Page 13 of 64 FirstFirst ... 311121314152363 ... LastLast
Results 181 to 195 of 958

Thread: [HowTo] Install and configure Oleg's firmware

  1. #181
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Germany - Frankfurt
    Posts
    1,548
    Hi,

    Firmware version?
    Hardware?

    There have been some issues with two usb storrage devices at the same time. But it can be solved. I simply do not remember how.

    Do a forum search... (usb mount automount)

    I am still on -8 firmware, so i cant test it.

    wengi
    Übersicht aller HowTos --- HowTo Overview (mostly german)
    WL-HDD mit diesem Setup. --- WL-HDD with this setup.
    Kein Support per PM - Frage im jeweiligen Thread! --- No support via pm - ask in the according thread!
    Eine wirklich gute Idee erkennt man daran, dass ihre Verwirklichung von vorne herein ausgeschlossen erscheint. (Albert Einstein)

  2. #182
    You might want to try to change the usb port which is used per device.

    eg.:
    usb-key on lower usb-port and usb-drive on upper usb-port
    TO:
    usb-key on upper usb-port and usb-drive on lower usb-port

    In my experience the lower usb-port is accessed first by the asus.
    I've had a swap space on a usb-key for a while, but this would only work when drive was connected to lower port and key to upper port..

    (small warning though.. if the asus uses the swap extensivly, it will not have a long life. Mine died after 6 months of heavy usage (and limited write cycles on a usb-key), though, the performance gain was impressive.)

    HTH

  3. #183

    ftp and samba

    Hi,

    I new here and just started hacking my wl500gp. I have installed the latest oleg firmware 1.9.2.7-10 and attached a 20GB usb drive and mounted swap /opt and /mnt. I have installed transmission and clutch and have it running ok. I want to access the 20GB usb HD with ftp (vsftpd) or samba (v2) which are installed by default on this latest firmware, but after enabling them from the http admin interface they do not run. Can these application only be started from console with scripts, if so why are these option still available in the webinterface? Sorry if this has been asked before, i really did search for these questions.

    TIA,

    Carlo

  4. #184
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Germany - Frankfurt
    Posts
    1,548
    Hi,

    sorry, no experience on the -10 firmware.
    Maybe anyone else can help?

    wengi
    Übersicht aller HowTos --- HowTo Overview (mostly german)
    WL-HDD mit diesem Setup. --- WL-HDD with this setup.
    Kein Support per PM - Frage im jeweiligen Thread! --- No support via pm - ask in the according thread!
    Eine wirklich gute Idee erkennt man daran, dass ihre Verwirklichung von vorne herein ausgeschlossen erscheint. (Albert Einstein)

  5. #185
    After using guide 4a this is what comes up..

    #dmin@WL-001E8C6C8F08 root]$ df
    Filesystem 1k-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
    /dev/root 3072 3072 0 100% /
    /dev/discs/disc0/part2 8103964 131228 7561072 2% /tmp/mnt/disc0_2
    /dev/discs/disc0/part3 952830572 131228 904298312 0% /tmp/mnt/disc0_3
    Is this correct???
    how do i connect to my pc now?

  6. #186
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Germany - Frankfurt
    Posts
    1,548
    Hi,

    i guess you are using version -9 or -10.
    Some things have changed. Have a look at http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=13785
    wengi
    Übersicht aller HowTos --- HowTo Overview (mostly german)
    WL-HDD mit diesem Setup. --- WL-HDD with this setup.
    Kein Support per PM - Frage im jeweiligen Thread! --- No support via pm - ask in the according thread!
    Eine wirklich gute Idee erkennt man daran, dass ihre Verwirklichung von vorne herein ausgeschlossen erscheint. (Albert Einstein)

  7. #187
    Quote Originally Posted by wengi View Post
    Hi,

    sorry, no experience on the -10 firmware.
    Maybe anyone else can help?

    wengi
    After checking it seems that if automount doesn't mount the USB partitions these applications don't run. NFS does seem to run even if automount doesn't run. I made the default firmware vsftpd run with configs and start-up files found on the forum and wiki's.

    -carlo

  8. #188

    decrease speed of seeding

    Must wait for another fine tutorial .. ;-)

    I did downgrade to v8 and all work great . as i am new in linux . i could not make the basic adjustment without the tutorial .. but still learning . maybe one day .. ;-)))

    my question is ...

    how to decrease manualy the speed of seeding .. in transmision ? i like to seed . but .. when i am downloadint 15 kb and uploading 200 kb .. that is a little . unfair :-) and my provider must go nuts :-)

    thanks

  9. #189
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Germany - Frankfurt
    Posts
    1,548
    have a look at /opt/etc/transmission.conf
    There is an upload bandwidth limit.

    wengi
    Übersicht aller HowTos --- HowTo Overview (mostly german)
    WL-HDD mit diesem Setup. --- WL-HDD with this setup.
    Kein Support per PM - Frage im jeweiligen Thread! --- No support via pm - ask in the according thread!
    Eine wirklich gute Idee erkennt man daran, dass ihre Verwirklichung von vorne herein ausgeschlossen erscheint. (Albert Einstein)

  10. #190
    yes .. i did .. but it is global .. some torrents i dont mind to share without limit .. because they are private .
    some of them like mini..... i dont need to share so rapidly .. :-)

  11. #191
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Germany - Frankfurt
    Posts
    1,548
    The global one is, as far as i know, the only possibility.

    wengi
    Übersicht aller HowTos --- HowTo Overview (mostly german)
    WL-HDD mit diesem Setup. --- WL-HDD with this setup.
    Kein Support per PM - Frage im jeweiligen Thread! --- No support via pm - ask in the according thread!
    Eine wirklich gute Idee erkennt man daran, dass ihre Verwirklichung von vorne herein ausgeschlossen erscheint. (Albert Einstein)

  12. #192

    Windows username defaults to "Guest"

    I have installed the tutorial flawlessly and have been downloading torrents already. My problem is with accessing the samba share using windows (XP). I can see the hostname from network neigborhood, going to the workgroup itself (or from explicitly doing a run \\hostname\sharename). Apparently, an authentication box apprears with hostname defaulting to "hostname\Guest" and is grayed out - uneditable, giving only the option to input password. I have followed the following to the dot:

    Goto "Globals":
    - Change "workgroup" to your workgroup.
    - "netbios name" is the name of your asus (for me again blechbuechse).
    - "hosts allow" should be your subnet e.g. "192.168.1." (leave out the last number)
    - "guest account" is 'admin'.
    Commit changes with "Commit Changes". (You never would have known this )
    Changes in globas need a restart to take effect!

    goto "Shares":
    - Insert "torrent" beside "create share" and press "create share".
    - "comment": "torrent files"
    - "path": "/tmp/harddisk/torrent"
    - "read only" NO
    - "guest ok" YES
    - "browseable" YES
    - Press "commit changes".

    I am using the default "admin" account, and not root.

    Any inputs? Thank you.

  13. #193

    Alice in the wonderland - automating SSH login :)

    At first thank you for this work.

    While following "14. Automate SSH login" I make authorized_keys with vi and copy-paste public key from puttygen into vi. Save file from vi and then can`t connect with correct private key from putty. I check rights and attribute of the file with ls -la, list it contents with cat and find no errors at all. I even place and remove newline after line with a key in vi with no success. Next day I use same key and echo it`s public part into authorized_keys file and all is correct and works fine.

    Putty version is 0.60. Firmware is 1.9.2.7-10

  14. #194
    hi when i do

    Code:
    mkdir /opt/tmp
    i get

    Code:
    cannot create directory `/tmp/tmp': Read-only file system
    I am a totally n00b, can somebody explain to me how to enable to create a dir in the map opt??

  15. #195
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Germany - Frankfurt
    Posts
    1,548
    Hi,

    your HDD is not mounted on /opt. Thats why you get this error.
    Type "mount" and you will see the mounts.

    but:

    AT ALL:

    I am reviewing the howto and it will be completely updated within the next days. There have been many changes since firmware version -9 and -10.
    The howto as it is at the moment will not work properly with the newest firmwares!


    So stay tuned

    wengi

    PS: If you want a preview have a look at the german version.
    Übersicht aller HowTos --- HowTo Overview (mostly german)
    WL-HDD mit diesem Setup. --- WL-HDD with this setup.
    Kein Support per PM - Frage im jeweiligen Thread! --- No support via pm - ask in the according thread!
    Eine wirklich gute Idee erkennt man daran, dass ihre Verwirklichung von vorne herein ausgeschlossen erscheint. (Albert Einstein)

Page 13 of 64 FirstFirst ... 311121314152363 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. [Howto] Install DLNA media servers for Oleg firmware
    By ecaddict in forum WL-500gP Tutorials
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 06-06-2017, 08:40
  2. Replies: 24
    Last Post: 05-05-2015, 08:42
  3. Replies: 28
    Last Post: 02-06-2013, 21:58
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21-09-2012, 18:06
  5. [Howto] Install kernel modules for Oleg firmware
    By ecaddict in forum WL-500gP Tutorials
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-12-2011, 17:18

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •