Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: saving firmware

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Germany - Cologne
    Posts
    64

    saving firmware

    hi,

    i want to test an older firmware but i have made several changes (samba config etc) in the current one.
    am i able to save the whole firmware to my harddisk or usb stick?

    newbie question i know - but a search in the forum returned no reults :-/

    tia
    mod

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    the netherlands
    Posts
    155
    You cannot save the firmware. You don't have to either. You can download the firmware from here or from the asus website, depending on what version you have.

    However, you should be able to save the settings, but I don't know if that will save manual made settings as well.

    But of course you have documented all settings made manually so redoing won't be a problem

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Germany - Cologne
    Posts
    64

    documented - sure

    sure i wrote down everything


    thanks for the help

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    125
    You cannot save the firmware.
    Not quite true - AFAIK you can get the combination of kernel and rootfs from /dev/mtdblock/1 and a tool to put this into a trx file is also available somewhere (I thinks its in the GPL source tarball from asus).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Quote Originally Posted by modnet25
    hi,

    i want to test an older firmware but i have made several changes (samba config etc) in the current one.
    am i able to save the whole firmware to my harddisk or usb stick?

    newbie question i know - but a search in the forum returned no reults :-/

    tia
    mod
    If you mean saving flashfs - then you could type flashfs save and then copy /tmp/flashfs.tar.gz to usb stick. Also, keep in mind, that even after firmware upgrade flashfs is still there - it's just disabled - type flashfs enable and reboot your router.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Germany - Cologne
    Posts
    64

    ok thanks

    thanks...but the question is out of date :-/

    is it a normal behaviour that all settings er reseted when unplugging the powercable of my router?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    No, unless you forget to press Finish.

Similar Threads

  1. saving the WEP settings
    By Sprinjee in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28-03-2006, 22:31
  2. Daylight saving time problem
    By engy in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-04-2005, 17:29
  3. Access denied on saving files
    By RKT in forum WL-HDD Q&A
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 17-03-2005, 23:25

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •