Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 41

Thread: [How to] PXE boot Server

  1. #16
    Hello!

    I've made everything as written in this instruction, but after booting with network machine getting ip, mask, gateway, dhcp and then starting TFTP.
    But it ends after timeout and machine writes PXE-E32^ TFTP Open timeout.

    chmod doesn't help...
    Can someone help, please?

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    czech republic
    Posts
    182
    Quote Originally Posted by nevel View Post
    Hello!

    I've made everything as written in this instruction, but after booting with network machine getting ip, mask, gateway, dhcp and then starting TFTP.
    But it ends after timeout and machine writes PXE-E32^ TFTP Open timeout.

    chmod doesn't help...
    Can someone help, please?
    check(remap is for Vista PE):
    nano /opt/etc/xinetd.d/tftp
    Code:
    
    service tftp
    {
           flags            = REUSE
           socket_type      = dgram
           protocol         = udp
           instances        = 30
           wait             = yes
           user             = root
           server           = /opt/sbin/in.tftpd
           server_args = -s /opt/tftpboot -m /opt/tftpboot/tftpd.remap -vvv
           cps              = 100 2
           log_on_success   = HOST PID
           log_on_failure   = HOST
           disable          = no
    }
    nano /etc/dnsmasq.conf (only last line is important)
    Code:
    user=nobody
    resolv-file=/tmp/resolv.conf
    no-poll
    interface=br0
    domain=asus
    expand-hosts
    no-negcache
    dhcp-leasefile=/tmp/dnsmasq.log
    dhcp-range=lan,192.168.1.2,192.168.1.254,86400
    dhcp-option=lan,15,asus
    read-ethers
    dhcp-authoritative
    dhcp-boot=pxelinux.0,asus,192.168.1.1
    check if you have same domain and own username in your asus

    dhcp-boot=pxelinux.0,asus,192.168.1.1

    check from windows or inside router if transfer is succes:
    tftp 192.168.1.1 GET pxelinux.0
    tftp 192.168.1.1 -c get pxelinux.0 (linux)



    btw: the tftp server can be on other PC(with windows) outside router like:
    dhcp-boot=pxelinux.0,asus,ip where tftpd server running

    Attached Files: folder with pxelinux.0, memdisk, configs, with working reduced image of dos
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by gouryella; 08-03-2009 at 12:26.
    RT-N13u dd-wrt | Toshiba 2.5" 160GB | pxe boot server

  3. #18
    I'm affraid that the trouble is in the server part, because there is no process in.tftpd and if I run it manualy - it doesn't start, just trying as I understood, but router is alive and working. How much RAM does it need?

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    czech republic
    Posts
    182
    Quote Originally Posted by nevel View Post
    I'm affraid that the trouble is in the server part, because there is no process in.tftpd and if I run it manualy - it doesn't start, just trying as I understood, but router is alive and working. How much RAM does it need?
    in.tftpd is started from xine server, can not run manualy it apear only if needed

    did you check:
    tftp 192.168.1.1 GET pxelinux.0
    tftp 192.168.1.1 -c get pxelinux.0 (linux)

    nano /opt/etc/xinetd.conf
    Code:
    defaults
    {
            only_from      = localhost 192.168.1.0/24
            instances      = 60
            log_type       = SYSLOG authpriv info
            log_on_success = HOST PID
            log_on_failure = HOST
            cps            = 25 30
    }
    includedir /opt/etc/xinetd.d
    # in this dir is tftp config file
    nano /opt/etc/init.d/S10xinetd
    Code:
    #! /bin/sh
    #
    # Startup script for xinetd
    #
    prefix=/opt
    sbindir=${prefix}/sbin
    
    NAME=xinetd
    DAEMON=${sbindir}/${NAME}
    DESC="xinetd"
    PIDFILE="/var/run/xinetd.pid"
    OPTIONS="-pidfile $PIDFILE"
    CONFDIR="/opt/etc/xinetd.d"
    
    # installation check
    test -x ${DAEMON} || exit 0
    
    case "$1" in
        start)
            if [ -z "`pidof ${NAME}`" ] ; then
                printf "Starting ${DESC}: "
                ${DAEMON} ${OPTIONS}
                printf "${NAME}.\n"
            fi
        ;;
        stop)
            if [ -n "`pidof ${NAME}`" ]; then
              printf "Stopping ${DESC}: "
              kill -SIGTERM `cat $PIDFILE`
              printf "${NAME}.\n"
              for i in ${CONFDIR}/* ; do
                if [ -n "`grep 
    "^[[:space:]]*disable[[:space:]]*=[[:space:]]*no" ${i}`" ] ; then
                  daemon="`basename $(awk -F= 
    '/^[[:space:]]*server[[:space:]]*=[[:space:]]*.*/{print $2}' ${i})`"
                  printf "Stopping ${daemon}: "
                  kill "`pidof ${daemon}`" > /dev/null 2>&1
                  printf "${daemon}.\n"
                fi
              done
            fi
        ;;
        reload|reconfigure)
            if [ -n "`pidof ${NAME}`" ]; then
                printf "Reloading ${DESC}: "
                kill -SIGHUP `cat $PIDFILE`
                printf "${NAME}.\n"
            fi
        ;;
        restart|force-reload)
            $0 stop
            sleep 1
            $0 start
        ;;
        *)
            printf "Usage: $0 
    {start|stop|reload|reconfigure|restart|force-reload}\n" >&2
            exit
        ;;
    esac
    
    exit 0
    try to run xine and watch for errors
    Code:
    cd /opt/etc/init.d/
    sh S10xinetd start
    tftp not eat any ram
    RT-N13u dd-wrt | Toshiba 2.5" 160GB | pxe boot server

  5. #20

    Problems

    Hello,

    I tried this tutorial but it doesn't seem to work for me, a little help would be appreciated.

    I have the following network configuration:

    Speedtouch ADSL 4 port (DHCP enabled) (192.168.1.1)
    |
    Asus WL-500gP using Oleg 1.9.2.7-10, connected to Speedtouch (192.168.1.2)
    |
    Asus GigaX1105N gigabit switch, connected to Asus WL-500gP

    I have one desktop connected directly in the gigabit switch and I tried to do e PXE boot but it failed, couldn't see the error message, but I guess it could not connect to TFTP server on wl500gp.

    I tried testing the tftp like above, first doing a tftp get request from wl500gp ssh (it worked), and then from my Asus laptop connected wireless to wl500gp (it didn't worked, timeout, but i could see an entry in the router log saying something like Xinetd tftp started from 192.168.1.3 - the ip of my laptop).

    I also modified something /opt/etc/xinetd.d/tftp. user = root doesn't seem to work because there is no such user (this is what was written in the log), so i changed it from "root" to "admin".

    So, bottom line,

    tftp 192.168.1.2 GET pxelinux.0 (windows) - failed
    tftp 192.168.1.2 -c get pxelinux.0 (linux) - ok
    pxe boot using desktop - failed

    Does anybody have an ideea?

    Thanks!

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    czech republic
    Posts
    182
    Quote Originally Posted by andrei.pop View Post
    Hello,

    I tried this tutorial but it doesn't seem to work for me, a little help would be appreciated.

    I have the following network configuration:

    Speedtouch ADSL 4 port (DHCP enabled) (192.168.1.1)
    |
    Asus WL-500gP using Oleg 1.9.2.7-10, connected to Speedtouch (192.168.1.2)
    |
    Asus GigaX1105N gigabit switch, connected to Asus WL-500gP

    I have one desktop connected directly in the gigabit switch and I tried to do e PXE boot but it failed, couldn't see the error message, but I guess it could not connect to TFTP server on wl500gp.

    I tried testing the tftp like above, first doing a tftp get request from wl500gp ssh (it worked), and then from my Asus laptop connected wireless to wl500gp (it didn't worked, timeout, but i could see an entry in the router log saying something like Xinetd tftp started from 192.168.1.3 - the ip of my laptop).

    I also modified something /opt/etc/xinetd.d/tftp. user = root doesn't seem to work because there is no such user (this is what was written in the log), so i changed it from "root" to "admin".

    So, bottom line,

    tftp 192.168.1.2 GET pxelinux.0 (windows) - failed
    tftp 192.168.1.2 -c get pxelinux.0 (linux) - ok
    pxe boot using desktop - failed

    Does anybody have an ideea?

    Thanks!
    remove 1Gb switch and connect directly pc to wl500, the user=root is good note...
    dnsmasq.conf must be:
    dhcp-boot=pxelinux.0,asus,192.168.1.2
    Last edited by gouryella; 19-03-2009 at 10:24.
    RT-N13u dd-wrt | Toshiba 2.5" 160GB | pxe boot server

  7. #22
    I will try to remove 1Gb switch and connect directly pc to wl500, but what i find strange is that i couldn't connect to TFTP even when using my laptop connected wireless directly to my wl500.

    This line "dhcp-boot=pxelinux.0,asus,192.168.1.2" is ok, it is exactly as i have it in the config.

    I will keep you posted if it worked without the switch or not.

    Thanks!

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    czech republic
    Posts
    182
    Quote Originally Posted by andrei.pop View Post
    I will try to remove 1Gb switch and connect directly pc to wl500, but what i find strange is that i couldn't connect to TFTP even when using my laptop connected wireless directly to my wl500.

    This line "dhcp-boot=pxelinux.0,asus,192.168.1.2" is ok, it is exactly as i have it in the config.

    I will keep you posted if it worked without the switch or not.

    Thanks!
    pxe is imposible by wireless, but tftp must work
    RT-N13u dd-wrt | Toshiba 2.5" 160GB | pxe boot server

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    czech republic
    Posts
    182
    Quote Originally Posted by andrei.pop View Post
    I will try to remove 1Gb switch and connect directly pc to wl500, but what i find strange is that i couldn't connect to TFTP even when using my laptop connected wireless directly to my wl500.

    This line "dhcp-boot=pxelinux.0,asus,192.168.1.2" is ok, it is exactly as i have it in the config.

    I will keep you posted if it worked without the switch or not.

    Thanks!
    pxe is imposible by wireless, use ethernet, but tftp must work
    sorry if:
    tftp 192.168.1.2 -c get pxelinux.0 work inside router and
    in /etc/dnsmasq.conf is at the end: dhcp-boot=pxelinux.0,asus,192.168.1.2
    (asus is a Host Name in ip config LAN IP Setting in web interface)
    i can't provide any other help
    Last edited by gouryella; 19-03-2009 at 15:00.
    RT-N13u dd-wrt | Toshiba 2.5" 160GB | pxe boot server

  10. #25
    I know that wireless pxe is not possible, of course, what i was saying was that i tried to connect to tftp from the laptop using vista tftp client and i couldn't connect. From within asus it was ok.

    But i will try to remove the switch from the schema and see how it works.

    Thanks

  11. #26
    So finally i managed to get it working but only in a VMWARE machine. I started DOS 6.22, Damn Small Linux etc.

    I didn't removed the switch from the schema, but I disabled the dhcp service on the speedtouch modem and enabled it on wl500. Still, my 2 desktop machines do not boot from dhcp, only the vmware machine.

    Why?

  12. #27
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    czech republic
    Posts
    182

    ubuntu

    now i am thinking about booting ubuntu using pxe/tftp and nfs server
    Last edited by gouryella; 22-03-2009 at 09:29.
    RT-N13u dd-wrt | Toshiba 2.5" 160GB | pxe boot server

  13. #28
    That would be great. If you succeed please post here how you did it.

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    Quote Originally Posted by gouryella View Post
    now i am thinking about booting ubuntu using pxe/tftp and nfs server
    you do know, that you need to have at least 1.2GB ram to run ubuntu properly if you want to do that?
    since the image is going to be placed on the RAM (about 700MB) and then it will need 512MB ram to run...

    so... it will load up slowly and ubuntu is not really a live linux distro

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    czech republic
    Posts
    182
    Quote Originally Posted by wpte View Post
    you do know, that you need to have at least 1.2GB ram to run ubuntu properly if you want to do that?
    since the image is going to be placed on the RAM (about 700MB) and then it will need 512MB ram to run...

    so... it will load up slowly and ubuntu is not really a live linux distro
    yes it will load slowly ~3MB/s, but boot image takes about 8(initrd.gz) + 2MB(vmlinuz) other files load directly to ram(not ramdisk) only if needet fron nfs, i thing.
    now i have problems with nfs server, export list not work well & no smart tutorial is here in english...

    nfs is working now for me
    Code:
    /opt/nfs/ 192.168.1.1/24(rw,insecure,sync,all_squash,anonuid=0,anongid=0)
    the next step is in this tutorial, just follow it:
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/DisklessUbuntuHowto

    sorry guys i freeze on NFS over TCP is not running on the router, mean that nfs is ok but some rpc service is not installed :-(
    Attached Images Attached Images   
    Last edited by gouryella; 24-03-2009 at 14:51.
    RT-N13u dd-wrt | Toshiba 2.5" 160GB | pxe boot server

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 21-12-2012, 08:55
  2. [How to] rtorrent & ntorrent
    By mancub in forum WL-500gP Tutorials
    Replies: 101
    Last Post: 18-12-2008, 07:21
  3. [How To] 2 zusätzliche interne USB Ports am WL500gP nutzbar machen
    By rj.2001 in forum German Discussion - Deutsch (DE)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-10-2008, 11:32
  4. [HOW TO] Bluetooth in wl500g
    By TIk in forum WL-500g/WL-500gx Tutorials
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17-09-2008, 21:38
  5. Gameserver
    By blingbling in forum WL-500gP Q&A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17-07-2006, 15:37

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •