Thread: WL-500W with HDD Mac OSX connection failed

WL-500W with HDD Mac OSX connection failed

Searched the whole forum but couldnt find the answer to this issue...

I have WD Mybook HDD connected to my Asus WL-500W. I am using latest Olegs firmware.

When I try to access the HDD wirelessly using my MacBook with latest OSX it says connection failed. Router is visible under "SHARED" however it can not be accessed. You can also try connecting using password (could not find any setting on my router to set it in Samba section) but I have no idea what it should be. I have also tried the one I use to connect to the router but without any success.

Everything else is working fine. I can use the shared printer on USB normally as well. Disk is also normally accessible using any other PC with Windows.

If it was already discussed somewhere, please let me know. I have no knowledge in scripts so please make it simple

Thanks guys!
    Last edited by Zviti; 16-11-2008 at 20:05.

how do you share it?
    via the build in samba?

Yes, that was the plan. I really don't know much about these things. I can post some screenshots of my settings though. But there is not many things one can set up. Now it appears to me that OSX needs user and pass account to let you through. Oleg does not offer that option...

Thank you for reply!

same problem

I have the exact same problem and would very much like to know how to solve this. :/

if you need login things, you should install samba 2 according to wengi's howto I think (look in the WL-500gP part of these forums).

I'm not known with apple things, since I dont like them
    so I can't help you mutch out I'm afraid

there are some other guys who had this problem and managed to fix it... searching the forums might give some good results

to fix the login issue with the Mac, in /etc/smb.conf change "encrypt password = no" to "yes".