Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Internal IP alway changes

  1. #1

    Question Internal IP alway changes

    I am using DHCP, which means my IP will get addressed automatically, and usually it stick to one and the same IP on my previous Router, even with DHCP.

    Now since I have the Asus it happens all the time that my IP changes from 192.168.1.2 to 192.168.1.4 while my gf´s PC always sticks with 192.168.1.3.

    Thats a pain in the .... when I always have to switch my Port Forwarding accordingly. It worked fine on my previous router, why not on this one ?

    Sorry if its a n00b question.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands - Eindhoven
    Posts
    1,767
    go to your webinterface:
    ip config -> DHCP server

    in there you can set up the manual configuration
    you need a MAC adress without the dots or dashes
    I hope this helps you out
    you can use it with the dhcp server on, but it allows you to have a choosed ip adress

  3. #3
    Ok, i did that. But even after the Internet connection was reestablished i still have a different IP than the one I entered into the DHCP settings (manual).

    And I am sure i took the right MAC adress, without any - or / between, right ?

    Do I have to restart my PC for those changes to apply ?

    Wolfseye

  4. #4
    Yes you should restart both router and pc's... if it doesn't help, you may try to set manual IP and DNS configuration in your windows network connection, right-click it, properties, choose TCP/IP and change from automatic to manual assignment.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolfseye View Post
    Ok, i did that. But even after the Internet connection was reestablished i still have a different IP than the one I entered into the DHCP settings (manual).

    And I am sure i took the right MAC adress, without any - or / between, right ?

    Do I have to restart my PC for those changes to apply ?

    Wolfseye


    ya,You should restart you both Pc and router.If it doesn't help,you may try to set manual IP and DNS configuration in your windows network connection.
    you can set a manual IP address by :
    1. Going to Network and Dial Up Connections in the Start -> Control Panel
    2. Going to your local area connection
    3. Click "Properties"
    4. Click "Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)"
    5. Then again click "Properties"
    6. Selecting the "Use the Following IP Address"
    7. Entering an IP address available on your network
    Then you can check whether it's your ip address changed or not using ip-details.com

Similar Threads

  1. Internal Samba with Oleg's firmware 1.9.2.7-10
    By Garluk in forum WL-500gP Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 30-08-2008, 09:01
  2. Upgrade internal hdd
    By angrybob100 in forum WL-700g Q&A
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-05-2008, 12:16
  3. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 25-03-2008, 10:54
  4. Additional USB ports and Internal HD!
    By parper in forum WL-500gP Pics & Specs
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 23-01-2008, 22:24
  5. I need to change the internal HDD
    By ovisopa in forum WL-700g Q&A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29-11-2007, 14:36

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •