Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Mount changing from RW to RO

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    34

    Mount changing from RW to RO

    Hi, I have experienced lately one problem which I have difficulties to solve...

    After rebooting router my mounts looked like this:
    Code:
    [admin@Router home]$ mount
    /dev/root on / type squashfs (ro)
    none on /dev type devfs (rw)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw)
    ramfs on /tmp type ramfs (rw)
    usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
    /dev/discs/disc0/part2 on /opt type ext3 (rw,noatime)
    /dev/discs/disc0/part3 on /mnt type ext3 (rw,noatime)
    /dev/discs/disc1/part1 on /mnt/data type vfat (rw,noatime)
    Few (like 2-3) minutes later (after working on network drive through samba) I could not copy anything to the share. I checked mounts:
    Code:
    [admin@Router home]$ mount
    /dev/root on / type squashfs (ro)
    none on /dev type devfs (rw)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw)
    ramfs on /tmp type ramfs (rw)
    usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
    /dev/discs/disc0/part2 on /opt type ext3 (rw,noatime)
    /dev/discs/disc0/part3 on /mnt type ext3 (rw,noatime)
    /dev/discs/disc1/part1 on /mnt/data type vfat (ro,noatime)
    Do you have any idea what makes this change? Thanks

    BTW: my fstab if it helps
    Code:
    #device                 Mountpoint      FStype  Options         Dump    Pass#
    /dev/discs/disc0/part1  none            swap    sw              0       0
    /dev/discs/disc0/part2  /opt            ext3    rw,noatime      1       1
    /dev/discs/disc0/part3  /mnt            ext3    rw,noatime      1       1
    /dev/discs/disc1/part1  /mnt/data       vfat    rw,noatime      1       1

  2. #2
    can't you change vfat to ext3?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    34
    no, I don't want to do that, this hardrive is my network storage and often used connected to my PC or gf's Mac... FAT32 seems to be best solution for me...

    this behaviour seems to be new... I did not experienced it before...

    any ideas? i don't want to get stuck with my temporary solution
    Code:
    mount /mnt/data -o rw,remount
    Last edited by Pedro83; 28-05-2009 at 19:35.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    34
    I've found the reason... in router webpage in System log (probably also somewhere in log files but I am not that good in this )
    Code:
    May 29 00:02:51 kernel:   FAT error
    May 29 00:02:51 kernel:   File system has been set read-only
    May 29 00:02:51 kernel: Directory 2817: bad FAT
    May 29 00:02:51 kernel: Filesystem panic (dev 08:11).
    May 29 00:02:51 kernel:   FAT error
    May 29 00:02:51 kernel: Directory 3050: bad FAT
    May 29 00:02:51 kernel: Filesystem panic (dev 08:11).
    May 29 00:02:51 kernel:   FAT error
    May 29 00:02:51 kernel: Directory 3073: bad FAT
    May 29 00:02:51 kernel: Filesystem panic (dev 08:11).
    May 29 00:02:51 kernel:   FAT error
    May 29 00:02:51 kernel: Directory 3134: bad FAT
    Either I have damaged harddrive? Or it can be because of some files with wrong filenames (weird characters appeared after I created backup of win files under linux to this drive)...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    3,805
    attach it to windows PC and run chkdsk /f
    native FS for the router is ext3

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Slovakia
    Posts
    34
    Thanks, I've done that and it seems it helped. I've lost some files (not files actually but all are named FileXXXX.CHK) but those were only mp3s.

    I know ext3 would be better and probably, sooner or later, I will reformat it to ext3, but for now I will stick to fat.

    Thanks

Similar Threads

  1. mount nach /tmp/hard... wieso?
    By icki in forum German Discussion - Deutsch (DE)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-02-2008, 16:58
  2. Can't mount into the /opt directory
    By grrrhhh in forum WL-500gP Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 31-01-2008, 18:03
  3. Mount problem (strenge)
    By qczek in forum WL-500g Custom Development
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-02-2006, 13:05

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •