Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: External antena

  1. #1

    External antena

    I need to extend my WL500w range, unfortunately it hasn't got detachable antennas. I thought about panel antenna because I need only one part of the house covered. Currently I'm not using the N capability so replacing only one antenna should be enough.

    I think that i should buy a pigtail but I'm not sure the type of the connector. Here's a picture of wifi card on page 8.

    http://gullfoss2.fcc.gov/prod/oet/fo...ive_or_pdf=pdf

    Could You please tell me what kind of connector to look for.


    Patryk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    it's an SMB connector I believe
    http://www.wa1mba.org/SMB.jpg

    you should still replace all antenna's

    why?
    it uses mimo, even when you use 54G
    so every single packet will be spread over all antenna's, when 1 is different, it might happen you can have a signal, but only 1/3 of the data is reaching you.

  3. #3
    It uses U.Fl connector, 90% sure.

    Isn't mimo used only with N ?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    oh, yes, my bad it's an U.FI

    mimo is also used on other versions as far as I know
    http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProdu...duct_Id=203415
    you got wireless G mimo

    I think it's better to replace all antenna's, they should work as 1 all the time

  5. #5
    Just buy three pig-tails with hirose U.FL (also called Mini-SMT or IPEX) at the one end and reverse SMA (also called RP-SMA) at the second end and with an appropriate length. E. g. at eBay.

    I don't think, that 802.11g uses MIMO, but it seems to use at least the Tx diversity in the custom FW by default:

    Code:
    [admin@wlanrouter root]$ wl antdiv
    wl: Unsupported
    [admin@wlanrouter root]$ wl txant
    3
    Unfortunately I cannot say which two of three antennas are used for Tx

    BR

    Robert

    P.S.: you could also try the "polystyrene yagi", it works really, just google it

    Or, here is a link to a German article
    Last edited by akbor; 07-09-2008 at 17:40.
    ISP: TV Cable 50/5 Mbit
    Modem: Arris Touchstone TM822S
    "NAS": 1000 GB 2.5" HDD, EXT4, (USB @ RT-AC87U)
    Router: Asus RT-AC87U 380.68 (Merlin build), vsftpd, Samba3, NFS, Transmission, PyLoad...)
    Clients: mittlerweile unzählige...

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15-12-2008, 12:01
  2. WL500gp with an external HD?
    By nisse in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 13-02-2008, 08:50
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19-10-2007, 18:05
  4. External Hard Drive HDD
    By tmota in forum WL-500gP Q&A
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 26-08-2007, 12:03

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •