Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: how can I install TwonkyVision 2.5 ?

Red face how can I install TwonkyVision 2.5 ?

Hello,
    who can help me please?
    I'm a newbie with Linux. I have an ASUS WL-HDD with running JOCKYW2001 on it.
    Now I want install the new Twonkyvision Mediaserver.
    In witch folders must i install the files, to run alwas the TwonkyVisoin ?
    I have try it, and it runs only when I have an telnet open to the Asus, when I stop telnet the TwonkyVision stops playing.
    Can you help me please?
    Greetings from Bavaria
    Stefan

in telnet, run twonkyvision like this:

./mediaserver -D

It will work after closing telnet

Be sure to change config to save the database at a proper folder and to set your media folders

Thumbs up

OK, thanks for your help.
    I will try this tonight.
    bye Stefan

@hugo

Hi!

You already have the Mediaserver running on the wl-hdd?
    Would you be so kind, and post a quick howto for a user like me, who has never done anything with linux before?

Which firmware should be used on the WL-HDD for this surpose?
    Where has the Mediaserver Distribution to be placed on the HD?
    Is there a way to start Mediaserver each time, the WL-HDD is powered on automatically or is that done manually only with telnet?

PLS help...

regards,
    hal.

That is it what could interesst me also.

Where has the Mediaserver Distribution to be placed on the HD?
    Is there a way to start Mediaserver each time, the WL-HDD is powered on automatically or is that done manually only with telnet?

by Stefan

Making a how-to would be too long.

Look for oleg's latest firmware, download Wl-hdd version, and set a post-boot command to run media server. If this does seems feasable to you then you are set. Otherwise, be wary: this is not a simple path.

okay, thank you anyway.
    sorry to say that, but it seems, youīre not interestet in helping us very much in this case.