Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Installig Kamikaze 7.09

  1. #1

    Installig Kamikaze 7.09

    Hi there.

    I'm trying to install kamikaze on my Wl700gE. But I have a problem, the router works ok, and reboots ok. The problem appears When I Shutdown the system, unplugin the power cord. The system reverts to basic wrt configuration (telnet only) and all configuration disappear. Then I the have to make all steps from this point:

    Change root to hdd

    I don't boot from USB, maybee it's necessary to maintain the system?
    I'm I doing something wrong?


    Another thing I have to ask you. What is the fdsik or format command to revert the disk to original state (usable on ASUS original firmware)? I ask this, because when I revert to 1.0.7.8 firmware the drive is not recognized by the system... (I think this should be in some tutorial related to firmware restoration like this one http://wl700g.homelinux.net/drupal/?q=node/54 )

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    190
    somehow the nvram is resetted to its original state when the power has been off for some hours. there is a dirty workaround for it http://wl700g.homelinux.net/drupal/?...45#comment-541
    I still looking for a way to fiks this problem

    when you change back to asus upload the 1.0.4.2 @ first. It will build your asus system again.
    http://wl700g.homelinux.net/drupal/?q=node/54
    Last edited by back2basic; 28-12-2007 at 00:36.

    Openwrt or Custom Firmware on asus? - http://wl700ge.hezik.nl/ - Http://wl700g.homelinux.net

    My ASUS collection: WL500gp(80GB usb-hdd - Running OpenWrt Kamikaze 7.09) | WL700gE(250GB - Running OpenWrt Kamikaze 8.09rc1)

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by back2basic View Post
    somehow the nvram is resetted to its original state when the power has been off for some hours. there is a dirty workaround for it http://wl700g.homelinux.net/drupal/?...45#comment-541
    I still looking for a way to fiks this problem

    when you change back to asus upload the 1.0.4.2 @ first. It will build your asus system again.
    http://wl700g.homelinux.net/drupal/?q=node/54
    Thanks, back on ASUS firmware again. I will wait for a more stable version of kamikaze. I like it a lot, but is a lot of work to put the all thing working in every reset or drop on energy...

    The hard part was to put the HDD working and useble in the original firmware. I think that information should be in the "restoring to original" topic.


    And the last thing. When you try to see http://192.168.1.1:8081/phpmyadmin it gives you a error (cannor find phpmyadmin) I think it is necessary to indicate someware the "hostname" ... somethyng is wrong or the tuturial must be incomplete


    Thanks !!!
    Last edited by IMM22; 28-12-2007 at 11:06.

  4. #4

    how did you rebuild the system? without taking out the hardrive

    Hey, i also had installed that same image. And then reverted back to Asus firmware ( WL700gE_1.0.4.2.nas) But my hardrive was not rebuilt. And i can login to the interface, and when i try to click "erase" disk in disk management tool i receive the following error.

    *** it gives me an option to click "Erase Disk" but when i try that i get an error after typing in confirmation String. I get "ERROR:Unable to erase disks. This is a system disk which cannot be wiped. The root file system is mounted on this disk." how can i fix this? i know a little bit of linux and i have used ubuntu many times..

    Thank you. (can you please tell me what you did to rebuild your system) because when i uploaded my firmware it did not rebuilt my system.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    244
    Quote Originally Posted by Fullback View Post
    Hey, i also had installed that same image. And then reverted back to Asus firmware ( WL700gE_1.0.4.2.nas) But my hardrive was not rebuilt.
    Hi Fullback, nice to see you here...
    Did you read all there is to see in http://wl700g.homelinux.net/drupal/?q=node/54
    especially the part about fdisk? Scroll down until you see it....
    With the Asus firmware the disk has another name. Try
    fdisk /dev/ide/host2/bus0/target0/lun0/disc

    MY disk is in healthy conditions, and as such has an INvalid partition table:
    Code:
    Device contains neither a valid DOS partition table, nor Sun, SGI or OSF disklabel
    Building a new DOS disklabel. Changes will remain in memory only,
    until you decide to write them. After that the previous content
    won't be recoverable.
    
    
    The number of cylinders for this disk is set to 30401.
    There is nothing wrong with that, but this is larger than 1024,
    and could in certain setups cause problems with:
    1) software that runs at boot time (e.g., old versions of LILO)
    2) booting and partitioning software from other OSs
       (e.g., DOS FDISK, OS/2 FDISK)
    Warning: invalid flag 0x00,0x00 of partition table 4 will be corrected by w(rite)
    
    Command (m for help):
    YOUR disk may look quite different. You should however remove any partition.
    Maybe it is even wise to install Kamikaze again, and do exactly what is said about fdisk in http://wl700g.homelinux.net/drupal/?q=node/54
    And then do the Asus part all over.

    Regards,
    Marc

  6. #6

    Thanks

    Hey, i already fixed this issue, thanks for the help anyways! always thankful for your help from Mr.Marc

    What i did to fix my drive after installing the kam firmwire was
    1.put the drive in my home desktop
    2.Use acronis disk application
    3.format the drive with the correct settings, and then pluged into the wl-700ge and put back original firmware1.0.4.2

    and the wl-700ge set back up hardrive the way it came in stock from factory. So that worked. (please forgive my spelling). I don't have spell check installed on this computer...
    Last edited by Fullback; 24-03-2008 at 18:55.

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by back2basic View Post
    somehow the nvram is resetted to its original state when the power has been off for some hours. there is a dirty workaround for it http://wl700g.homelinux.net/drupal/?...45#comment-541
    I still looking for a way to fiks this problem

    when you change back to asus upload the 1.0.4.2 @ first. It will build your asus system again.
    http://wl700g.homelinux.net/drupal/?q=node/54
    I think a solution for this problem is to force to boot from hdd or usb.

    you can change line
    Code:
    boot_dev=$(nvram get boot_dev)
    from file /sbin/mount_root with
    Code:
    boot_dev="/dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1"
    to boot from hdd

    back2basic - it is possible to provide us a new trx with this modification ?
    http://wl700g.homelinux.net/drupal/?q=node/145
    Last edited by twinsen01; 29-03-2008 at 19:28. Reason: add comment

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Fullback View Post
    Hey, i already fixed this issue, thanks for the help anyways! always thankful for your help from Mr.Marc

    What i did to fix my drive after installing the kam firmwire was
    1.put the drive in my home desktop
    2.Use acronis disk application
    3.format the drive with the correct settings, and then pluged into the wl-700ge and put back original firmware1.0.4.2

    and the wl-700ge set back up hardrive the way it came in stock from factory. So that worked. (please forgive my spelling). I don't have spell check installed on this computer...
    Please what setting do you use (3.format the drive with the correct settings)

  9. #9

    Hey

    Hey sorry for the late post, i was a bit busy. But anyways it does not matter what settings you use, just format the drive using NTFS(because in the end your going to end of deleting the drive anyways), and then right click on the new drive in the disk loader and click "delete partion and delete data" and wait about 1 hour or so (depending on the size of the hard drive.) it will take time to delete the partition , and destroy data. Then upload the 1.0.4.2.
    Plug the hard drive back into the drive,
    hold the ez-button (the orange one) and then plug the router in and look at the ready light.
    As soon the you see the ready light let it go right away. your ready light should be blue and not blinking when flashing. Good luck please let me know how it goes i will get right back with you thanks!
    Last edited by Fullback; 04-04-2008 at 17:51. Reason: fixs

  10. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by Fullback View Post
    Hey sorry for the late post, i was a bit busy. But anyways it does not matter what settings you use, just format the drive using NTFS(because in the end your going to end of deleting the drive anyways), and then right click on the new drive in the disk loader and click "delete partion and delete data" and wait about 1 hour or so (depending on the size of the hard drive.) it will take time to delete the partition , and destroy data. Then upload the 1.0.4.2.
    Plug the hard drive back into the drive,
    hold the ez-button (the orange one) and then plug the router in and look at the ready light.
    As soon the you see the ready light let it go right away. your ready light should be blue and not blinking when flashing. Good luck please let me know how it goes i will get right back with you thanks!
    Thangs Fullback.
    I read you take out the drive and use pc software acronis disk application to format/destroy the drive and then put the
    drive back in box,and use ez-button and upload the 1.0.4.2 via Asus firmware restore tools.

    Right ehh

  11. #11

    cORRECT

    Hey, yeah that would be the correct way to fix the drive. Let me know how it goes.

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by Fullback View Post
    Hey, yeah that would be the correct way to fix the drive. Let me know how it goes.

    Yes i come back later
    Thangs again

Similar Threads

  1. a easy way to install kamikaze for beginners (need advice)
    By back2basic in forum WL-700g Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 22-01-2008, 18:03
  2. kforge and Wifi or -> kamikaze ?
    By Gregoire.Favre in forum WL-700g Firmware Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 30-12-2007, 19:20
  3. Vlan configuration with Kamikaze 7.09
    By asle_500g in forum WL-500gP Q&A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-12-2007, 11:56
  4. 7.09 + USB + hotplug
    By oilinki in forum WL-700g Q&A
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 18-11-2007, 13:51
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25-10-2007, 22:59

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •