Page 10 of 12 FirstFirst ... 89101112 LastLast
Results 136 to 150 of 174

Thread: Custom 1.0.7.8 firmware is ready to download

  1. #136
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    244
    Quote Originally Posted by darbid View Post
    Yes my linix command crash course has led me to the chmod command. And I have done exactly what you have said only worse: I did it all the way along.

    chmod -R ugo=rwx /shares

    but still no luck.

    OOPPPPS you need to reboot and then the above worked. Ok if anyone would like to give me a little hint about which directory I need to give permissions to and which I can reverse to what it was like before?
    Brrrr. Ok, the hint. /shares/MYVOLUME1/MYSHARE1/<your choice>
    Because you took /shares you have changed the rights for all there is. Apart from starting all over I don't think it's easy to revert your changes.
    But maybe someone pops up with a script to do so.

    Regards
    Marc

  2. #137
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    244

    Question Questions for KFurge...

    Dear KFurge,

    Can you tell why the Asus takes so long to reach the point where the ready light blinks? It takes a mere 3 minutes. Is it busy to check the filesystem, or what?
    Also, is it possible (in the next relaese) to get rid of the first telnet deamon? It is unsafe, and it confuses many people when 'you' start the safer version. This counts more because it takes so long to boot.
    And why is the ready light on, long before it executes my rc.local? What does ready mean here?

    Ok, questions you might not know answers for, but I'll appreciate it if you have some.

    Another question. When I log in as myself (admin), I have KCSHELL as variable, because I made a .profile in /opt/home/marc. I also did this for root, that has /opt/home/root as home dir. Now with sudo bash -l I have KCSHELL as root. But, you guess, after rebooting the home-dir of root is changed to /, no .profile is executed, and hence I don't have KCSHELL after sudo bash -l.
    I found that /opt/etc/init.kc/fix_passwd.sh is to blame...

    Regards
    Marc
    Last edited by mumsoft; 25-03-2008 at 22:28. Reason: another question

  3. #138

    i can't login anymore

    I don't know why it wont let me login anymore
    when i try to login to root using sudo bash -l
    i get
    Password:
    admin is not in the sudoers file. This incident will be reported.
    [admin@WL700gE /]$
    ??? any reason why this could be happing?

    I checked my sudoers file and it seems fine

    [admin@WL700gE /]$ vi opt/etc/sudoers

    # Host alias specification

    # User alias specification

    # Cmnd alias specification

    # Defaults specification

    # Runas alias specification

    # User privilege specification
    root ALL=(ALL) ALL

    # Uncomment to allow people in group wheel to run all commands
    # %wheel ALL=(ALL) ALL

    # Same thing without a password
    # %wheel ALL=(ALL) NOPASSWD: ALL

    # Samples
    # %users ALL=/sbin/mount /cdrom,/sbin/umount /cdrom
    # %users localhost=/sbin/shutdown -h now
    _______
    I have no clue how one day i can't just login anymore? But if i login as "root" and type my web interface password everything works fine. login as: root
    root@76.206.254.162's password:
    [root@WL700gE /]$

    ___
    I just can't switch from admin@WL700gE to root. ? any thoughts on this would be cool.
    Last edited by Fullback; 30-03-2008 at 09:25. Reason: more helps

  4. #139
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    244
    Quote Originally Posted by Fullback View Post
    I don't know why it wont let me login anymore
    when i try to login to root using sudo bash -l
    i get
    Password:
    admin is not in the sudoers file. This incident will be reported.
    [admin@WL700gE /]$
    ??? any reason why this could be happing?

    I checked my sudoers file and it seems fine

    [admin@WL700gE /]$ vi opt/etc/sudoers

    # Host alias specification

    # User alias specification

    # Cmnd alias specification

    # Defaults specification

    # Runas alias specification

    # User privilege specification
    root ALL=(ALL) ALL

    # Uncomment to allow people in group wheel to run all commands
    # %wheel ALL=(ALL) ALL

    # Same thing without a password
    # %wheel ALL=(ALL) NOPASSWD: ALL

    # Samples
    # %users ALL=/sbin/mount /cdrom,/sbin/umount /cdrom
    # %users localhost=/sbin/shutdown -h now
    _______
    I have no clue how one day i can't just login anymore? But if i login as "root" and type my web interface password everything works fine. login as: root
    root@76.206.254.162's password:
    [root@WL700gE /]$

    ___
    I just can't switch from admin@WL700gE to root. ? any thoughts on this would be cool.
    I have this:
    # sudoers file.
    #
    # This file MUST be edited with the 'visudo' command as root.
    #
    # See the sudoers man page for the details on how to write a sudoers file.
    #

    # Host alias specification

    # User alias specification

    # Cmnd alias specification

    # Defaults specification

    # prevent environment variables from influencing programs in an
    # unexpected or harmful way (CVE-2005-2959, CVE-2005-4158,
    # CVE-2006-0151)
    Defaults always_set_home
    Defaults env_reset

    # In the default (unconfigured) configuration, sudo asks for the root password.
    # This allows use of an ordinary user account for administration of a freshly
    # installed system. When configuring sudo, delete the two
    # following lines:
    Defaults targetpw # ask for the password of the target user i.e. root
    ALL ALL=(ALL) ALL # WARNING! Only use this together with 'Defaults targetpw'!

    # Runas alias specification

    # User privilege specification
    root ALL=(ALL) ALL

    # Uncomment to allow people in group wheel to run all commands
    # %wheel ALL=(ALL) ALL

    # Same thing without a password
    # %wheel ALL=(ALL) NOPASSWD: ALL

    # Samples
    # %users ALL=/sbin/mount /cdrom,/sbin/umount /cdrom
    # %users localhost=/sbin/shutdown -h now

    Not an expert here. But I think you miss the ALL-part (and some defaults).
    If you log in as admin (you'd better change this, make it you first name or so, and CHANGE the default password), admin is not listed in the sudoers file, so it can not do this.
    Maybe I changed my sudoers file way back:
    ls -l /opt/etc/sudoers
    -r--r----- 1 root root 1180 Mar 4 2007 /opt/etc/sudoers

    Thinking this over, it might be a good idea to replace ALL ALL=(ALL) ALL with something like marc ALL=(ALL) ALL. But I must stress that I'm not an expert. I always use su in Suse as a (nasty) habit.

    Regards
    Marc

  5. #140
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Alkmaar, Netherlands.
    Posts
    14

    Problem with Installing / deleting

    I have a problem with installing Twonkymediaserver.

    I have a Wl700ge Met Kfurge 1.0.7.8 Firmware.
    Every time i want to start twonky i get the messages "premission denied"
    Also it is not possible for me to delete a directory/file using browse shares.

    What am i doing wrong?
    How do i get full controle over the Wl700ge ?

    Here is a exaple of my telnet session.

    [admin@WL700gE /]$ ls
    apps foreign_shares proc usr
    bin lib sbin var
    dev mnt shares www
    etc opt tmp
    [admin@WL700gE /]$
    [admin@WL700gE /]$ cd shares
    [admin@WL700gE shares]$
    [admin@WL700gE shares]$ cd MYVOLUME1
    [admin@WL700gE MYVOLUME1]$
    [admin@WL700gE MYVOLUME1]$ cd MYSHARE1
    [admin@WL700gE MYSHARE1]$
    [admin@WL700gE MYSHARE1]$ cd Twonkyvision
    [admin@WL700gE Twonkyvision]$
    [admin@WL700gE Twonkyvision]$ ./twonkymediaserver
    -bash: ./twonkymediaserver: Permission denied
    [admin@WL700gE Twonkyvision]$
    [admin@WL700gE Twonkyvision]$ chmod 755 twonkymediaserver
    chmod: twonkymediaserver: Operation not permitted
    [admin@WL700gE Twonkyvision]$
    [admin@WL700gE Twonkyvision]$

    greetings.

    Rick

  6. #141
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    244
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick View Post
    I have a problem with installing Twonkymediaserver.

    I have a Wl700ge Met Kfurge 1.0.7.8 Firmware.
    Every time i want to start twonky i get the messages "premission denied"
    Also it is not possible for me to delete a directory/file using browse shares.

    What am i doing wrong?
    How do i get full controle over the Wl700ge ?

    Here is a exaple of my telnet session.

    [admin@WL700gE Twonkyvision]$ ./twonkymediaserver
    -bash: ./twonkymediaserver: Permission denied
    [admin@WL700gE Twonkyvision]$
    [admin@WL700gE Twonkyvision]$ chmod 755 twonkymediaserver
    chmod: twonkymediaserver: Operation not permitted

    greetings.

    Rick
    First, admin is not root. You should login as root, or sudo bash -l to get root-rights
    Second, why did you put twonky in the standard share directory? I have installed mine in /opt/share/TwonkyMedia, so that it is not reachable with smb. That's more save. If I recall, I just unzipped twonkymedia-mss-4.4.4.zip, and in my rc.local I have:
    Code:
     #Start Twonkymedia, needs original library_path
     /opt/share/TwonkyMedia/twonkymedia &
    
     export PATH=/opt/bin:/opt/sbin:/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin
     export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/lib:/apps/lib:/apps/usr/gift-nasoc/lib
     export KCSHELL=/opt/bin/bash
    Regard,
    Marc

  7. #142
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Alkmaar, Netherlands.
    Posts
    14

    Delete files

    I managed to get Twonky working.

    but now i want to delete the Directory.
    where is placed Twonky, that is
    shares/MYVOLUME1/MYSHARE1/Twonkyvision

    But i dont have premission to do so by "Browse share" or bij normal acces trough windows. it says Error: Permission denied.
    How can i Delete directorys, filles in shares/MYVOLUME1/MYSHARE1/ ??

    Greetings Rick

  8. #143
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    244
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick View Post
    I managed to get Twonky working.

    but now i want to delete the Directory.
    where is placed Twonky, that is
    shares/MYVOLUME1/MYSHARE1/Twonkyvision

    But i dont have premission to do so by "Browse share" or bij normal acces trough windows. it says Error: Permission denied.
    How can i Delete directorys, filles in shares/MYVOLUME1/MYSHARE1/ ??

    Greetings Rick
    If you mean that you try to do this via SMB sharing, then it has to deal with SMB security of the Asus, of which I don't know anything.
    Anyway, with SMB I can delete stuff in the standard directories (music, photo etc), but not in others.
    But if you telnet to your asus, login as root or become root (sudo bash -l), it will make all things possible. Remove with
    Code:
    rm -R /shares/MYVOLUME1/MYSHARE1/Twonkyvision
    I assume you have KFurge custom 1.0.7.8 firmware running.


    Regards,
    Marc

  9. #144
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Alkmaar, Netherlands.
    Posts
    14

    Delete filles

    I manged to delete the directory the way u said...
    by using "rm -R" command.
    thnx.
    and on the asus its for mee also possible to delete filles in the photos, music, video dir.... but when i am in MYSHARE1 not possible only with, telnet. ?

  10. #145

    Wink

    Quote Originally Posted by Fullback View Post
    I don't know why it wont let me login anymore
    when i try to login to root using sudo bash -l
    i get
    Password:
    admin is not in the sudoers file. This incident will be reported.
    [admin@WL700gE /]$
    ??? any reason why this could be happing?

    I checked my sudoers file and it seems fine

    [admin@WL700gE /]$ vi opt/etc/sudoers

    # Host alias specification

    # User alias specification

    # Cmnd alias specification

    # Defaults specification

    # Runas alias specification

    # User privilege specification
    root ALL=(ALL) ALL
    Admin ALL=(ALL) PASSWD: ALL
    # Uncomment to allow people in group wheel to run all commands
    # %wheel ALL=(ALL) ALL

    # Same thing without a password
    # %wheel ALL=(ALL) NOPASSWD: ALL

    # Samples
    # %users ALL=/sbin/mount /cdrom,/sbin/umount /cdrom
    # %users localhost=/sbin/shutdown -h now
    _______
    I have no clue how one day i can't just login anymore? But if i login as "root" and type my web interface password everything works fine. login as: root
    root@76.206.254.162's password:
    [root@WL700gE /]$

    ___
    I just can't switch from admin@WL700gE to root. ? any thoughts on this would be cool.


    Fullback,

    All you need to do is add the information in red to your sudoers file and it will work. login as root and then change the file.

    Rgs

  11. #146

    passwd question

    I seem to be having a recurring problem with the passwd file on the new firmware.

    I cannot seem to get the opt/home/username to work with pbsa access?

    My question is it possible to have the system running on password based access and to be able to use dropbear for logging in through putty?

    If i use pbsa the system overwrites the passwd file and I cannot log in.
    I have noted from previous threads that there is no __pdc file either which looks odd.

    I have been able to set up system as either psba or usba but I wonder is it possible to have a bit of both??

    Hi, I figured it out, seems to be with the firmware, had it downloaded for a while reflashed a new one and all is well
    Last edited by Gizmo1007; 03-04-2008 at 18:51. Reason: updated info

  12. #147
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Alkmaar, Netherlands.
    Posts
    14

    Help.. login not working

    I made a mistake last night, and now i am not able to loging using telnet

    (none) login: admin

    Password:
    Login incorrect
    (none) login: admin

    Password:
    Login incorrect
    (none) login:

    this is what happens when i use putty.....
    hoe do i recover from this problem , i tried to install the fimware again , with no luck......
    also tried to flash to 2.0.0.7 firmware and back again, but no luck either..

    is there anyway to login and maybe change/delete the password list/file ?

  13. #148
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    244
    Quote Originally Posted by Gizmo1007 View Post
    I seem to be having a recurring problem with the passwd file on the new firmware.

    I cannot seem to get the opt/home/username to work with pbsa access?

    My question is it possible to have the system running on password based access and to be able to use dropbear for logging in through putty?

    If i use pbsa the system overwrites the passwd file and I cannot log in.
    I have noted from previous threads that there is no __pdc file either which looks odd.

    I have been able to set up system as either psba or usba but I wonder is it possible to have a bit of both??

    Hi, I figured it out, seems to be with the firmware, had it downloaded for a while reflashed a new one and all is well
    Hi, did you read this post:
    http://wl500g.info/showpost.php?p=88249&postcount=142
    so you might have to edit /opt/etc/init.kc/fix_passwd.sh

    Marc

  14. #149
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    244
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick View Post
    I made a mistake last night, and now i am not able to loging using telnet

    (none) login: admin

    Password:
    Login incorrect
    (none) login: admin

    Password:
    Login incorrect
    (none) login:

    this is what happens when i use putty.....
    hoe do i recover from this problem , i tried to install the fimware again , with no luck......
    also tried to flash to 2.0.0.7 firmware and back again, but no luck either..

    is there anyway to login and maybe change/delete the password list/file ?
    What mistake?
    The (none) part should be the name of your asus, default WL700ge or so. But it is only set after a long while after start (> 3mins)

    If I were you, I should try to switch from PBSA to UBSA or vice versa, maybe that helps.

    Regard,
    Marc

  15. #150
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Alkmaar, Netherlands.
    Posts
    14

    Wink No.......................

    Thx for replying so quickly but unfortunatly it did not help....................
    I have read some where that u can press the copy button to select a diffrent start up script but i did not get lucky to do this.......

    But when i instal firmware 2.0.0.7 i am able to telnet to the router.
    but when i go back to kfurge 1.0.7.8 i still have the same problem.

    any other good ideas ?

    Groeten

Page 10 of 12 FirstFirst ... 89101112 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Installing Optware Packages on Asus Firmware 1.0.7.8
    By emailpr in forum WL-700g Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16-01-2008, 02:13
  2. wan to lan filter on default firmware 1.0.7.8?
    By nully in forum WL-700g Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-11-2007, 00:36
  3. Custom Firmware v1.1.2.7
    By JOCKYW2001 in forum WL-HDD Firmware Releases
    Replies: 59
    Last Post: 11-12-2004, 13:26

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •