Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 68

Thread: [HowTo] GPRS/3G/HSDPA/UMTS USB modem Huawei E220 on Asus router

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    1,336

    Thumbs up [HowTo] GPRS/3G/HSDPA/UMTS USB modem Huawei E220 on Asus router

    ATT: This Firmware is outdated. You can use this one: http://code.google.com/p/wl500g/

    The Huawei E220 modem is more and more used as a mobile internet access.
    Well, wouldn't it be nice to have a cheap wireless-router, capable to be installed fast and elsewhere?
    A mobile USB modem and a Linux-Router allows you to achieve it!
    Whether at the alpine-cabin, at the car park, campground or Grandma's, everywhere internet for all!
    The Huawei E220 modem is increasingly used from an unbelieveable amount of isp's throughout the world.
    An adaption of Olegs grandiose firmware called Koppel FW gives you the unique opportunity to turn your low price asus router
    to a full fledged gprs/umts wireless router in an easy way.
    Please read the entire howto before any installation.
    FIRMWARE FOR WL500GPV2 IS AVAILABLE NOW!!
    The firmware is available for Asus Wl500gP, g, gx
    -Download http://koppel.cz/cdmawifi/download (newest adapted, stable Oleg FW)
    -Set at routers web interface, system setup to factory default. (of course apply & finish)
    -Wait for reboot and click at menu system setup 'firmware upgrade' to upload your new firmware (1.71).
    -Please wait several minutes and do not touch/unplug anything.....
    THE LATEST FIRMWARE-RELEASE (1.69) SUPPORTS ALREADY THE HUAWEI E220 MODEM (SINCE 1.68).
    Click on GSM / GPRS and input your data of your isp - done.
    FOR ALL OLDER VERSIONS (<1.68) YOU NEED THE ATTACHED FILE 'dial.huawei.tar.gz' (or if your connection speed is too slow).
    -After reboot choose USB Connection and select User defined.
    -Upload attached user dial-up file 'dial.huawei.tar.gz'
    -Then USB connection, dial-up Config, your username / password / APN / dialin number. (some isp don't need usernames/passwords)
    Then apply and finish.

    After each reboot the router connects automatically to inet. Use the webif to toggle between connect and disconnect.
    Please note, that the modem must be switched with "windows mobile connect" to 3g preferred enabled and pin code disabled.
    If you don't have your dial-in number and/or APN, just google for it or call support line of your isp.

    With newer asus-routers (wl-500gp), perhaps you get a weak or no wireless signal. If this is the case, please log on (telnet) to your router (192.168.1.1) and add
    to your post-boot (stored at /tmp/local/sbin/post-boot) with 'vi /tmp/local/sbin/post-boot' (if you are not firm with vi, google for vi manual, it's easy):

    'wl antdiv 3'

    This allows the router to select the best antenna.
    As usual, store your post-boot with 'flashfs save && flashfs commit && flashfs enable && reboot'.

    This HowTo is an excerpt from english Wl500g forum http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=7318
    and (a german) UMTS Forum http://www.umtslink.at/3g-forum/showthread.php?p=528907
    And last, but not least, many thanks to Oleg and Engy for such a grandiose firmware.
    Have fun.........
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by newbiefan; 03-01-2014 at 08:42.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    1,336
    If somebody want to have the "dial huawei" files with pin code, download from here:
    http://wl500g.info/attachment.php?at...8&d=1206016319

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    1,336
    If your usb modem does not connect or your connection is lost,
    just do a
    Code:
    killall pppd
    and wait a minute, the modem starts immediatly with a new dial in.

    Later I'll post a script which checks inet-connection and reconnects when connection is lost.

    Att.: there is no need to reboot the router!!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    1,336

    HowTo - lost connection - solutions

    There are several ways to go.......
    1.) You reboot your router, but I strongly suggest don't use such a solution.
    When you reboot your router by script, it can end in a continuous
    rebooting device.
    Sometimes it is hard to get a connection to your router.....
    2.) You do just nothing - the regular fw recognise a lost connection within 5
    minutes
    then a new connection is established again.
    3.) You can open a console on your router and enter 'killall pppd'. Wait a
    minute, your router starts a new connection immediatly.
    4.) You write a script to ping a website from time to time and when at least
    dns connection is lost, your script kills pppd and a new connection is
    established soon.
    Below you find all needed files, store file address to '/tmp/etc/' and do
    the appropriate entry in '/tmp/local/.files', then store script 'watch_wan'
    to '/tmp/local/sbin/' and store everything with the well known commands:
    'flashfs save && flashfs commit && flashfs enable && reboot'
    If you want, you can change time between pings, your loglocation aso.,
    just have a closer look at the file 'watch_wan', don't forget to store it
    forever with flashfs....
    5.) You change your gprs file. As written above, there is an automatic
    detection in your koppel firmware, hence you can adjust the time where a
    lost connection is recognized.
    Open vi /tmp/ppp/gprs/gprs (or open gprs with any editor) and change in
    the line lcp-echo-failure 5 the value '5' to '2'.
    Then add to your '/tmp/local/.files' the full path of gprs
    file '/tmp/ppp/gprs/gprs'.
    To store your changed file, do a
    'flashfs save && flashfs commit && flashfs enable && reboot'

    ahhh... don't forget to remove the extensions of the files and rights!
    A chmod 777 /tmp/local/sbin/watch_wan should do the trick.
    Call your watch_wan just with: (post-boot or console)
    '/tmp/local/sbin/watch_wan &' in order to run in background

    Hope it helps...
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by newbiefan; 01-04-2008 at 19:13.

  5. #5

    no usb modem detection

    Usb interfaces problems WL-500GP v2
    When I connect usb modems to my router, it does not recognize nothing, no vendor id , product id.
    I tried with modem onda HS600, nothing,
    SAMSUNG U700(HSDPA) , nothing
    Siemens P990 (UMTS), nothing

    WHen I connect hard disc no problem. I connected HDD IOMEGA 120 Giga no powered, ok.
    I connected 500 G LANCE HDD, external supply, ok
    I also connected an Iphone (it is not a modem) and it was recognized, even without external supply.
    I tried with powered usb hub, but nothing changed.

    Initially I tested with Koppel wl500GP v2 software (see http://koppel.cz/conferences/viewtop...r=asc&start=30). Afterwards I upgraded directly to oleg firmware 10 for WL500GPv2 and I have the same problem.
    Did you ever tested file log with an usb modem in v2?
    Is it a problem of firmware 10?
    I used killall but nothing...

    thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    1,336
    I'm sorry, but I do not own a V2, therefore I can not test it....

  7. #7

    control traffic with 3G connection ? 5Giga/month limit

    Dear all, thank you very much for your work.
    I am starting using WL-500GPV2 with my modem in Italy with a contract.
    I have a limit of 5Giga of traffic per month. Is it possible to control the traffic from the router?
    Is it also possible to check if the connection is with my mobile operator and not with other operators in roaming?
    thanks very much

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    1,336
    Well, this is hard to answer.....
    but let me tell you the following:
    with a bit scripting, it should be possible to control amount of traffic.
    But what do you want to do when limit is reached? Switch off everything?

    Further, a control of roaming or change to an other provider should be possible. For instance - check out the DNS-server addresses of your provider, when dns-addresses are changed, your are in a roaming area. Then you can switch off any connection or allow a connection at a certain time aso. - but everything with scripting.

    Best would be to learn a bit linux and scripting.....

    Hope it helps

  9. #9

    thanks, netmeter for linux maybe in ASUS W500GPV2?

    Dear newbies,
    I think I will try to learn some linux.
    On this forum http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=90959,
    I found the following solutions for ubuntu, concerning traffic control in linux

    Add to Panel > Network Monitor and System Monitor
    Run netmeter in wine under Ubuntu.
    iptables work fine
    vnstat seems
    darkstat,bandwidthd

    do you think those solutions can work for WL500GPV2?
    thanks

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    1,336
    No, it will not work that way.....the systems are totally different.
    An Asus router is an embedded linux device. Of course you can install a lot of different linux software like webserver, fileserver, ftpserver, printserver, torrent, videoserver and so on, but everything must be compiled (crosscompiled) for a so called mipsel-cpu. But there is an unbelieveable amount of precompiled packages - just have a look at this list:
    http://www.nslu2-linux.org/wiki/Optware/Packages

    or a complete list: http://ipkg.nslu2-linux.org/feeds/op.../cross/stable/

    Isn't it amazing?

  11. #11

    Thanks

    I really would like to thank you for your support. I will have a look to those package. I think it will take a while...

  12. #12

    Please write HOWTO step by step for dummies

    Hi,

    I really appreciate your efforts but please write your HOWTO
    step by step with scripting/ scripts
    editing, directories and naming working usb modems/ operators and more.

    Can I use USB hub to have usb harddisk, usb bluetooth or usb gps, usb cell modem in one.
    Do I ned to use extra power supply source ?

    Darius

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    1,336
    Quote Originally Posted by darius View Post

    Can I use USB hub to have usb harddisk, usb bluetooth or usb gps, usb cell modem in one.
    Do I ned to use extra power supply source ?

    Darius
    Why should I know all possible applications and their dependance on each other including their behavior when using any usb device?
    As this firmware is for asus devices (from Oleg) you can use many usb-devices and the related howto.
    Sorry, I'm not god!

    Well, as scripting is always done for a particular solution of a problem, it's very hard to guess your problems. So it means, you have to specify a particular problem and then maybe I or somebody else can help you.

    Further, I'm not able to teach you scripting, it would simply take too long.
    All what I can do is to try to answer for a posted, particular question.

    Therefore I'm awaiting your question or a description of your problem.

    have fun....
    Alle HowTo's, all howto's

    RT-N16 1.9.2.7-rtn-r3121, Samba, VSFTP, Lightthpd, PHP, Perl, MySQL, Serendipity, Aria2web, HDD 640GB
    RT-N66U, 16GB MicroSD/ 2 Partitions, 2,5" HDD 1TB, running with Merlin's FW and Entware, 16 Mbit A1,
    Netgear DGND 3700V2, QNAP TS119PII 4 TB, QNAP TS209 2 TB Raid1, Backup Synology DS107+ 1 TB, HP CP1515n

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by newbiefan View Post
    Why should I know all possible applications and their dependance on each other including their behavior when using any usb device?
    As this firmware is for asus devices (from Oleg) you can use many usb-devices and the related howto.
    Sorry, I'm not god!

    Well, as scripting is always done for a particular solution of a problem, it's very hard to guess your problems. So it means, you have to specify a particular problem and then maybe I or somebody else can help you.

    Further, I'm not able to teach you scripting, it would simply take too long.
    All what I can do is to try to answer for a posted, particular question.

    Therefore I'm awaiting your question or a description of your problem.

    have fun....
    Thanks.
    I don't have any specific problem.
    I would love to read HOWTO one way ( see HOWTO by wengi)
    telling me step by step instructions
    how to set up webcam working ( what cam - link to eBay not to chip code name)
    how to set up standard usb bluetooth working (discovery mode)
    how to get bt gps unit connected to bt dongle
    how to get usb cell modem working
    just step by step HOWTO
    (look at wengis as an excellent example).

    This is one time job, a number of options is limited, number of hardware is limited, so for a knowing man it takes one day to have all such hardware
    connected and working.
    Otherwise, the same work, job is done by hundreds and hundreds do the same job in hundreds days in total.

    Just write one HOWTO for your modem.
    Step by step to let me follow
    and buy such modem on my own and have it working onwe day.
    Linux is not Vista's selfconfiguration PnP .

    thanks
    Darius

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Austria
    Posts
    1,336
    Sorry, I don't write anything, just when I want.
    Further, after 146 posts you should know a bit, how it works with that FW (Olegs/Koppel).
    Almost everything is already done - hence you have to use all the other howto. This Howto is a guideline to install this FW from Koppel, nothing else. You can use wengis howto or any other, they all will work fine with this fw as it is Olegs with some addons.
    So what do you expect?
    All what you have to do is to search and read, thats all!
    And if something is not clear, just ask.
    Alle HowTo's, all howto's

    RT-N16 1.9.2.7-rtn-r3121, Samba, VSFTP, Lightthpd, PHP, Perl, MySQL, Serendipity, Aria2web, HDD 640GB
    RT-N66U, 16GB MicroSD/ 2 Partitions, 2,5" HDD 1TB, running with Merlin's FW and Entware, 16 Mbit A1,
    Netgear DGND 3700V2, QNAP TS119PII 4 TB, QNAP TS209 2 TB Raid1, Backup Synology DS107+ 1 TB, HP CP1515n

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Asus RT-N16 & LTE 4G/3G/CDMA modem
    By ua1onp in forum Russian Discussion - РУССКИЙ (RU)
    Replies: 111
    Last Post: 18-08-2017, 17:49
  2. Asus WL-330N3G Travel Router - 3G Router из коробки
    By Romtron in forum Russian Discussion - РУССКИЙ (RU)
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 09-09-2013, 15:38
  3. [HowTo] Use Dropbox to download torrents on router
    By ryzhov_al in forum WL-500gP Tutorials
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13-01-2013, 10:54
  4. 3G USB Modem + Asus
    By dziadek in forum Polish Discussion - Polski (PL)
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 20-10-2012, 08:21
  5. HOWTO use your WL-500g as IPv6 router
    By phedny in forum WL-500g/WL-500gx Tutorials
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 17-02-2008, 08:19

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •