Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 23 of 23

Thread: WL700gE bricket

  1. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by mumsoft View Post
    Buddy,

    You problay lost only some time, as we all do now and then.
    When I told you to check dev/se/2 I was referring to the wrong partition. It has something to do with mirroring, but don't ask we how and what and why.

    Actually the disk in the Asus is hiding here:
    /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0
    if you do:
    Code:
    ls /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0
    I get:
    disc part1 part2 part3 part63
    If I'm not wrong, disc refers to the whole hard drive, part1 and part2 both contain a part of the firmware, part3 is where all your stuff goes (/opt, /shares/MYVOLUME1), and part 63 is, well, I don't know.

    Try
    Code:
    reiserfsck --fix-fixable /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part3
    Maybe you should also check part1 and 2, but part3 is where your data is for sure.
    Plus I don't know what filesystem is on part1 and part2.
    - check and repair part3.
    - reboot

    Marc

    This is what i got when I tried reiserfsck --fix-fixable /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part3

    Code:
    [u@h W]reiserfsck --fix-fixable /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part3
    reiserfsck 3.6.11 (2003 www.namesys.com)
    
    *************************************************************
    ** If you are using the latest reiserfsprogs and  it fails **
    ** please  email bug reports to reiserfs-list@namesys.com, **
    ** providing  as  much  information  as  possible --  your **
    ** hardware,  kernel,  patches,  settings,  all reiserfsck **
    ** messages  (including version),  the reiserfsck logfile, **
    ** check  the  syslog file  for  any  related information. **
    ** If you would like advice on using this program, support **
    ** is available  for $25 at  www.namesys.com/support.html. **
    *************************************************************
    
    Will check consistency of the filesystem on /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/par                                                                             t3
    and will fix what can be fixed without --rebuild-tree
    Will put log info to 'stdout'
    
    Do you want to run this program?[N/Yes] (note need to type Yes if you doYes
    
    ###########
    reiserfsck --fix-fixable started at Mon Jun 30 01:48:59 2008
    ###########
    Replaying journal..
    0 transactions replayed
    сChecking internal tree../finished
    Comparing bitmaps..finished
    сChecking Semantic tree:
    сfinished
    No corruptions found
    There are on the filesystem:
            Leaves 22095
            Internal nodes 135
            Directories 520
            Other files 12235
            Data block pointers 21922575 (11749546 of them are zero)
            Safe links 0
    ###########
    reiserfsck finished at Mon Jun 30 01:53:32 2008
    ###########
    [u@h W]
    After that I rebooted but still comes up that the drive is unmounted.

    I tried the other parts and got this:

    Code:
    [u@h W]
    [u@h W]reiserfsck --fix-fixable /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part63
    reiserfsck 3.6.11 (2003 www.namesys.com)
    
    *************************************************************
    ** If you are using the latest reiserfsprogs and  it fails **
    ** please  email bug reports to reiserfs-list@namesys.com, **
    ** providing  as  much  information  as  possible --  your **
    ** hardware,  kernel,  patches,  settings,  all reiserfsck **
    ** messages  (including version),  the reiserfsck logfile, **
    ** check  the  syslog file  for  any  related information. **
    ** If you would like advice on using this program, support **
    ** is available  for $25 at  www.namesys.com/support.html. **
    *************************************************************
    
    Will check consistency of the filesystem on /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part63
    and will fix what can be fixed without --rebuild-tree
    Will put log info to 'stdout'
    
    Do you want to run this program?[N/Yes] (note need to type Yes if you doYes
    
    
    reiserfs_open: the reiserfs superblock cannot be found on /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part63.
    
    Failed to open the filesystem.
    
    If the partition table has not been changed, and the partition is
    valid  and  it really  contains  a reiserfs  partition,  then the
    superblock  is corrupted and you need to run this utility with
    --rebuild-sb.
    
    Abort
    [u@h W]
    Is that what I should be getting?

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    244
    Buddy,

    Finaly you got some results!

    The check on part3 took only 5 minutes, which is very short. Your drive is filled with 125 GB if I'm correct. My drive has 180GB and checking it took some hours.
    But that is no real concern.

    The other parts 1, 2 and 63 have most likely no Reiser filesystem.
    You could try to check them with fsck (fsck /dev...../part1 etc)

    All in all I now think that the Asus lost it's knowledge of your system volume, but that all data is still there.
    Creating a new volume will probably wipe out that data.
    Please search this forum on this topic, because I can't do much more for you.

    If there is no certain way to recreate the system volume, you should have a look here:
    http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=10198

    Regards,
    Marc

  3. #18
    Quote Originally Posted by mumsoft View Post
    Buddy,

    Finaly you got some results!

    The check on part3 took only 5 minutes, which is very short. Your drive is filled with 125 GB if I'm correct. My drive has 180GB and checking it took some hours.
    But that is no real concern.

    The other parts 1, 2 and 63 have most likely no Reiser filesystem.
    You could try to check them with fsck (fsck /dev...../part1 etc)

    All in all I now think that the Asus lost it's knowledge of your system volume, but that all data is still there.
    Creating a new volume will probably wipe out that data.
    Please search this forum on this topic, because I can't do much more for you.

    If there is no certain way to recreate the system volume, you should have a look here:
    http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=10198

    Regards,
    Marc
    thanks for ur help marc, i still havent got it going yet but ill have to leave it for a month as im going overseas tomorrow. sorta spewing i havent cos i was going to go nuts wit my downloads while i was away but wat can u do.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dordrecht, Netherlands
    Posts
    8

    WL700gE bricket

    I tried to upgrade my firmware but i got a time out and the router is bricked.
    I've tried to restart with holding teh EZ button and the rest button. The ready light is on but if i try to get to the router i don't get anything. When the power has been off and i restart the ready light doesn't go on again. Is there anybody who can tel me how to get my WL700 back?

    About the nas files; They are to large for upload and i can''t find software to split it using Windows XP or Vista.
    Can someone help me?

  5. #20
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    amsterdammed
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by Wihoka View Post
    I tried to upgrade my firmware but i got a time out and the router is bricked.
    I've tried to restart with holding teh EZ button and the rest button. The ready light is on but if i try to get to the router i don't get anything. When the power has been off and i restart the ready light doesn't go on again. Is there anybody who can tel me how to get my WL700 back?

    About the nas files; They are to large for upload and i can''t find software to split it using Windows XP or Vista.
    Can someone help me?
    i think you just need the firmware uploaded like this one
    http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=9632
    but i notice that this one is not secure yet...check asus site and choose download from the top menu and again download
    then select wireless and ap/router and your unit to get the WL-700gE Firmware Version 1.0.7.8 file around 17mb in size : WL700gE_1078.zip

    I had the same issue and could not use it for some time...
    on the cd that came with the unit is a program to restore the firmware
    but should also be available on the download site of asus...you would need the
    "Rescue700g.exe" program to restore the unit to factory default.
    if you do not have the cd you can try using
    this link to get the Utility_1700.zip file
    Last edited by torretje; 17-12-2008 at 18:35.
    \0/ if you cant fixit, dont fuckit

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dordrecht, Netherlands
    Posts
    8
    Thanks for you're advise. I don't even get an IP anymore. It's totally bricket. I'll try to make a hard reset by using a pin or metal. Could never be worse than this.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    amsterdammed
    Posts
    15
    Quote Originally Posted by Wihoka View Post
    Thanks for you're advise. I don't even get an IP anymore. It's totally bricket. I'll try to make a hard reset by using a pin or metal. Could never be worse than this.
    so no lol then...and did you try to set a fixed ip address in your network settings
    e.g. 192.168.1.10 and ping 192.168.1.1 your router? does the unit startup?
    and if it does are you connected by cable? is the cable ok!? can you see the unit in network environment of your windows?
    \0/ if you cant fixit, dont fuckit

  8. #23

    Mounting the part3

    Hi all,

    I sort of having the similar problem describe in this thread by buddy where I could not see /shares/MYVOLUME1.

    I follow through the discussion here and was manage to mount /shares/MYVOLUME1 back.

    Apparently, as describe by mumsoft, the disk is hiding there in ;
    /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0

    What I did was to remount the /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part3 as follow ;

    mount -t reiserfs /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part3 /shares/MYVOLUME1

    I got an error ;

    mount: mounting /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part3 on /shares/MYVOLUME1 failed: No such file or directory

    What I did was to go ahead and create the directory /shares/MYVOLUME1 and then repeat the mounting comand again.

    This time, the command went through without error and I got all my data back :

    Here are the extract from telnet ;

    =======================================
    #
    # mount -t reiserfs /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part3 /shares/MYVOLUME1
    mount: Mounting /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part3 on /shares/MYVOLUME1 fail
    ed: No such file or directory
    #
    # mkdir /shares/MYVOLUME1
    #
    # mount -t reiserfs /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part3 /shares/MYVOLUME1
    #
    # mount
    /dev/root on /mnt type cramfs (ro)
    none on /mnt/dev type devfs (rw)
    /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part2 on / type cramfs (rw)
    /dev on /dev type devfs (rw)
    proc on /proc type proc (rw)
    usbdevfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbdevfs (rw)
    ramfs on /tmp type ramfs (rw)
    ramfs on /shares type ramfs (rw)
    ramfs on /foreign_shares type ramfs (rw)
    /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/part3 on /shares/MYVOLUME1 type reiserfs (rw)

    =====================================


    Hope this helps

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Альтернативные прошивки для wl700gE
    By Oleg in forum Russian Discussion - РУССКИЙ (RU)
    Replies: 165
    Last Post: 05-03-2011, 08:15
  2. Problemen installeren Twonky WL700Ge
    By Rick in forum Dutch Discussion - Nederlands
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30-03-2008, 21:32
  3. Using Wl700gE to sync folders via FTP
    By dalanik in forum WL-700g Q&A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24-03-2008, 15:10
  4. Please Help Install WL700ge [v1.0.7.8 Kfurge]
    By ice-cool in forum WL-700g Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22-01-2008, 15:02
  5. WL700ge: IMAP und Kolab / Alternativen?
    By Hinnerk in forum German Discussion - Deutsch (DE)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-11-2007, 09:39

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •