Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 69

Thread: Wake-on-LAN

  1. #46
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    736
    My suggestion is that you install xinetd from optware packages and then create a wrapper script which replaces http service at port 80.
    This script should reconfigure iptables for forwarding to server and wakes the server.

    Additionally you can install thttpd server and run it in -D mode in script before reconfiguring iptables and waking server. This will enable visitors to see DELAY notice. HTML page should include
    Code:
    <META HTTP-EQUIV=Refresh CONTENT=300>
    Of course this could also be solved with firmware, with simple reconfigure of busybox applets. But this requires knowledge of firmware compilation.
    You should include inetd applet and set httpd to be run from inetd!

    I dont know why, inetd is not included in Oleg firmware as this saves memory. Maybe because memory is so tight that it is safer to run as daemons.

    HM. I think that this requires Oleg 7b firmware which has http_lanport patch as inetd has to live on port 80, to detect requests. Move GUI elsewhere.


    Hope this helps you start. Write a WIKI page when you finished.

    And why not running http server on router itself?
    Last edited by oleo; 18-01-2006 at 17:06.

  2. #47

    Question Can't WOL

    I have a problem with my Wl500gx. I can't wol. I've tryed ssh my router and used the command: "ether-wake XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX" ,"ether-wake -i vlan0 XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX" and "ether-wake -i vlan1 XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX" and the two lan interfaces. Nothing works. I've checked that WOL is enabled on my PC, but it still doesn't work ?! Please Help


    Sorry for my bad english....

  3. #48
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    377
    Hi
    Have you tried to WoL the computer directly with your (expected) other pc by using linux or a apropriate windows tool ? Maybe just your WoL is not reacting properly...

    Greets
    My Stuff: WL-500g, Mapower H31x 10GB HD, Philips Webcam Vesta PRO, TerraTec Webcam PRO, USB Hub

  4. #49

    How to WOL WL-500gx?

    Hi all!

    Is it possible to wake-on-lan the WL-500gx after it has been shutdown (by running 'halt' in a telnet session)?
    I allready tried to wake it up by sending wol-packages to the router using 'wakeonlan' and 'etherwake' but that did not work.

    Is there an utility available to configure the wol features of the router? Something like 'ethtool' for instance.

    pezi

  5. #50
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    WOL is not supported. Halt is the endless loop.

  6. #51

    A solution for WOL?

    ether-wake do not work with the latest firmware?
    wakelan to?

    ether-wake -b -i xxxx 00:11:11:11:11:11 do not work, nothing with a sniffer

  7. #52
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Heesch, Netherlands
    Posts
    118

    PHP for Wake on lan?

    I can succesfully wake my computer from the internet with sites like dslreports.com/wakeup using wake on lan.
    But with this site, I have to remember the mac adresses of my computers.
    I have php-thttpd running on my asus WL500gx, and I saw some php scripts to run on a device. So my idea was to create a central webpage (password protected) with links to several php scripts to wakeup my systems. I tried a script, but it does not work. The Oleg-internal ether-wake program works perfect so my home network is not the problem, but therefore I have to log in to the shell, which is not possible from many locations due to network restrictions.
    The script looks as following:
    Code:
    <?
    # Wake on LAN - (c) HotKey@spr.at, upgraded by Murzik
    # Modified by Allan Barizo http://www.hackernotcracker.com
    flush();
    function WakeOnLan($addr, $mac,$socket_number) {
      $addr_byte = explode(':', $mac);
      $hw_addr = '';
      for ($a=0; $a <6; $a++) $hw_addr .= chr(hexdec($addr_byte[$a]));
      $msg = chr(255).chr(255).chr(255).chr(255).chr(255).chr(255);
      for ($a = 1; $a <= 16; $a++) $msg .= $hw_addr;
      // send it to the broadcast address using UDP
      // SQL_BROADCAST option isn't help!!
      $s = socket_create(AF_INET, SOCK_DGRAM, SOL_UDP);
      if ($s == false) {
        echo "Error creating socket!\n";
        echo "Error code is '".socket_last_error($s)."' - " . socket_strerror(socket_last_error($s));
        return FALSE;
        }
      else {
        // setting a broadcast option to socket:
        $opt_ret = socket_set_option($s, 1, 6, TRUE);
        if($opt_ret <0) {
          echo "setsockopt() failed, error: " . strerror($opt_ret) . "\n";
          return FALSE;
          }
        if(socket_sendto($s, $msg, strlen($msg), 0, $addr, $socket_number)) { 
          echo "Magic Packet sent successfully!";
          socket_close($s);
          return TRUE;
          }
        else { 
          echo "Magic packet failed!";
          return FALSE;
          } 
        
        }
      }
    // Port number where the computer is listening. Usually, any number between 1-50000 will do. Normally people choose 7 or 9.
    $socket_number = "7";
    // MAC Address of the listening computer's network device
    $mac_addy = "00:12:4G:SF:12:13";
    // IP address of the listening computer. Input the domain name if you are using a hostname (like when under Dynamic DNS/IP)
    $ip_addy = gethostbyname("myhomeserver.dynamicdns.org");
     
    WakeOnLan($ip_addy, $mac_addy,$socket_number)
     
     
    ?>
    How can i get this script working?

  8. #53

    question

    in your thread you say that you can wake your computer by using the website. I can not figure out how to do that, the only solution in the forums is to use telnet.

    can you explain how to make a website solution work ?

  9. #54
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Heesch, Netherlands
    Posts
    118
    Quote Originally Posted by mark76 View Post
    in your thread you say that you can wake your computer by using the website. I can not figure out how to do that, the only solution in the forums is to use telnet.

    can you explain how to make a website solution work ?
    By using dslreports website you have to setup a NAT rule in firewall (running on my adsl modem, not asus router) which forwards packets received on port9 to internal broadcast adress. (In my 10.0.0.x range this is 10.0.0.255)

    At the moment I have better solution running; I have a cgi script running on my asus, which is reachable from internet. This script will launch the builtin ether-wake (included in Oleg firmware) Using this solution, I don't even have to open a port at all. cgi is password protected by busybox-httpd webserver.

    Find the cgi solution here. (read the whole thread, for better solution)
    http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=10419
    Solar inverter monitoring with Asus wl500gx http://solar.reinieren.net (dutch)

  10. #55

    Wol Wifi

    Hi,
    exists any way to wake up computer by wifi ?
    thx

  11. #56
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Heesch, Netherlands
    Posts
    118
    Quote Originally Posted by greengreen View Post
    Hi,
    exists any way to wake up computer by wifi ?
    thx
    No. Wake on Lan is not supported on Wifi.
    Solar inverter monitoring with Asus wl500gx http://solar.reinieren.net (dutch)

  12. #57

    oleg and wol

    how wake up PC from WL-500gx with oleg firmware?

    DD-WRT has wol, but in oleg not see

  13. #58
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    3,805
    /usr/bin/ether-wake

  14. #59

    Wake On Lan " Asus WL500G "

    Greetings,

    I need a litlle help, i own an Asus Wl500G, i am trying to setup a wake on lan connection, i have the latest oleg firmware "1.9.2.7-10"

    I can wake up the computer from my internal lan but when i try to wake him up from the internet it doesn´t even receives the magic packet.

    "It seems that the router is blocking the magic packets"


    I have a dns ip, my static ip is: 192.168.1.206 my subnet mask is 255.255.255.0 and i have tried to forward all traficc to UDP port 9 on 192.168.1.255 and 192.168.1.206, with no luck.

    Can you please explain me how to setup the router so that i can wake him up from the internet.


    Thanks,

    Bruno

  15. #60
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    3,805
    search on ether-wake

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •