Thread: Home Gateway newbie... Wireless not working

Home Gateway newbie... Wireless not working

Hello

Before anyone asks..firmware 1.8.1.7 (original)

I'm sorry if Im asking something silly.. but Im a newbie at this so be gentle please. I tried really, really hard to get this to work, I READ the f* manual, looked on google etc etc.. but I cant get it to work. I have my WL-500g setup as Home Gateway. ADSL modem connected. up and running, my wired PCs all can connect to the internet.. HURRAY! works great.

But my laptop (wireless) CAN connect (54mbps) but I cant ping anything or surf the internet, or connect to http://192.168.5.253 (the router). The ASUS Device Discovery cant even find the WL-500g (from the wireless laptop), although it says it has connection. If I connect the laptop to the router through Cable (with the same TCP/IP settings) I suddenly CAN connect and ping and surf etc..
    Why doesnt the wireless thingy work? Im probably missing something REALLY obvious. Sorry in advance for that.. But please help.

some settings
    WL-500g:
    LAN IP: 192.168.5.253, 255.255.255.0, gateway: 192.168.5.253

PC1 (wired) 192.168.5.1, 255.255.255.0 can connect to internet
    Laptop (wireless) 192.168.5.9, 255.255.255.0 cannot connect to internet, but has wireless connection.

Thanks so much for your help.

Kind regards,
    Fenni
    Last edited by Fenni; 04-11-2004 at 22:37.

Thanks for your reply, Antiloop.

But the laptop CAN connect thats not the problem. I just dont get internet connection, and cant ping any other pc on the network.
    I will try what you suggested however.

Thanks again,
    Fenni

Quote Originally Posted by Fenni
    Thanks for your reply, Antiloop.

But the laptop CAN connect thats not the problem. I just dont get internet connection, and cant ping any other pc on the network.
    I will try what you suggested however.

Thanks again,
    Fenni