Page 12 of 12 FirstFirst ... 2101112
Results 166 to 174 of 174

Thread: Custom 1.0.7.8 firmware is ready to download

  1. #166
    sorry for the missing err msg. i'll post it in the evening when i'm at home :-)

    it was something like wget: missing URL
    wget Ussage: bla bla

    I also tried wget -d -P http://nslu2..../Packages.gz, but the same err. msg.

    Here is the error msg:
    ---
    [root@server /]$ ipkg update
    Downloading http://ipkg.nslu2-linux.org/feeds/op...le/Packages.gz
    wget: missing URL
    Usage: wget [OPTION]... [URL]...

    Try `wget --help' for more options.
    An error ocurred, return value: 1.
    Collected errors:
    ipkg_download: ERROR: Command failed with return value 1: `wget -q -P http://ipkg.nslu2-linux.org/feeds/optware/oleg/cross/stable/Packages.gz'
    WARNING: Unable to remove temporary directory: : No such file or directory
    ---
    and here with wget:
    ---
    [root@server /]$ wget http://ipkg.nslu2-linux.org/feeds/optware/oleg/cross/stable/Packages.gz--16:02:35-- http://ipkg.nslu2-linux.org/feeds/optware/oleg/cross/stable/Packages.gz
    => `Packages.gz'
    Resolving ipkg.nslu2-linux.org... 140.211.169.169
    Connecting to ipkg.nslu2-linux.org|140.211.169.169|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
    Length: 100,368 (98K) [application/x-gzip]
    Packages.gz: Permission denied

    Cannot write to `Packages.gz' (No such file or directory).

    I've tried to post my error msg yesterday. but it didn't work *?*

    The error is, that I (root) did not have write permission! "ipkg update" can not write. "ls -la" or "mount" shows me that I have wirte permission. "touch test.txt" did not work - no permission !?!

    When I open a file (for ex. etc/hosts) and edit it. That works. I can edit and save it back.

    What is that, that the root user does not have write permission.
    Last edited by Omega; 05-06-2013 at 21:49. Reason: 2 posts merged

  2. #167
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    244

    Exclamation Read only for root

    Quote Originally Posted by Payton View Post
    What is that, that the root user does not have write permission.
    Probably this:
    without copying /opt to /shares/MYVOLUME1/opt you will be left with a read-only, not-writable directory /opt.
    Please see also:
    http://wl500g.info/showpost.php?p=81432&postcount=94

    Regards,
    Marc

  3. #168
    Quote Originally Posted by mumsoft View Post
    Probably this:
    without copying /opt to /shares/MYVOLUME1/opt you will be left with a read-only, not-writable directory /opt.
    Please see also:
    http://wl500g.info/showpost.php?p=81432&postcount=94

    Regards,
    Marc
    Ok, thank you. I'll try it.
    Another question: In the original ASUS firmware only the generated user can access the ftp. but in kc's also the admin can log in.
    where can I configure that, that only those users which I have "made" can log in to the ftp?

    OK, thank you. worked great - but:
    now, after i could update and upgrade all the pakages. i can not login via ssh. only telnet. how can i fix this? thanks a lot!
    Last edited by Omega; 05-06-2013 at 21:51. Reason: 2 posts merged

  4. #169
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    244

    Thumbs down dropbear shuffle

    Quote Originally Posted by Payton View Post
    OK, thank you. worked great - but:
    now, after i could update and upgrade all the pakages. i can not login via ssh. only telnet. how can i fix this? thanks a lot!
    I did what you did. That is, first I logged in with ssh. No problem.
    Then I did ipkg update. No problem.
    The I did ipkg upgrade. Problem....
    I had my Asus left alone quite a while, so apparently also dropbear (that does the ssh shuffle) was upgraded. When ipkg tried to configure it, I got:
    Code:
    Configuring dropbear
    
    mkdir: cannot create directory '/root': Operation not permitted
    and I was thrown out!
    And like you I could not get in anymore with ssh. After login in with telnet I could not do sudo.
    To fix this:
    Login with telnet as root
    do ipkg upgrade once more. You'll notice that ipkg does it all over. But now it can finish gracefully.

    Here ends my lesson. Ugh, that is wrong. Should we have to conclude that upgrading is only safe with telnet?

    Regards
    Marc

  5. #170
    Code:
    Configuring dropbear
    
    mkdir: cannot create directory '/root': Operation not permitted
    That's the same msg i get.

    But when i try again with telnet, ipkg sad that there is no upgrade needed.
    The only way that helps me is to remove the opt directory from shares/MY...
    reboot and copy the opt again.
    if i directly upgrade ipkg from telnet it shows the same err msg again.

    when i upgrade ipkg without upgrading dropbear and sudo (keep current version) than its ok. but also it shows the err msg!
    Last edited by Payton; 26-04-2008 at 11:11.

  6. #171
    Quote Originally Posted by Payton View Post
    Code:
    Configuring dropbear
    
    mkdir: cannot create directory '/root': Operation not permitted
    That's the same msg i get.

    But when i try again with telnet, ipkg sad that there is no upgrade needed.
    The only way that helps me is to remove the opt directory from shares/MY...
    reboot and copy the opt again.
    if i directly upgrade ipkg from telnet it shows the same err msg again.

    when i upgrade ipkg without upgrading dropbear and sudo (keep current version) than its ok. but also it shows the err msg!
    I had the same experience when I run ipkg upgrade. I have tried to re-set administrator password via web interface and my SSH is back now. Also one has to keep in mind that it takes pretty a while when the router boots up and dropbear is started (something like 3-4min).

  7. #172
    i know that
    but in my case it is not a password problem. the ssh port 22 is rejected.
    i'm not a pro in linux - only a greenhorn
    so i do not know a lot about that what ipkg does or what i can do to reconfigure dropbear.

    i only want to keep my packages up to date and install and configure syslog-ng. i found a thread for installing and configure syslog-ng. but that didnt work for me.

    so i'll keep try'in

    and thanks a lot for your help!
    Last edited by Payton; 26-04-2008 at 12:24.

  8. #173
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    244
    Quote Originally Posted by Payton View Post
    i only want to keep my packages up to date and install and configure syslog-ng. i found a thread for installing and configure syslog-ng. but that didnt work for me.
    Do you mean this thread?
    http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=10394

    I have syslog-ng installed and configured it with this info. (Although I never bothered to get it running, because i don't use the Asus as my primary router)

    Rgds
    Marc

  9. #174
    Quote Originally Posted by mumsoft View Post
    Do you mean this thread?
    http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=10394

    I have syslog-ng installed and configured it with this info. (Although I never bothered to get it running, because i don't use the Asus as my primary router)

    Rgds
    Marc
    You're right.
    For what ist?
    2. edit the postinstall-script - take no effect
    3. finish the ipkg installation - take no effect

    EDIT: Now it works...
    Last edited by Payton; 26-04-2008 at 18:22.

Page 12 of 12 FirstFirst ... 2101112

Similar Threads

  1. Installing Optware Packages on Asus Firmware 1.0.7.8
    By emailpr in forum WL-700g Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16-01-2008, 02:13
  2. wan to lan filter on default firmware 1.0.7.8?
    By nully in forum WL-700g Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-11-2007, 00:36
  3. Custom Firmware v1.1.2.7
    By JOCKYW2001 in forum WL-HDD Firmware Releases
    Replies: 59
    Last Post: 11-12-2004, 13:26

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •