Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: usb mountpoint in newer (1.8xx) fw and additions

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    frankfurt
    Posts
    84

    usb mountpoint in newer (1.8xx) fw and additions

    hi guys,

    im a bit confused at the moment. was there a special reason to change the usb mountpoint from /mnt/usbfs to /tmp/harddisk, (don't know since which firmware) ? because a lot of the additions uses fixed paths in their scripts... and it is awful to change all this links.
    also a lot of addtions don't run with newer firmware (graphical accounting, bluetooth and gift), maybe because of the mountpoint. ideas?

    if anyone ask the question before, i'm sorry for asking again, but i didn't find the previous question(used search, realy ) . a link is maybe helpfull for me.

    thx 2 all
    Athlon XP 2200+ runnig on ECS K7S5A
    512 MB DDR
    160 GB Samsung
    Ati Radeon 9500
    System running under Yoper.v2
    Router: WL500g

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Quote Originally Posted by xlephant
    hi guys,

    im a bit confused at the moment. was there a special reason to change the usb mountpoint from /mnt/usbfs to /tmp/harddisk, (don't know since which firmware) ? because a lot of the additions uses fixed paths in their scripts... and it is awful to change all this links.
    also a lot of addtions don't run with newer firmware (graphical accounting, bluetooth and gift), maybe because of the mountpoint. ideas?

    if anyone ask the question before, i'm sorry for asking again, but i didn't find the previous question(used search, realy ) . a link is maybe helpfull for me.

    thx 2 all
    Changed in the 1.8 series by ASUS. Trick to make mnt/usbfs work:
    Code:
    mount -o bind /tmp /mnt
    ln -s /tmp/harddisk /mnt/usbfs

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,307
    I guess the HDD has to be present before it can be mounted. In previous firmwares the HDD was mounted between pre-boot and post-boot script, but in the new 1.8.x.x firmwares the HDD is mounted by the watchdog which may take about 10 seconds AFTER post-boot has finished.

    So if you want to run scripts (or make other mount points) on the HDD in the post-boot script you will have to make sure post-boot execution waits until the HDD is mounted. This can be done as described in :

    http://wl500g.info/showpost.php?p=6290&postcount=26

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Helmond, The Netherlands
    Posts
    89
    Quote Originally Posted by Oleg
    Changed in the 1.8 series by ASUS. Trick to make mnt/usbfs work:
    Code:
    mount -o bind /tmp /mnt
    ln -s /tmp/harddisk /mnt/usbfs
    So I have done this, but some of my executables (?) won't run, I get the following error message:

    ./btctl
    -sh: ./btctl: not found

    huh?

    it works ok with 1.7.whatever

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,353
    Have you checked access rights? I mean chmod +x btctl?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    frankfurt
    Posts
    84
    So I have done this, but some of my executables (?) won't run, I get the following error message:

    ./btctl
    -sh: ./btctl: not found

    huh?
    same error here already checked the rights.

    any ideas will be helpful.

    thx
    Athlon XP 2200+ runnig on ECS K7S5A
    512 MB DDR
    160 GB Samsung
    Ati Radeon 9500
    System running under Yoper.v2
    Router: WL500g

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •