Page 9 of 14 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 135 of 196

Thread: Firmware v1.9.2.7 CR4 [Oleg]

  1. #121
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    123
    Quote Originally Posted by Oleg
    Well, as I do not have wlhdd, I could not even check how this should work.
    ..you have done a masterpiece without hands on a WL-HDD..

    Does it really turns off (i.e. all LEDs are turned off and HDD is stoped)?
    yes!

  2. #122
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,356
    Quote Originally Posted by Styno
    Dear Oleg, thank you for replying so quickly.

    - Yes, I've read the entire thread -> It has only hints for people using FAT, rootfs or NFS. I'm using native ext3 partition without rootfs.
    This makes sense.
    - Yes, I've searched (the search button is a big friend of mine remember? ) on `/opt` and read all topics (about 14 of them) but could only find pointers to this topic, no solution.

    Please can you help me?
    Would you like to use whole ext3 for /opt? If the answer is no (i.e. you want to leave something to /tmp/harddisk - user accessible share), then repartition the drive.
    Anyway, here is goes (it's really simple). Add these lines to your post-boot:
    Code:
    swapon /dev/discs/disc0/part5
    mount -t ext3 /dev/discs/disc0/part6 /opt
    That's all. Am I miss something?
    P.S. If you want to share part5 both for /opt and /tmp/harddisk, then create directory named /opt in the /tmp/harddisk and add this line to the post-mount
    Code:
    mount -obind /tmp/harddisk/opt /opt
    and this to post-boot:
    Code:
    swapon /dev/discs/disc0/part5

  3. #123
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,356
    Quote Originally Posted by Styno
    Edit: Ok, I've tried every option in the mount man page and voila, the following works:
    Code:
     mount -obind /tmp/harddisk /opt
    Thanks for your patience.
    Styno, I would recommend you creating /tmp/harddisk/opt or separate partition (this is preffered).

  4. #124

    Post

    I will probably will be kicked for this (i hope not) but i like the features in this firmware. As i noticed that there is an ssh client in here and thats one thing i like to have.

    But now i have a little problem.
    1. Is this version safer / more stable then the asus firmware?
    2. Is there a webinterface?
    3. Can i just upload the firmware to my asus wl500g?

    i have a bit linux knowledge but not much aimed at the wl500g

    br
    Ronald

  5. #125
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,308
    Quote Originally Posted by Oleg
    Styno, I would recommend you creating /tmp/harddisk/opt or separate partition (this is preffered).
    Ok, I will do that. Thanks again for your help!

  6. #126
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,308
    Quote Originally Posted by yilias
    I will probably will be kicked for this (i hope not) but i like the features in this firmware. As i noticed that there is an ssh client in here and thats one thing i like to have.

    But now i have a little problem.
    1. Is this version safer / more stable then the asus firmware?
    2. Is there a webinterface?
    3. Can i just upload the firmware to my asus wl500g?

    i have a bit linux knowledge but not much aimed at the wl500g

    br
    Ronald
    Well, I must say: You should read a bit in this forum, but I won't kick you out for this

    1. Simple rule: When you install more software on a router -> it will become less safe. But hey, everyone is doing this and I've never heard of someone being hacked for it.
    2. Yes, it uses the original Asus webinterface with some added pages. An webinterface for ipk packages is underway.
    3. Yes, uploading works as described in your manual.

  7. #127
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,356
    Quote Originally Posted by petgun
    ..you have done a masterpiece without hands on a WL-HDD..
    In fact Antiloop performed much testing and added WL-HDD pages. I've spent most of time playing with ide modules...
    Ok, I need someone to play with GPIO lines then. There should be one, which turns WL-HDD off. The lines in question are accessible via /dev/gpio/outen (output enable) and /dev/gpio/out (output). One line is controling power-led (bit 0), another one is RESTORE button (bit 6) other lines are used for accessing real time clock and controlling power as seems. So, I need volunteer that will run these commands in turn and let me know which one turned wl-hdd off:
    Code:
    test gpio /dev/gpio/out ff
    test gpio /dev/gpio/outen 2
    test gpio /dev/gpio/out 0
    
    test gpio /dev/gpio/out ff
    test gpio /dev/gpio/outen 4
    test gpio /dev/gpio/out 0
    
    test gpio /dev/gpio/out ff
    test gpio /dev/gpio/outen 8
    test gpio /dev/gpio/out 0
    
    test gpio /dev/gpio/out ff
    test gpio /dev/gpio/outen 10
    test gpio /dev/gpio/out 0
    
    test gpio /dev/gpio/out ff
    test gpio /dev/gpio/outen 20
    test gpio /dev/gpio/out 0
    
    test gpio /dev/gpio/out ff
    test gpio /dev/gpio/outen 80
    test gpio /dev/gpio/out 0

  8. #128
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,308
    Hmm, strange thing happens: When I place the mount -obind ... command in post-mount script, the /tmp/harddisk/opt directory doesn't get mounted. But when I execute the same command after logging in it works....

  9. #129
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,356
    Have you added this?
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh

  10. #130
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,308
    Quote Originally Posted by Oleg
    Have you added this?
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    Code:
     cat /usr/local/sbin/post-mount
    #!/bin/sh
    swapon /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part5
    mount -obind /tmp/harddisk/opt /opt
    Yep, I did

  11. #131
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,356
    Quote Originally Posted by Styno
    Yep, I did
    So, it still does not work? If it does not, then try adding something like
    Code:
    echo post-mount > /tmp/post-mount.log
    to check if it really works.

  12. #132
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    123
    Quote Originally Posted by Oleg
    So, I need volunteer that will run these commands in turn and let me know which one turned wl-hdd off:
    Code:
    test gpio /dev/gpio/out ff
    .
    sorry, I tried them all, but no one switched off the WL-HDD

  13. #133
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    29
    Quote Originally Posted by Oleg
    My guess is that somebody near you just installed wireless equipment. Nothing changed in the wireless stuff in the -4, as it's available as precompiled binary only. The problem is that I've never experienced reboots, etc., so I could not even try to catch this.

    As for stability - this one runs in the AP mode - no reboots, etc:
    Code:
    [root@wl500g-1 root]$ uptime
     18:08:19 up 21 days, 25 min, load average: 0.08, 0.01, 0.00
    [root@wl500g-1 root]$ cat /.version
    1.9.2.7-4
    I believe you Oleg, that's not the issue. The -4 firmware just breaks over and over on my setup. Most of the time loosing ssh and wireless, but yesterday it freaked out completely and even LAN access was gone. Being tired of this I flashed back to -3c and sofar things are still going. The last reboot (planned) was around 10 pm yesterday and this morning 9 am I could still log on to the router from the office, sofar it's still alive.

    Regarding the wireless. I don't think someone just installed wireless equipment in the neighborhood. I did a netstumbler scan yesterday and all looks the same. Ofcourse, the unit can be switched of but considering the neighborhood and range of the wireless devices, I don't think so. Ofcourse the band is an ISM band and shared with other ISM devices as well, I can't check for wireless videolink devices that may interfere. Apart from that the lower channels are also shared with amateur radio (high power) and professional video link services (low power). One of the reasons to go back to the -3c release, if it is the wireless stuff, that one might give problems to. If the -3c stays online, it may be something different in the -4 release.

    If I find something more, I'll let you know.

  14. #134
    Did you try the full reset? I also get instability between firmwares versions if I don't restart configuration from scratch. Also, I usualy disable WMM extentions and work using WEP

  15. #135
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,308
    Quote Originally Posted by Oleg
    So, it still does not work? If it does not, then try adding something like
    Code:
    echo post-mount > /tmp/post-mount.log
    to check if it really works.
    New day, new attempts and I found the problem: post-mount was not executable yet. My bad, sorry.
    Last edited by Styno; 12-04-2005 at 18:49.

Page 9 of 14 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Firmware v1.9.2.7 CR1 [Oleg]
    By Oleg in forum WL-500g Firmware Releases
    Replies: 53
    Last Post: 13-04-2005, 23:26
  2. Firmware v1.9.2.7 CR2 [Oleg]
    By Oleg in forum WL-500g Firmware Releases
    Replies: 64
    Last Post: 11-01-2005, 18:22
  3. Firmware v1.7.5.9 CR2 [Oleg]
    By Oleg in forum WL-500g Firmware Releases
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 06-10-2004, 08:12
  4. Firmware v1.7.5.6 CR2.1 [Oleg]
    By Antiloop in forum WL-500g Firmware Releases
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 03-05-2004, 11:13
  5. Firmware v1.7.5.6 CR1 [Oleg]
    By Antiloop in forum WL-500g Firmware Releases
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 07-04-2004, 17:22

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •