Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: Firmware update problem (from ~1.8.1.7 to 1.9.2.7)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    13

    Unhappy Firmware update problem (from ~1.8.1.7 to 1.9.2.7)

    Hi There!

    I want to upgrade to FW 1.9.2.7 because of its 'bandwidth management' capabilities i need. I can't upgrade. After uploading of the firmware i waited 5min. Tranfer successful, PLED was on. Waited. Router was not accessible via browser.
    I pushed the reset switch on the back of the router. The PLED didn't flash fast and for a short time like it should. It flashed slow: Recovery Mode was turned on. O_o Router was not accessible. But the switch/hub functionality still worked.

    I downloaded the FW 2 times from asus.de and 2 times from chupa.nl. No one worked.

    I tried different approaches:
    -Upgrade via web interface
    -Upgrade in automatic recovery mode with recovery tool
    -Upgrade in manual recovery mode (hold reset + plug in power; then release reset) with recovery tool

    I tried different Firmwares:
    1.6.5.3 works
    1.7.5.6 works
    1.8.1.7 failed
    1.8.1.9 failed
    1.9.2.7 failed

    Now after searching this forum and more than 3h trying around i got no more ideas. Someone can help?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Most likely you just need to reset your router to defaults AFTER the upgrade using the RESTORE button to access web interface.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    2,407
    also be sure to UNZIP/UNRAR the files

    My little Asus Collection: Too much to fit inhere, my 2 babies:WL500w 1.9.2.7-10(OLEG) VX2SE Yellow Lamborghini notebook



    WL500g Forum Asus Files OpenDir

    Asusforum.NL -- Asusforum.DE -- Asusforum.RU -- Asusforum.PL -- Asusforum.NET -- Asusforum.EU -- Asusforum.BE -- Asusforum.ES -- Asusforum.INFO

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    13
    After the upgade i pushed the the restore button on the back as it was said.
    After this the PowerLED started blinking, i had still no web access and the router was instantly in 'restore mode'.

    And yes, i used the *.trx files. Firmware 1.7.x.x worked, firmware 1.8.x.x and 1.9.x.x didnt work.

    I also tried the recover and clear-nvram firmwares.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    the netherlands
    Posts
    155
    try rebooting your asus before you upgrade the firmware. Or just cycle power prior to upgrade the firmware. that way you know you will have maximum amount of memory available.

    Also reset to defaults once the upgrade was successful

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    13
    Thank you all for your help.
    But it still doesn't want to upgrade.

    The flasher says the upgrade was successful. But after doing a reset via the 'restore' button, the Powerled flashes slowly and the router is in 'recovery mode'.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    the netherlands
    Posts
    155
    That's strange.

    If you upgrade the firmware you point yr webbrowser to the directory containing your new flashfile, and then you click upgrade.

    After that it says it is flashing, can take 80 secs, bla bla... then you wait until your browser screen refreshes.

    Then the flash procedure has ended. After that it is time to reset to defaults, but you have to wait until it finishes and refreshes the browser.

    hope this helps

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Quote Originally Posted by lukie
    Thank you all for your help.
    But it still doesn't want to upgrade.

    The flasher says the upgrade was successful. But after doing a reset via the 'restore' button, the Powerled flashes slowly and the router is in 'recovery mode'.
    Could you please run
    Code:
    cat /proc/meminfo
    from the hidden admin page and post results here?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    13
    @wiz
    Yes, unusual. After hitting F5 for 9minutes, waiting for the web-page to appear, i gave up.

    Here are the results:
    • usual status with 1.7.5.6

      total: used: free: shared: buffers: cached:
      Mem: 14757888 11448320 3309568 0 1855488 4644864
      Swap: 0 0 0
      MemTotal: 14412 kB
      MemFree: 3232 kB
      MemShared: 0 kB
      Buffers: 1812 kB
      Cached: 4536 kB
      SwapCached: 0 kB
      Active: 3532 kB
      Inactive: 4140 kB
      HighTotal: 0 kB
      HighFree: 0 kB
      LowTotal: 14412 kB
      LowFree: 3232 kB
      SwapTotal: 0 kB
      SwapFree: 0 kB

    • after fresh 1.7.5.6 install

      total: used: free: shared: buffers: cached:
      Mem: 14757888 10461184 4296704 0 1777664 4427776
      Swap: 0 0 0
      MemTotal: 14412 kB
      MemFree: 4196 kB
      MemShared: 0 kB
      Buffers: 1736 kB
      Cached: 4324 kB
      SwapCached: 0 kB
      Active: 2988 kB
      Inactive: 4324 kB
      HighTotal: 0 kB
      HighFree: 0 kB
      LowTotal: 14412 kB
      LowFree: 4196 kB
      SwapTotal: 0 kB
      SwapFree: 0 kB

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Everything is fine here... It should work, if it does not - send the unit for replacement.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    2,407
    just upgrade your unit using Firmware Recovery modus

    e.g.

    assing static IP to pc (192.168.1.2)
    put cable from WL500g directly into PC (do not attach other stuff)

    fire up firmware restore utility from asus (supplied at cdrom)
    select firmware 1.9.2.7 or something at your harddisk

    press and hold RESTORE button at the back of your wl500g
    plugin the power cable to WL500g
    wait for the POWER to flash

    press start in the utility and it should begin to recover

    My little Asus Collection: Too much to fit inhere, my 2 babies:WL500w 1.9.2.7-10(OLEG) VX2SE Yellow Lamborghini notebook



    WL500g Forum Asus Files OpenDir

    Asusforum.NL -- Asusforum.DE -- Asusforum.RU -- Asusforum.PL -- Asusforum.NET -- Asusforum.EU -- Asusforum.BE -- Asusforum.ES -- Asusforum.INFO

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    13
    @Antiloop
    This is what i called upgrade in 'manual recovery mode' with the utility. Does not work too.

    @all
    There is one thing i didnt notice yet: After successful upload and "preparation" of 1.9.7.2 with the 'recovery utility' the PWR-Led is on. But: It goes off every 8 seconds for a half second.
    Does the Router try to reboot every 8 sec?

    I really hope "not being able to update firmware" is a reason for reclamation. Because the router works properly with 1.7.5.6.

    Thank you all again for your Help!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Quote Originally Posted by lukie
    @all
    There is one thing i didnt notice yet: After successful upload and "preparation" of 1.9.7.2 with the 'recovery utility' the PWR-Led is on. But: It goes off every 8 seconds for a half second.
    Does the Router try to reboot every 8 sec?
    looks like it's rebooting in the loop.
    Have you tried telneting to recover firmware and wiping out nvram?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    13
    I have to say that i know almost nothing about linux and the internals of the router.

    I used your 1.6.5.3 custom Firmware to be able to get a telnet connection. After searching this forum I found two commands 'nvram' and 'nvram_x'.
    I saw that the restore switch sets all variables to default. There were about 170 of them. ('nvram show')
    What do you mean with wipe out nvram? Delete all variables? And how can i recover with telnet? Or did i misunderstand you?

    I also tried your 'wl500g-recover.trx' and 'wl500g-clear-nvram.trx' firmware. Both did end in 'recovery mode'.

    I can use 1.7.5.6 official but NOT your 1.7.5.6-3 firmware; this is strange, because they should not differ much.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Ok, execute this line in the telnet prompt:
    Code:
    mtdutil upgrade /dev/mtd/3 /dev/null
    this will wipe nvram.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. firmware update problems
    By ika in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27-09-2005, 11:40
  2. firmware update problem
    By ika in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27-09-2005, 10:43
  3. Help WLHDD firmware update crash
    By math_67 in forum WL-HDD Q&A
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-06-2005, 15:24
  4. After Firmware Update I can't connect!!
    By realcash in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15-07-2004, 16:46

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •