me with instructions on how to use/install the tools. Thx
    I'm just using the script from: http://wl500g.info/showpost.php?p=47135&postcount=10

    I modified it a bit tho, since the start stop utilities are pre-installed with the new firmware
    look at: http://wl500g.info/showpost.php?p=203696&postcount=173
    Last edited by wpte; 11-07-2010 at 13:31.

  5. #170
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Ukraine, Kyiv
    Posts
    25
    Hello everyone,

    Will there be a support for unicode characters in file names? Here: http://vip.asus.com/forum/view.aspx?...e=en-us&page=2 is written that the Chinease characters in file names are NOT supported.

  6. #171
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    Quote Originally Posted by wpte View Post
    I found out that the script doesnt do that much...
    because in /proc/stat there is no value called "disc_io"

    I was looking for a replacement... but haven't found any yet

    is there a way to add that value?

  7. #172
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Russia, Moscow
    Posts
    3,640
    Quote Originally Posted by necrolatry View Post
    Will there be a support for unicode characters in file names? Here: http://vip.asus.com/forum/view.aspx?...e=en-us&page=2 is written that the Chinease characters in file names are NOT supported.
    Unfortunately, nobody of us know Chinese. Which NLS codepage you are using? Probably, appropriated charset simply turned off in kernel.

    updated: We have cp950 turned on, should we change it to cp936? or?

    Quote Originally Posted by wpte View Post
    I found out that the script doesnt do that much...
    because in /proc/stat there is no value called "disc_io"

    I was looking for a replacement... but haven't found any yet

    is there a way to add that value?
    You have to use /proc/diskstats in 2.6 kernel.
    Last edited by lly; 11-07-2010 at 09:19.

  8. #173
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    Quote Originally Posted by lly View Post
    You have to use /proc/diskstats in 2.6 kernel.
    even easier

    new script:
    PHP Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    if /usr/bin/[ $# -ne 1 ]; then
            
    /bin/echo 1>&"Usage: $0 <device>"
            
    /bin/echo 1>&"example: $0 sda"
            
    exit 1
    fi

    #Check every 30 seconds for disk io changes
    PERIOD=30
    #if no changes are found during 5 minutes -> disk spindown
    BOUNDARY=300
    SCSISTOP
    =/usr/sbin/scsi-stop
    LOGFILE
    =/tmp/scsi-$1.log

    str
    =`/bin/grep $1 /proc/diskstats`
    cooltime=0
    stopped
    =0

    while /bin/true; do
            /
    bin/sleep $PERIOD
            newstr
    =`/bin/grep $1 /proc/diskstats`
            if /
    usr/bin/[ "$newstr"$str]; then
                    cooltime
    =$(($cooltime $PERIOD))
                    if /
    usr/bin/[ $cooltime -ge $BOUNDARY -a $stopped -eq 0 ]; then
                            $SCSISTOP 
    /dev/$1
                            time
    =`/bin/date '+%b %e %H:%M:%S'`
                            /
    bin/echo "$time: Cooled down..." >> $LOGFILE
                            stopped
    =1
                    fi
            
    else
                    if /
    usr/bin/[ $cooltime -ne 0 ]; then
                            time
    =`/bin/date '+%b %e %H:%M:%S'`
                            /
    bin/echo "$time: Disk first used after $cooltime seconds" >> $LOGFILE
                    fi
                    cooltime
    =0
                    str
    =$newstr
                    stopped
    =0
            fi
    done 
    it should be used like
    /usr/local/sbin/scsi-stop.sh sda &
    /usr/local/sbin/scsi-stop.sh sdb &
    for each device a new log file will be created.

  9. #174
    Quote Originally Posted by wpte View Post
    Are you sure?
    with inssider you can find out if it really broadcasts at WPA2
    http://www.metageek.net/products/inssider

    Inssider shows under Security RSNA-CCMP for my connection. I also tried Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector and it shows WPA2/PSK under Default Auth. So it looks like WPA2 is really working with latest builds.
    Just for info ...
    Last edited by RdBw; 12-07-2010 at 16:57.

  10. #175
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    Quote Originally Posted by RdBw View Post
    Inssider shows under Security RSNA-CCMP for my connection. I also tried Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector and it shows WPA2/PSK under Default Auth. So it looks like WPA2 is really working with latest builds.
    Just for info ...
    Yes RSNA-CCMP is WPA2-AES.
    I've tried to turn it on today, but it didn't work out that well.
    I put my router back to defaults, and after that I got WPA2 working, but as soon as you changed to a different encryption method WPA is used, even when you put it back on WPA2

    I tried to reset my router again, but I haven't managed to put WPA2 on again, maybe some sort of bug

  11. #176
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Russia, Moscow
    Posts
    3,640
    Quote Originally Posted by wpte View Post
    I put my router back to defaults, and after that I got WPA2 working, but as soon as you changed to a different encryption method WPA is used, even when you put it back on WPA2

    I tried to reset my router again, but I haven't managed to put WPA2 on again, maybe some sort of bug
    If you can localize the problem, please save nvram variables before and after, for analysis.

  12. #177
    WPA is working fine for me for all of the latest builds, but I've another question: When used Bandwidth 20Mhz, then 802.11n SubChannel should be marked as None. But even when saved as None, it shows like Upper or Lower and Upper or Lower should be used only for 40 Mhz. Is that correct?

  13. #178
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    Quote Originally Posted by RdBw View Post
    WPA is working fine for me for all of the latest builds, but I've another question: When used Bandwidth 20Mhz, then 802.11n SubChannel should be marked as None. But even when saved as None, it shows like Upper or Lower and Upper or Lower should be used only for 40 Mhz. Is that correct?
    that's correct

    see chapter bandwidth and subchannel: http://code.google.com/p/wl500g/wiki...elessInterface

  14. #179

    usb problem continues

    Hi,

    Following this posts http://wl500g.info/showpost.php?p=193019&postcount=86

    today I've re-formated everything (pen with /opt and the 1 Tb hard disk), installed from scratch with r1807 (no usb hubs, no raid partitions) and still no harddisk stability. It stops after couple of reads and writes.

    I'm really at a dead end (no backups, no streaming). I'm open for suggestions...
    Attached Files Attached Files

  15. #180
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    Quote Originally Posted by s1za View Post
    Hi,

    Following this posts http://wl500g.info/showpost.php?p=193019&postcount=86

    today I've re-formated everything (pen with /opt and the 1 Tb hard disk), installed from scratch with r1807 (no usb hubs, no raid partitions) and still no harddisk stability. It stops after couple of reads and writes.

    I'm really at a dead end (no backups, no streaming). I'm open for suggestions...
    and does it work with the harddisk only?
    you know... swap, optware and general space on the hdd...

Page 12 of 19 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Essential Firmware Questions
    By vladk2k in forum WL-500gP Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 14-10-2009, 12:10
  2. wl500gP v1 not booting after successfull flash of custom firmware
    By nocturne.op.15 in forum WL-500gP Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13-07-2008, 02:28
  3. New Oleg firmware 1.9.2.7-9 problems?
    By wpte in forum WL-500gP Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 18-04-2008, 00:34
  4. Visit WL-500g Firmware Releases forum
    By Oleg in forum WL-550gE Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 18-09-2006, 11:22
  5. Flashing Oleg's Firmware in WL HDD
    By hugo in forum WL-HDD Custom Development
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 21-10-2004, 15:55

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •