Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Thread: Firmware to use wl300g as client

  1. #1

    Firmware to use wl300g as client

    Hi,
    I just got a new ap (belkin pre-n) an i want to use my old ASUS WL300g as a client i the wifi network. (Insted of bying a wifi game adaptor). Is there any firmware that supports this on wl300g? Also I wounder if it is possible to use a wl500g firmware or if that would turn my wl300g into a brick?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    At the moment only custom firmware support this. Visit this page to get one: http://oleg.wl500g.info/

  3. #3
    Thanx for the fast reply. I will try to flash WL300g-1.9.2.7-3c.trx can I use ASUS tools to downgrade to erlier fw ver?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Sure, firmware restoration tool does not care of versions.

  5. #5

    Almost working....

    Now I have upgraded my router using the custom fw WL300g-1.9.2.7-3c.trx. But I still have some problem getting it to work. My setup in the ASUS router is AP and bridge mode. If i run my WiFi net work as open i get a connection to the belkin router and i get a ipaddress on my ASUS router from DHCP on Belkin. But if i try to set upp security on my WiFi net it breaks down. My ASUS just keeps saying connecting.... I have tried to use WPA-PSK / TKIP and also WPA-PSK / AES but none of them works. I have surfed the forum for info on how to trubbleshoot this from linuxconsole to get more info but it didn't make me any smarter (I'm no linux guru ) I use cut and paste from USB Stick on my settings so I'm sertin that the passphrase is correct. Do you have any tips for me on how to continue?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Have you tried WEP? Most likely you've some sort of incompatibility with belkin device...

  7. #7

    Have done some more testing now.

    Currently using fw WL300g-1.9.2.7-4.trx (Saw that you released WL300g-1.9.2.7-5.trx but have not flashed it yet).

    I was able to do the following:

    1. Open system is working - Router joins the "MyWifiNet" automaticly on boot.
    2. WEP 64bit is working - Router joins the "MyWifiNet" automaticly on boot.
    3. WEP 128bit is working - Router joins the "MyWifiNet" automaticly on boot.
    4. WPA-PSK partualy working - Router logg is saying connecting to MyWifiNet on boot but nerver succeds in joining after boot. If i telnet to the router an write the following command
    Code:
    wl join "MyWifiNet" imode bss amode wpapsk
    it joins correctly and everything works fine. I can do with this but my girlfriend is not telnet friendly so I need to fix this. She keeps nagging. I never shutoff the router an it only seems to need a reboot when I'm not at home. Any suggestions?

    this is my set up

    [xbox] <-x-> <[ASUSWL300G]> <<<wifi>>> <[BelkinPRE-N]> <---> {internet}

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    ok, this seems should fix WPA-PSK in the client mode. I will prepare test firmware for you.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    btw, could you please run
    Code:
    nvram get wl0_auth_mode
    nvram get wl0_join
    and post results? You may need to remove your PSK key.

  10. #10
    I will do that as soon as I get home from work :-)

    btw
    I'm using bridgemode to connect (forgot to write that) now.

    this is my set up.

    [xbox] <-crossoverkabel-> <[ASUSWL300G]> <<<wifi>>> <[BelkinPRE-N]> <-networkcabel-> {internet ADSL2+}
    Last edited by miraculix; 09-05-2005 at 10:38.

  11. #11
    I was browsing around in the wl500g howto forum an read about some post-boot script. Would this be a possible workaround?

    Code:
    echo "wl join "MyWifiNet" imode bss amode wpapsk" >> /usr/local/sbin/post-boot
    
    flashfs save
    flashfs commit
    flashfs enable
    My ASUS setup
    [xbox] <-crossovercabel-> <[ASUSWL300G]> ((((wifi)))) <[BelkinPRE-N]> <-networkcabel-> {internet ADSL2+}

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Quote Originally Posted by miraculix
    I was browsing around in the wl500g howto forum an read about some post-boot script. Would this be a possible workaround?

    Code:
    echo "wl join "MyWifiNet" imode bss amode wpapsk" >> /usr/local/sbin/post-boot
    
    flashfs save
    flashfs commit
    flashfs enable
    Your post-boot should look like this:
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    nvram set wl0_join="wl join MyWifiNet imode bss amode wpapsk"
    This way it should even reconnect automatically.

  13. #13
    Ok when I get home I will try that also!

    I've attached my settings save file if that is to any help for U
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by miraculix; 09-05-2005 at 12:44.
    My ASUS setup
    [xbox] <-crossovercabel-> <[ASUSWL300G]> ((((wifi)))) <[BelkinPRE-N]> <-networkcabel-> {internet ADSL2+}

  14. #14
    Well, I'm home from work and continuing!
    I started with a firmware update to the latest 1.9.2.7-5 firmware. Tried a reboot to see if it magicly started to work. But no still the same.
    Checked the two commands you asked about and this is the printout
    Code:
    [admin@(none) root]$ nvram get wl0_auth_mode
    none
    [admin@(none) root]$ nvram get wl0_join
    wl join "MyWifiNet" imode bss amode open
    I think you have found the problem but what do i do about it?

    Also i tried to find the /usr/local/sbin/post-boot file to check what it says but I could not find it i do not even have a /usr/local/sbin katalog. should i create one and put the file in it?

    Thanx for the help also I saw the now commandline interface in the webgui it works nicely for input but i do not get any output??!!??
    My ASUS setup
    [xbox] <-crossovercabel-> <[ASUSWL300G]> ((((wifi)))) <[BelkinPRE-N]> <-networkcabel-> {internet ADSL2+}

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Quote Originally Posted by miraculix
    I think you have found the problem but what do i do about it?

    Also i tried to find the /usr/local/sbin/post-boot file to check what it says but I could not find it i do not even have a /usr/local/sbin katalog. should i create one and put the file in it?
    Create directory and post-boot according to samples on my page.
    Thanx for the help also I saw the now commandline interface in the webgui it works nicely for input but i do not get any output??!!??
    Press Refresh instead of enter.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. wl138g en wl300g compatible?
    By sharkzor in forum Dutch Discussion - Nederlands
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13-09-2005, 10:20
  2. Firmware v1.8.1.3 (Qualification Test) WL300g ONLY
    By Antiloop in forum WL-300g Firmware Releases
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 27-09-2004, 12:08
  3. GPL-WL300g-500bg
    By Technik in forum WL-500g Custom Development
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 25-03-2004, 15:05

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •