Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: users disapeared (KC 1.0.7.8 firm)

  1. #1

    users disapeared (KC 1.0.7.8 firm)

    Hi

    today I found I had no root and no users (I use USBA) on my wl700gE.
    If I try to add a user on the web interface it tells me "the user was created". I press "ok" button, the page reloads and says "there are no users", which is true. There is no root either. I can only telnet with "admin". What could be happening to my brick?

  2. #2
    I have reinstalled the firmware. Everything is as previously. Services like mldonkey are runing, still no root. How do I create the root user? does this question make sense? Can anybody help?

  3. #3
    Hey, this site is really helpfull
    I'll keep talking to myself.......

    So, whatever idea I come up with, I need to be root. Since I can not be root, only admin, I was thinking maybe I should "hard reset" the router and start all over again.
    So, I have two questions for you to ignore:
    1) How do I reset the router? I believe I have to clean the nvram, since a firmware upgrade didn't work.
    2) Will I loose the files on the hard disk? This could be a problem, since I have important files in the disk and so far I couldn't get them. Only the vanished users could access the shares, I can not create a new user, I can't get to the files as admin.

    twins

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    190
    You can try to hold the reset button on the back. hold it for over 10 sec. the ready light will start blinking.
    this should reset you re device.

    I had the same problem with the user accounts so I revert my box to openwrt

    Openwrt or Custom Firmware on asus? - http://wl700ge.hezik.nl/ - Http://wl700g.homelinux.net

    My ASUS collection: WL500gp(80GB usb-hdd - Running OpenWrt Kamikaze 7.09) | WL700gE(250GB - Running OpenWrt Kamikaze 8.09rc1)

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by back2basic View Post
    You can try to hold the reset button on the back. hold it for over 10 sec. the ready light will start blinking.
    this should reset you re device.

    I had the same problem with the user accounts so I revert my box to openwrt
    Hey, there's life in this forum after all
    I could do that. But I wonder if that will erase my files. If it erases my files, first I will have to remove the disk and copy the files to a PC (using the method I've seen somewhere in this forum...). Removing the disk would be a nice excuse to put a proper one in the brick. On the other hand it will be too much trouble, and I'm still not sure it is worth it (reliability of the firmware, mldonkey too slow both download and upload(!?!?what the heck!?!?)).
    So, can you tell me if it is safe for the files to reset the router?

    Thank you

    Twins

  6. #6
    Funny, exactly the same thing happened to me today.

    HD wont mount, cant log in or su to root (no passwd entry for root).

    Wondering what action I can take with no root password.

    I think without the HD its screwed. I am using kcfurge firmware 1.0.7.8

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by angrybob100 View Post
    Funny, exactly the same thing happened to me today.

    HD wont mount, cant log in or su to root (no passwd entry for root).

    Wondering what action I can take with no root password.

    I think without the HD its screwed. I am using kcfurge firmware 1.0.7.8
    Ah.... I feel so not alone
    Sorry, couldn't help it........
    I'm also using Kcf 1.0.7.8. My HD is mounted, the shares are there, just no users to access the shares. I can not create new users on the web interface. I can login as admin but no root (no passwd entry for root). Allready uploaded the firmware, but no luck.

    twins

  8. #8
    A full hard reset got me back a root user. IT reverted to the standard asus firmware. Before that I couldnt even su to root

    For some reason my hd wont mount automatically still, which means nothign really works properly. I can mount it manually and see my stuff. I will probably start a second thread on this topic.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    35
    Hello,
    I have the same Problem with the Users. I did this:

    1. I flash the this file "flash.trx" (you see it at the end of this site)
    How to do this: http://wl700g.homelinux.net/portal/content/view/30/30/
    Instead of "openwrt-brcm-2.4-squashfs.trx" you take "flash.trx"
    If you have windoof (alias windows) be shure that you installed tftp. You can
    find it in the software section of windows.
    2. Then I installed "kcfurge firmware 1.0.7.8_02" per webinterface or asus firmware restore soft.
    3. After that you go to the webinterface and you make ALL the settings. You create also users and shared directories etc....
    4. And then you use telnet.

    I hope it helps you.

    Joe

    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I am from Germany

    Edit: You won't loose any files!!!!
    Edit: Download: http://www.wl500g.info/files/asus/cu...urge/flash.trx
    Last edited by joe12345; 11-10-2008 at 10:00.

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by joe12345 View Post
    Hello,
    I have the same Problem with the Users. I did this:

    1. I flash the this file "flash.trx" (you see it at the end of this site)
    How to do this: http://wl700g.homelinux.net/portal/content/view/30/30/
    Instead of "openwrt-brcm-2.4-squashfs.trx" you take "flash.trx"
    If you have windoof (alias windows) be shure that you installed tftp. You can
    find it in the software section of windows.
    2. Then I installed "kcfurge firmware 1.0.7.8_02" per webinterface or asus firmware restore soft.
    3. After that you go to the webinterface and you make ALL the settings. You create also users and shared directories etc....
    4. And then you use telnet.

    I hope it helps you.

    Joe

    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I am from Germany

    Edit: You won't loose any files!!!!
    Edit: Download: http://www.wl500g.info/files/asus/cu...urge/flash.trx

    Ok. I get a timeout when trying to flash the flash.trx file using tftp. I can ping the router though. Still, after many reboots, resets and such, I can not create users.
    Any ideas? on how to flash the flash.trx or something different to try?

    twins

  11. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by twins View Post
    Ok. I get a timeout when trying to flash the flash.trx file using tftp. I can ping the router though. Still, after many reboots, resets and such, I can not create users.
    Any ideas? on how to flash the flash.trx or something different to try?

    twins
    Hey, just to say I got the router back (I can be root). It seems the timeout is the proper answer when flashing the flash.trx. I installed the Kc 1.0.7.8 and everything is working.
    Thanks for all the people who helped.

    Got another question. I remember reading somewhere (I think K. furge himeself wrote) that killing a certain process would help the firmware stability. I can't remember which process and I can't find the post. Does anyone know which process is?

    twins

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    35

  13. #13
    Damn it just happened to me again.

    HD doesnt mount (after i spent a week restoring everything) and now it doesnt mount again and therefore I cant log in as root to remount the damn thing.

    Anyone know of a quick fix where I wont lose files nor settings?

Similar Threads

  1. QoS with 1.0.7.8 ?
    By freischi in forum WL-700g Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-07-2008, 15:52
  2. How to add new users
    By gromot in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15-06-2008, 23:07
  3. Spin down and ftp-Problem with FW kfurge 1.0.7.8
    By fraho in forum WL-700g Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18-05-2008, 01:55
  4. wan to lan filter on default firmware 1.0.7.8?
    By nully in forum WL-700g Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-11-2007, 00:36
  5. Allow users FTP access but not SSH login
    By jonolumb in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20-12-2005, 21:09

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •