Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: wan port dies - or not???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    32

    Question wan port dies - or not???

    hey!

    I'm not sure if it's the famous "wan dies" issue but I have the following problem:

    - Wl-500g running in Homegateway mode connected to Cable Modem with fixed IP and fixed DNS
    - Running the busybox_httpd via firewall rule 8080 -> 80 from outside (in post-boot and post-firewall scripts)
    - Running samba (in post-boot script)
    - Running on Auto speed (don't know what speed my cable modem is running on)
    - upgraded from 1.8.1.7-2a to 1.8.1.7-3 (must admit that the first upgrade failed so I did it a 2nd time and it succeeded then)

    After that upgrade my WAN connection doesn't come up at boot time anymore, only pressing the "disconnect/connect" buttons (although it says "conneced" in the link status field) in the webconsole subsequently, connection is being established. After a short time of web browsing (no huge data transfers) WAN connection is lost again, bringing it back up only with the buttons in the web console.

    Also tried
    Code:
    et -i eth1 down/up
    (thought it's similar to the buttons...)
    as well as
    Code:
    et -i eth1 speed 10half/10full/100half/100full
    but with no effect, only buttons work.

    Tried also the following with no effect:
    - installing 1.8.1.7-3 in recovery mode
    - resetting to factory defaults via web console
    - downgrading to 1.8.1.7-2a
    - installing 1.8.2.4
    - setting number of max connections to 4096

    Also typing
    Code:
    et -i eth1 dump
    only brings up a "?" or an empty line, I don't know what that means...

    The only thing I noticed is that all trouble begins when flashfs comes into work, i.e. after upgrading I set up the scripts and use flashfs (save, commit, enable, reboot) and after that WAN connection is lost.
    Then the post-firewall script is not executed anymore and samba does not work (many smbd processes open up, but isn't this a different issue?...I also have two unknown "ping" processes, but I think I'm getting paranoid )

    Sadly
    Code:
    flashfs disable
    and rebooting doesn't do the trick either....

    Could it be that I messed up flashfs upon the failed upgrade? Can I recover it in any ways or do a total cleanup? Is there a way to monitor when the WAN dies?

    Meanwhile I don't know where to look at anymore and what to try next, all I tried didn't bring my any further....

    cheers, thomas.
    Last edited by piri; 10-12-2004 at 17:33.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    32
    I just found out that it also must have something to do with DNS resolution:

    - After rebooting only websites that I surfed before reboot seem to work (must be somewhere in a cache), all others don't.
    - But pinging them in the wl500g telnet console works i.e WAN connection is indeed established, only the DNS lookup failed.
    - Typing the correspoding IP address in the address field of the browser also worked...

    ... but: after a certain time the WAN finally died, i.e. even IP addresses were not pingable via telnet anymore

    Now I'm totally confused....
    cheers, thomas.
    Last edited by piri; 10-12-2004 at 17:29.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Well, flashfs itself does not cause any problems, your scripts could cause problems.
    type "flashfs disable" and reboot your router. Check status then.
    If it still does not work, post system log and ps ax output here.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,307
    I praise your effords to find a solution for your problem yourself.

    I don't think you have the 'WAN dies' problem, certainly if you can still ping an IP address (whithout resolving) while you have the problem. You might try to setup a different DNS server for your WL-500g, or try the set it on your Windows box.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    32
    Thanks for your quick replies guys,

    In the meantime I tried the following:

    - Resetting the router to defaults, rebooting
    - Making a "clean" install of 1.8.1.7-3 via recovery tool
    - Resetting and rebooting
    - Editing my settings in web console
    - Rebooting

    Didn't touch the flashfs, still not working, only could get it to life with connect/disconnect buttons...ping isnt working either....

    Here's the dmesg output after a reboot:

    Code:
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: klogd started: BusyBox v1.00 (2004.11.14-18:33+0000)
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: CPU revision is: 00024000
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: Loading BCM4710 MMU routines.
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: Primary instruction cache 8kb, linesize 16 bytes (2 ways)
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: Primary data cache 4kb, linesize 16 bytes (2 ways)
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: Linux version 2.4.20 (root@omnibook) (gcc version 3.2.3 with Broadcom modifications) #3 Wed Nov 10 22:17:25 MSK 2004
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: Determined physical RAM map:
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel:  memory: 01000000 @ 00000000 (usable)
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: On node 0 totalpages: 4096
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: zone(0): 4096 pages.
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: zone(1): 0 pages.
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: zone(2): 0 pages.
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: Kernel command line: root=/dev/mtdblock2 noinitrd init=/linuxrc console=ttyS0,115200
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: CPU: BCM4710 rev 0 at 125 MHz
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: !unable to setup serial console!
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: Calibrating delay loop... 82.94 BogoMIPS
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: Mount-cache hash table entries: 512 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: Buffer-cache hash table entries: 1024 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: Page-cache hash table entries: 4096 (order: 2, 16384 bytes)
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: Checking for 'wait' instruction...  unavailable.
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: POSIX conformance testing by UNIFIX
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: PCI: Fixing up bus 0
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: PCI: Fixing up bridge
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: PCI: Fixing up bus 1
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: Initializing RT netlink socket
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: Starting kswapd
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: NTFS driver v1.1.22 [Flags: R/O]
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: pty: 256 Unix98 ptys configured
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel:  Amd/Fujitsu Extended Query Table v1.1 at 0x0040
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: Physically mapped flash: Swapping erase regions for broken CFI table.
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: number of CFI chips: 1
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: Flash device: 0x400000 at 0x1fc00000
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: Physically mapped flash: squashfs filesystem found at block 1101
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: Creating 5 MTD partitions on "Physically mapped flash":
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: 0x00000000-0x00040000 : "pmon"
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: 0x00040000-0x003e0000 : "linux"
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: 0x001137f4-0x003e0000 : "rootfs"
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: 0x003f0000-0x00400000 : "nvram"
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: 0x003e0000-0x003f0000 : "config"
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: sflash: chipcommon not found
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: ip_conntrack version 2.1 (128 buckets, 1024 max) - 344 bytes per conntrack
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: ip_conntrack_pptp version 1.9 loaded
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: ip_nat_pptp version 1.5 loaded
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: ip_tables: (C) 2000-2002 Netfilter core team
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: ipt_time loading
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: 802.1Q VLAN Support v1.7 Ben Greear <greearb@candelatech.com>
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: All bugs added by David S. Miller <davem@redhat.com>
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: FAT: bogus logical sector size 33024
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: FAT: bogus logical sector size 33024
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: NTFS: Unable to set blocksize 512.
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: VFS: Mounted root (squashfs filesystem) readonly.
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: Warning: unable to open an initial console.
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: Algorithmics/MIPS FPU Emulator v1.5
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: eth0: Broadcom BCM47xx 10/100 Mbps Ethernet Controller 1.3.2.0
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: default: 1a60
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: eth1: Broadcom BCM47xx 10/100 Mbps Ethernet Controller 1.3.2.0
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: PCI: Enabling device 01:02.0 (0004 -> 0006)
    Dec 31 13:00:01 kernel: eth2: Broadcom BCM4320 802.11 Wireless Controller 1.3.2.0
    Dec 31 13:00:02 kernel: usb.c: USB device 2 (vend/prod 0x781/0x7104) is not claimed by any active driver.
    Dec 31 13:00:04 kernel:   Vendor: Generic   Model: STORAGE DEVICE    Rev: 1033
    Dec 31 13:00:04 kernel:   Type:   Direct-Access                      ANSI SCSI revision: 02
    Dec 31 13:00:04 kernel: Attached scsi removable disk sda at scsi0, channel 0, id 0, lun 0
    Dec 31 13:00:04 kernel: SCSI device sda: 512000 512-byte hdwr sectors (262 MB)
    Dec 31 13:00:04 kernel: sda: Write Protect is off
    Dec 31 13:00:05 kernel: default: 3a60
    Dec 31 13:00:05 kernel: lp driver: get device ID
    Dec 31 13:00:05 kernel: neg fail
    Dec 31 13:00:07 kernel: Adpt 2 c000
    Dec 31 13:00:08 kernel: Adpt 1 c010
    Dec 10 06:54:46 kernel: Adpt 0 c010
    Dec 10 06:54:47 kernel: Link up c010 8110
    Dec 10 06:54:47 kernel: Adpt ffffffff 8110
    Dec 10 06:54:48 kernel: lp driver: get device ID
    Dec 10 06:54:48 kernel: neg fail
    Dec 10 17:54:48 kernel: neg fail
    Dec 10 17:54:52 ntp client: time is synchronized to time.nist.gov 
    Dec 10 17:54:52 kernel: VFS: Can't find ext3 filesystem on dev sd(8,1).
    Dec 10 17:54:52 kernel: MSDOS FS: Using codepage 950
    Dec 10 17:54:52 kernel: MSDOS FS: IO charset cp950
    Dec 10 17:54:53 USB storage: vfat fs mounted to /tmp/harddisk 
    Dec 10 06:54:53 kernel: ext3: No journal on filesystem on sd(8,2)
    Dec 10 06:54:53 kernel: MSDOS FS: Using codepage 950
    Dec 10 06:54:53 kernel: MSDOS FS: IO charset cp950
    Dec 10 06:54:53 kernel: FAT: bogus logical sector size 0
    Dec 10 06:54:53 kernel: VFS: Can't find a valid FAT filesystem on dev 08:02.
    Dec 10 06:54:53 kernel: FAT: freeing iocharset=cp950
    Dec 10 06:54:53 kernel: FAT: bogus logical sector size 0
    Dec 10 06:54:53 kernel: VFS: Can't find a valid FAT filesystem on dev 08:02.
    And here the ps ax output

    Code:
      PID  Uid     VmSize Stat Command
        1 piri        576 S   /sbin/init 
        2 piri            SW  [keventd]
        3 piri            RWN [ksoftirqd_CPU0]
        4 piri            SW  [kswapd]
        5 piri            SW  [bdflush]
        6 piri            SW  [kupdated]
        8 piri            SW  [mtdblockd]
       37 piri        296 S   telnetd 
       43 piri        376 S   httpd eth1 
       44 piri        488 S   nas /tmp/nas.lan.conf /tmp/nas.lan.pid lan 
       46 piri        356 S   syslogd -m 0 -O /tmp/syslog.log -S -l 6 
       49 piri        312 S   klogd 
       50 nobody      472 S   dnsmasq 
       51 piri            SW  [khubd]
       61 piri        276 S   lpd 
       65 piri        248 S   p9100d -f /dev/usb/lp0 0 
       66 piri        248 S   p9101d -f /dev/printers/0 1 
       70 piri            SW  [usb-storage-0]
       71 piri            SW  [scsi_eh_0]
       79 piri        316 S   infosvr br0 
       80 piri        460 S   watchdog 
       82 piri        336 S   ntp 
       86 piri        504 S   -sh 
       91 piri        400 S   stupid-ftpd 
       96 piri        364 R   ps ax
    @Styno, the DNS Servers are those provided by my Cable ISP, I also have them entered in the IP Config Settings of the router....when connecting WAN directly to my Powerbook with those settings everything works fine....

    thanks a lot &
    cheers, thomas

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Eindhoven
    Posts
    2,407
    how do you configure your router?

    by putting back your saved configuration file?

    My little Asus Collection: Too much to fit inhere, my 2 babies:WL500w 1.9.2.7-10(OLEG) VX2SE Yellow Lamborghini notebook



    WL500g Forum Asus Files OpenDir

    Asusforum.NL -- Asusforum.DE -- Asusforum.RU -- Asusforum.PL -- Asusforum.NET -- Asusforum.EU -- Asusforum.BE -- Asusforum.ES -- Asusforum.INFO

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Looks like you've static IP address for connection?
    wl500g is working fine, at least it's able to synchronize clocks
    Code:
    Dec 10 17:54:52 ntp client: time is synchronized to time.nist.gov
    Do you've any firewall on your PC?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    NL
    Posts
    206
    Supposing your computer is not running DHCP or DNS server try this:

    On your modem:

    Enable DHCP
    Enable DNS server

    On your router:
    WAN IP: Get automically
    Get DNS server automatically:Yes
    If you have a Speedtouch modem the DNS server will probably be 10.0.0.138 if you need to set it manually

    LAN DHCP: Enable
    DNS and WINS server: leave blank or use 192.168.1.1 for DNS and leave other fields blank

    WLAN DHCP disable Wireless firewall if you have it in your firmware.

    On your workstation: Get IP automatically, preferred DNS servers either leave blank or enter 192.168.1.1, renew IP adress

    If this doesn't work check you firewall config.
    Brubber

    WL-500g, WL-138g, WL-160g

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    32
    First of all thanks a lot guys for all your help!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Antiloop
    how do you configure your router?

    by putting back your saved configuration file?
    No, to be on the safe side I entered all settings manually...

    Quote Originally Posted by Oleg
    Do you've any firewall on your PC?
    Only the one from WL-500g, which is enabled by default...

    Quote Originally Posted by brubber
    On your modem:

    Enable DHCP
    Enable DNS server
    I have a Cable modem with a static IP which only can be remotely configured by my ISP (chello), who also provides me with DNS servers, which I enter in the WL-500g IP Config along with my static IP address and gateway.

    I noticed that a short time after rebooting everything works fine (Maybe when a certain module during bootup hasnt been loaded yet...), then this DNS problem occurs and a while after (say ca. 10 mins) WAN connection finally dies...

    cheers, thomas

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    32
    Now I got it: DNS requests from WAN to LAN/WLAN are not processed anymore, i.e. www.chupa.nl is pingable on the router, but not on the client machines (hostname not found).
    I tried to restart dnsmasq (because it came closest to those processes I thought they were responsible for DNS resolving, though I really don't know...), but with no effect. Only disconnect/reconnect buttons help.

    When I enter one WAN DNS server in the 1st field of the DNS Servers in the DHCP Section of IP Config in the Web Console, everything works fine, except the name of WL-500g (i.e. my.router) is not resolved anymore.

    Quote Originally Posted by piri
    I also have two unknown "ping" processes, but I think I'm getting paranoid
    Also my router has now three open ping processes to 140.113.1.1 (ns1.NCTU.edu.tw, National Chiao Tung University), could it be that I have been hacked?????

    I'm really disappointed
    cheers, thomas.
    Last edited by piri; 11-12-2004 at 10:50.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    32
    Oleg, can you please explain what services are responsible for DNS and DHCP for LAN/WLAN that I can take a closer look into.

    It's still so that after a router reboot a WAN DNS lookup is not possible on the LAN/WLAN clients through the DNS server 192.168.1.1. Only after a disconntect/connect sequence via web console (I wonder what those buttons do, I haven't found a working command line equivalent so far ) it works fine...

    Also after pressing those buttons that magic ping processes to 140.113.1.1 come up (I really wonder if thats something to do with above issue), I wish I could find the config file where this IP address is located

    thanks a lot for your help so far,
    cheers, thomas.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Please type
    Code:
    cat /etc/dnsmasq.conf
    and post results here.
    Both DHCP and DNS stuff are handled by dnsmasq.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    32
    thanks oleg, i suspected that....

    here is my dnsmasq.conf:

    Code:
    user=nobody
    interface=br0
    dhcp-leasefile=/tmp/dnsmasq.log
    dhcp-range=lan,192.168.1.2,192.168.1.254,86400
    read-ethers
    dhcp-authoritative
    also took a glimpse into /tmp/dnsmasq.log, where both my external nameservers reside, so no anomalies to the dnsmasq specification, which i found @ www.thekelleys.co.uk

    i wonder why dnsmasq is unable to route LAN dns requests from 192.168.1.1 to my external nameservers after a reboot and why the connect/disconnect buttons eliminate that problem...

    thanks again for your patience,
    cheers, thomas.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Also, I need this:
    Code:
    cat /etc/resolv.conf
    cat /etc/ethers
    cat /etc/hosts
    iptables -L -v -n
    You may try running nslookup on the router:

    Code:
    nslookup www.chupa.nl 127.0.0.1

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    32

    starcraft(battle.net)

    i think i found the reason....

    found out that only when I disable the Starcraft(Battle.Net) option in the DMZ properties page of the web console, the problem of not resolving DNS entries between WAN and LAN occurs.

    for my understanding and by comparing the iptables output for the option enabled and disabled, all an enabled battle.net setting does is adding the following entries to the iptables chains:

    Code:
    FORWARD
    0     0 ACCEPT     udp  --  *      *       0.0.0.0/0            0.0.0.0/0          udp dpt:6112
    
    PREROUTING
    0     0 NETMAP     udp  --  *      *       0.0.0.0/0            84.113.4.16        udp spt:6112 192.168.1.0/24
    
    POSTROUTING   
    0     0 NETMAP     udp  --  *      *       192.168.1.0/24       0.0.0.0/0          udp dpt:6112 84.113.4.16/32
    All other chains keep unchanged.
    For my setup that means that not having these entries in the iptables chains all external DNS requests between WAN and LAN are not resolved....very strange....

    The files your requested show no anomalies to me though...

    /etc/resolv.conf contains the two entries of my nameservers in the form
    Code:
    nameserver <dns ip address1>
    nameserver <dns ip address2>
    /etc/group contains my statically mapped mac to ip addresses in the form
    Code:
    <macaddr1> 192.168.1.2
    <macaddr2> 192.168.1.3
    <macaddr3> 192.168.1.4
    <macaddr4> 192.168.1.5
    /etc/hosts says
    Code:
    127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
    192.168.1.1 batarillofred my.router my.WL500g

    Do you have any explaination for this behaviour?
    cheers, thomas.
    Last edited by piri; 15-12-2004 at 12:03.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 25
    Last Post: 16-08-2005, 01:38
  2. Wan port dies (or something else wrong)
    By Vertygo in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 26-07-2005, 13:13
  3. WAN port dies
    By ela002 in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-05-2005, 10:19
  4. WAN port dies - fixing speed
    By Oleg in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: 03-04-2005, 03:19
  5. WAN port dies after a time of traffic
    By Phantome in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 101
    Last Post: 16-10-2004, 04:59

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •