Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: WebCam Problem:Logitech QuickCam Pro 4000

Logitech webcam sphere remote control : any experiences?

Since I tried a couple of webcams on my router which didn't work, I'm looking to buy a new one. I noticed that the logitech quickcam sphere is supported as of PWC 8.12., which has features to control the cam. Being a total linux noob, I'm trying to figure out what I would need:

- the quickcam sphere obviously
    - PWC 8.12: is it possible to put it in the firmware?
    - for remote control I probably need a new webpage instead of the default cam-page

Can this be done? I have no idea how to build my own firmware, but would it be possible to put the driver and page on my external usb disk?

very short answer: yes/yes

when i'll finish my router directory i'll compile the new pwc, as i need too a new version (logitech quickcam pro 4000)

My little Asus Collection: Too much to fit inhere, my 2 babies:WL500w 1.9.2.7-10(OLEG) VX2SE Yellow Lamborghini notebook

WL500g Forum Asus Files OpenDir

Asusforum.NL -- Asusforum.DE -- Asusforum.RU -- Asusforum.PL -- Asusforum.NET -- Asusforum.EU -- Asusforum.BE -- Asusforum.ES -- Asusforum.INFO

Great. I was thinking of the 4000 pro as well, but since the sphere is a bit nicer... The 4000 doesn't work with the current 8.8?

current is 8.6

somebody reported the logitech 4000 as working, don't know how he got it working..

but mine is not recognized by the current 8.6 pwc (according to the pwc it should only work from 8.8)

My little Asus Collection: Too much to fit inhere, my 2 babies:WL500w 1.9.2.7-10(OLEG) VX2SE Yellow Lamborghini notebook

Asusforum.NL -- Asusforum.DE -- Asusforum.RU -- Asusforum.PL -- Asusforum.NET -- Asusforum.EU -- Asusforum.BE -- Asusforum.ES -- Asusforum.INFO

My webcam (Philips ToUCam Pro) functions fine with the current official firmware, though, can't select 640x480; which should be possible too. Hopefully a new costumized firmware can do that.