Page 6 of 12 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
Results 76 to 90 of 167

Thread: WL-500g Premium died After Upgrading Firmware

  1. #76
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    1,336
    Don't worry!

    First: write exactly which firmware you've taken (choosen).

    Search for the right fw (should be the latest - http://oleg.wl500g.info/1.9.2.7-8/ )

    Then use tftp to flash your new firmware, but pleeaaaase: wait some minutes more after flashing and use just a wire connection.

    Follow exactly http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=10989
    but use the name of your fw instead of tomatoxxxx.trx

    If that fails, there is an other possibility to bring him back......
    But I have done it several times and it always worked.

  2. #77
    Thank you so much. But in this cases, does the PC recognize the router via 192.168.1.1?
    I tried to reload firmware by Asus Firmware Restoration but not successful. And internet explorer say fail when I type http://192.168.1.1.
    I will do a try with yours after work today.

    Thank you!

  3. #78
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    1,336
    This is important: disable any firewall!
    Particularly any norton security and so on.....

    You can try it simple: when you hold the reset button (which is not so easy) during power on and the power light starts blinking after some seconds, everything should work fine.
    Just unplug your router and follow exactly the procedure.
    Let us know when you brought him back to life.

    If everything fails, we provide you more hints.....just let us know

  4. #79
    Hi Newbiefan
    I try many ways but nothing happen better. The PC can't connect to the router at all. The Power light blinks all the time when I turn it on whatever I press and hold the reset button or not.



    Give me some more hints

    Thank you!

  5. #80
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    the hague
    Posts
    33

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by usp View Post
    Hi Newbiefan
    I try many ways but nothing happen better. The PC can't connect to the router at all. The Power light blinks all the time when I turn it on whatever I press and hold the reset button or not.



    Give me some more hints

    Thank you!
    try ping 192.168.1.1

    what's the result of your pc's windows-command: ipconfig /all ?
    Last edited by jaapjeuk; 25-12-2007 at 01:50.

  6. #81
    Quote Originally Posted by jaapjeuk View Post
    try ping 192.168.1.1

    what's the result of your pc's windows-command: ipconfig /all ?
    I tried that and find out the IP's router was changed


  7. #82
    Hi,

    I think your computer normally has an 'dynamic' ip, leased by an dhcp-server (asus)..

    While the asus is 'broke' it doesn't send out an ip address to your computer.

    your computer then 'defaults' to an ip which is not in the same range as your asus, that's why you're not able to ping the asus.

    Change your pc's network address manually to 192.168.1.10, reboot and then try to ping your asus..

    When this connection works, you should be able to restore your asus.

    HTH

  8. #83
    WOW!!! Finally the router was reborn!!!

    Thank you all, yes, the ip changes to a random IP so the PC can not ping 191.168.1.1 because it is not in the same range of Asus. I set PC IP to static IP 192.168.1.xx, then It recognizes the Asus right. The next steps just following the Newbiefan's.

    Now I repare to reload the proper firmware for it.

    I like the Oleg firmware, It can load the Twonky Media. But Window Network doesn't see files in HDD. I don't like to use FTP. It can not play video files via Network.

    The Original firmware can see files from the network, but the Media Server works so bad, the video out put is slow and freeze.

    Any advice about that appreciate.

    Thanks all again...

  9. #84
    Install Samba for your file sharing with windows and configure shares.

    It then should be visible in your 'network neighbourhood' in windows and accessible as if it where a 'normal networked machine'

  10. #85
    Quote Originally Posted by raas View Post
    Install Samba for your file sharing with windows and configure shares.

    It then should be visible in your 'network neighbourhood' in windows and accessible as if it where a 'normal networked machine'
    I don't know how to install Samba. Isn't there a Demo Samba in Oleg Firmware? Could you show me how to? I appreciate that..

  11. #86
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    1,336
    Well, follow this tutorial: http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=10307

    It is a very good one, contains almost everything and is up to date.
    Best would be to read it before, just to understand what is useful for you.

    Then copy line by line to your telnet/putty console (or what you need).
    It's quick done and safe - just read carefully.

    Believe me, it's worth the time for reading - you will be surprized what your router can do.

    Edit: BWT: Sorry I've no experience with samba demo mode, I used from beginning an installed version.
    Last edited by newbiefan; 26-12-2007 at 17:02.

  12. #87
    I tried to install IPKG and Samba many time but not successful. I always received this notice "mkdir: Cannot create directory `/opt/etc'.

    I got my 500Gb hard drive patitioned with 3 parts, the 1st for Swap, 512mb, the 2nd for Ipkg 1GB, and the rest for data. What's wrong here? I followed the instruction step by step. What is focus here? Any help would appreciate...

  13. #88
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    1,336
    Ok, lets do it step by step.

    Do you have partition magic or other partition manager software?
    If so, just install your 3 partitions on your PC.

    But before, just telnet/putty to your box and input 'df -h'
    All partitions should be listed, except your swap partition.
    If you don't see them, something went wrong with your installation.
    As I know from experience, wengi's howto is up to date and works always,
    so I guess, you have done it too fast without reading.
    Anyhow, just post at first your post-boot and output of df -h

  14. #89
    Quote Originally Posted by newbiefan View Post
    Ok, lets do it step by step.

    Do you have partition magic or other partition manager software?
    If so, just install your 3 partitions on your PC.

    But before, just telnet/putty to your box and input 'df -h'
    All partitions should be listed, except your swap partition.
    If you don't see them, something went wrong with your installation.
    As I know from experience, wengi's howto is up to date and works always,
    so I guess, you have done it too fast without reading.
    Anyhow, just post at first your post-boot and output of df -h
    Thank you, Everything is so good now. I follow step by step the Wengi's tutorials in few times more and got successful finally. I appreciate it...

    One thing more: How can I access the EXT3 partition in WindowXP. I mean i will connect the 500GB HDD back to PC to copy or delete files on it for fasting? Thanks...
    Last edited by usp; 31-12-2007 at 02:01.

  15. #90
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    1,336
    Well, as I know there are several drivers out there....
    http://www.fs-driver.org/

    Anyhow, I don't use it, therefore I've no experience.
    Have fun....

Page 6 of 12 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. port forwarding Wl 500g premium
    By fanta in forum Dutch Discussion - Nederlands
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-03-2008, 20:15
  2. Azureus + WL 500g Premium слабая скорость
    By pertsev in forum Russian Discussion - РУССКИЙ (RU)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-03-2008, 16:15
  3. WL 500g Premium
    By airbrush999 in forum German Discussion - Deutsch (DE)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28-11-2007, 00:17

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •