Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 62

Thread: Activating Afterburner (125Mbps) on the recent wl-500g units

  1. #46
    I just tried this on my v2.0 WRT54G with Sveasoft Alchemy

    I first checked my corerev
    Code:
    wl revinfo
    
    vendorid: 0x14e4
    deviceid: 0x4320
    radiorev: 0x22050000
    chipnum: 0x4712
    chiprev: 0x1
    corerev: 0x7
    boardid: 0x101
    boardvendor: 0x14e4
    boardrev: 0x10
    driverrev: 0x33c0d00
    ucoderev: 0x1180016
    bus: 0x0
    Looks good.

    Next i set the board flags
    Code:
    nvram set boardflags=0x0388
    nvram commit
    Okay done.

    Now check to see if afterburner is enabled
    Code:
    nvram get wl_afterburner
    auto
    Code:
    nvram get wl0_afterburner
    auto
    I reboot the router.

    Then do this.
    Code:
    wl gmode
    54g Mode is 54g Only (2)
    then
    Code:
    wl gmode 6
    eth1: Invalid argument
    gmode Set the 54g Mode (LegacyB|Auto||GOnly|BDeferred|Performance|LRS|Afterburner)
    okay try this
    Code:
    wl gmode Afterburner
    
    gmode Set the 54g Mode (LegacyB|Auto||GOnly|BDeferred|Performance|LRS|Afterburner)
    Now to check if it was successful
    Code:
    wl gmode
    
    54g Mode is 54g Only (2)
    damn... I see the same thing as styno did here
    Code:
    wl cap
    ap sta afterburner
    Any ideas what's wrong?

  2. #47
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,356
    Quote Originally Posted by Spacejam
    I have try running the command below...1 and 2 work fine..
    3.How to reload wl.o? Any command to reload wl.o?

    1. nvram set boardflags=0x0388
    2. nvram commit
    3. reload wl.o ???
    Just reboot your router.

  3. #48
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,356
    Quote Originally Posted by andrewplanet
    damn... I see the same thing as styno did here
    Code:
    wl cap
    ap sta afterburner
    Any ideas what's wrong?
    Well, afterburner support is activated, but something is preventing is from being used, possible reasons are - none afterburner capable client associated to your AP, WPA mode activated, wds mode.
    In fact afterburner is mostly marketing thing at the moment. 54Mbps is more than enough for all broadcom consumer level access points... It's unlikely, that you will get anything higher than 24 Mbps of real bandwidth.

  4. #49
    Quote Originally Posted by Oleg
    Just reboot your router.
    Have tried reboot, rrmod wl and insmod wl... Still the same, there is no option 6.;(

  5. #50
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,356
    Quote Originally Posted by Spacejam
    Have tried reboot, rrmod wl and insmod wl... Still the same, there is no option 6.;(
    Which problem exactly you've now?

  6. #51
    Quote Originally Posted by Oleg
    Which problem exactly you've now?
    I have tried this

    nvram set boardflags=0x0388
    nvram commit
    rmmod wl
    insmod wl
    wl gmode 6

    Than I got this:

    eth1: Invalid argument
    gmode Set the 54g Mode (LegacyB|Auto||GOnly|BDeferred|Performance|LRS|Aft erburner)

    I even try reboot after nvram set boardflags=0x0388 and nvram commit
    still the same there is no gmode 6..
    My router is ver2.0 with corerev: 0x7.

  7. #52
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,356

  8. #53
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,356
    Update: As of today (2005-01-17) Asus ships new wl500g units with Afterburner already enabled, so there is no need to change srom:

    Output from new wl-500g unit:

    Code:
    [root@wl500g root]$ wl cap
    ap sta wet led wme pio 802.11d 802.11h rm cqa afterburner
    [root@wl500g root]$ wl revinfo
    vendorid: 0x14e4
    deviceid: 0x4320
    radiorev: 0x22050000
    chipnum: 0x4306
    chiprev: 0x3
    corerev: 0x5
    boardid: 0x120f
    boardvendor: 0x14e4
    boardrev: 0x47
    driverrev: 0x35a0700
    ucoderev: 0x122000a
    bus: 0x1
    So, to enable afterburner just issue
    Code:
    nvram set wl_afterburner=auto
    nvram set wl0_afterburner=auto
    nvram commit

  9. #54
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Frankfurt / Germnay
    Posts
    36

    Afterburner?

    I have the same output as Oleg - but like others set gmode 6 doesn`t work for me. Any new ideas?

    ciao,
    JBK

  10. #55
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,356
    Don't use wl gmode - it will not work with new firmwares at all (they do not allow switching modes on the fly). Just set the nvram variables and reboot.
    Connect with Afterburner (speedbooster) capable device then...

  11. #56
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    9

    New unit without Afterburner support ?

    Is it possible to enable Afterburner on this wl500g ? I have already tried to set nvram but without success.

    nvram setting:
    wl0_afterburner=auto
    wl_afterburner=auto



    Code:
    [admin@(none) root]$ wl revinfo
    vendorid: 0x14e4
    deviceid: 0x4320
    radiorev: 0x22050000
    chipnum: 0x4306
    chiprev: 0x3
    corerev: 0x5
    boardid: 0x120f
    boardvendor: 0x14e4
    boardrev: 0x47
    driverrev: 0x35a0700
    ucoderev: 0x122000a
    bus: 0x1
    Code:
    [admin@(none) root]$ wl cap
    ap sta wet led wme pio 802.11d 802.11h rm cqa

    Code:
    [admin@(none) root]$ wl srdump
      srom[000]:  0x4001  0x0000  0x120f  0x14e4  0x4320  0x8000  0x0002  0x0002  
      srom[008]:  0x17f0  0x1800  0x0000  0x0000  0xffff  0xffff  0xffff  0xffff  
      srom[016]:  0xffff  0xffff  0xffff  0xffff  0xffff  0xffff  0xffff  0xffff  
      srom[024]:  0xffff  0xffff  0xffff  0xffff  0xffff  0xffff  0xffff  0xffff  
      srom[032]:  0xffff  0xffff  0xffff  0xffff  0x0011  0x2fe3  0x247a  0xffff  
      srom[040]:  0xffff  0xffff  0xffff  0xffff  0xffff  0xffff  0x3547  0x11b0  
      srom[048]:  0xfb98  0xfe4f  0xffff  0xffff  0x0035  0xffff  0xffff  0xffff  
      srom[056]:  0x003e  0x000f  0xffff  0x0000  0x0000  0x0000  0x0000  0x1001

    Thank you !

  12. #57
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    9
    I have found the solution (hopefully). It looks like I have got an old version.
    After changing srom with:

    Code:
    wlsrom eth2 39 20f
    Afterburner seems to be enabled.

    Code:
    wl cap
    ap sta wet led wme pio 802.11d 802.11h rm cqa afterburner
    BTW: is the last byte in srom a checksum ?
    It also changed
    Code:
    from
    0038  003e 000f ffff 0000 0000 0000 0000 1001
    to
    0038  003e 020f ffff 0000 0000 0000 0000 ee0
    Is there a list of the meaning of all bytes in srom ?

  13. #58

    Afterburner WORKS on WL-100g

    Hi there, I recently formatted my laptop, installed the WL-100G with these 3.70 Broadcom drivers (had to do this manually, Windows says there is no driver in the extracted folder containing 3.70) and hey, I HAVE AFTERBURNER!

    you can check the settings of your driver in the hardwarelist, on some tab you can edit the features, and enable Afterburner.

    If you have previous driver installed, windows will use that instead of 3.70!!! so thats why most users think the wl-100g doesn't have Afterburner.

  14. Caution!

    i have an upgradeble wl500g but when doing commands my router dies

    2 times

    i had to recover it by putting groundcable on pin 9 or 10? dunno yet

    afterwards u need a clean (zero) firmware and have to flash it with the recovery tool,afterwards u can flash the normal firmware


    this is for all who stuck same as me.

  15. #60
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Russian Federation
    Posts
    8,356
    So, what you've done? It appears, that you tried doing nvram set boardflags on the wl500g, which should not be used.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Best Buy for a Afterburner PCI card
    By erik_bies in forum WL-100g/WL-100gDeluxe/WL-103b/WL-120b/WL-120g [Broadcom Chipset]
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19-02-2006, 20:40
  2. No wireless with recent firmware versions
    By lantao in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-06-2005, 15:14
  3. Afterburner of any use?
    By phedny in forum WL-500g Q&A
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23-05-2005, 15:43

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •