PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : Please help: transmission does not work !



jrosado
13-06-2007, 18:36
Ok..here goes nothing or all..

I followed this guide for my configuration using oleg firmware:

http://wl500g.info/showthread.php?t=5909

i installed gnuplot, logrotate and transmission:


ipkg install gnuplot
ipkg install logrotate
ipkg install transmission

(cron was already installed).

since i used marcnesium tutorial, my directories are:


/opt/share/torrent
/opt/share/torrent/source
/opt/share/torrent/work
/opt/share/torrent/target


my transmission.conf file has the following:


# Configuration
# NOTE: no spaces around the = sign
# the config will be sourced (eg. . transmission.conf)

SOURCE=/opt/share/torrent/source
WORK=/opt/share/torrent/work
TARGET=/opt/share/torrent/target
#MAILTO=torrent@somedomain.com
#MAILFROM=torrent@somedomain.com
MAILOPT="-smail.somedomain.com -f"
USER=admin
GROUP=root
DATE_FORMAT="%d %h %H:%M"

# Transmission daemon variables
PIDFILE=/opt/var/run/transmission.pid
ACTIVE=/opt/share/torrent/active-torrents.txt
HOME=/opt/share/torrent
WATCHDOG=300
LISTENING_PORT=65534
# set SPEED in kB/s or -1 for unlimited
UPLOAD_SPEED=10
DOWNLOAD_SPEED=-1
#UPLOAD_SPEED=41
#DOWNLOAD_SPEED=180
# change SYSLOG from /tmp/syslog.log to
SYSLOG=/opt/var/log/messages

#Uncomment the following for UPNP NAT traversal
#NAT_TRAVERSAL=--nat-traversal

# Seed torrent after completition (YES or NO)
AUTOSEED="YES"
# If the following limit is reached watchdog will not enqueue new one
MAX_ACTIVE_TORRENTS=10

# Creating graphical log of transfer with gnuplot
# can be very site specific issue. See transmission.cgi
# how this variables are used.
GNUPLOT=/opt/bin/gnuplot
GNUPLOT_COMMAND=${WORK}/transfer.gnuplot
GNUPLOT_DATA=${WORK}/transfer.data
GNUPLOT_OUTPUT=/opt/share/www/transfer.png
HTTP_IMG_LOCATION=../transfer.png
#TZ offset in seconds. Use +- sign. DST manually
TIMEZONE_OFFSET=+3600

#Colors for command line. # comment out if not needed
GREEN="\033[32;1m"
#NC="\033[0m"
#BACK_UP="\033[1K\033[0G"
NORMAL="\033[0m"
WARN="\033[33;1m"
BAD="\033[31;1m"
BOLD="\033[1m"
GOOD="\033[32;1m"


my crontab file has the following:


SHELL=/bin/sh
PATH=/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/opt/bin:/opt/sbin:/opt/usr/bin:/opt/usr/sbin
MAILTO=""
HOME=/
# ---------- ---------- Default is Empty ---------- ---------- #
# Syntax for lines is : minute hour day month dayofweek command #
*/5 * * * * admin run-parts /opt/etc/cron.5mins
01 * * * * admin run-parts /opt/etc/cron.hourly
02 4 * * * admin run-parts /opt/etc/cron.daily
22 4 * * 0 admin run-parts /opt/etc/cron.weekly
42 4 1 * * admin run-parts /opt/etc/cron.monthly

*/30 * * * * admin nice /opt/sbin/transmission_watchdog


my S05syslogd has the following:


#!/bin/sh
#
# Startup script for syslogd
#
# Stop myself if running
if [ -n "`pidof syslogd`" ]; then
killall syslogd 2>/dev/null
fi

/sbin/syslogd -m 0 -O /opt/var/log/messages -S -l 7


i put a .torrent file on the source directory, i force watchdog to start, then i select the .torrent file and make it active.

The .torrent file is copied to the work directory, but the torrent does not start downloading.

Here is my transmission.cgi page

http://img339.imageshack.us/img339/9901/transmissionbb3.th.jpg (http://img339.imageshack.us/my.php?image=transmissionbb3.jpg)

I also get errors on the log page and no graphic. Here is a image:

http://img523.imageshack.us/img523/5897/logpagewu7.th.jpg (http://img523.imageshack.us/my.php?image=logpagewu7.jpg)


So can please somebody tell me why is this not working :confused:

I'm getting mad :(

jrosado
13-06-2007, 22:00
I followed the German guide of wengi (with some help from babelfish) and now everything is working :D finally ;)

Now i need to find out how to create ftp accounts with different directory access...:confused:

wengi
14-06-2007, 08:11
Seems that i have to do a translation... if i have the time.
wengi

jrosado
14-06-2007, 10:02
Seems that i have to do a translation... if i have the time.
wengi

Yes, you should :D ;)

Now, my fight is with the ftp server. I found out the configuration file stupid-ftp.conf on the /etc folder.

I made changes to this file, save it, saved the flash and rebooted.

However, after the reboot the changes i made are gone and the file is equal to what it was :confused: :eek:

How can this be?

IN70043
16-06-2007, 15:03
Hi I followed the instructions and I get the following error trying to start transmissiond:

Jun 15 22:09:19 transmission_watchdog: Transmission daemon restarted!
Jun 15 22:09:19 transmissiond[546]: Transmission daemon 0.80-svn (1874) started - http://transmission.m0k.org/
Jun 15 22:09:20 transmissiond[546]: chdir - No such file or directory

Again and again and again.

The .torrent files are located in the source directory. Work directoru contains 3 directories with the same name like the torrents files, but transfer.data is empty. The conf file seems OK. Transmission.cgi works fine.

Any clue?

Regards

avberk
16-06-2007, 20:19
can you attach your transmission.conf file?

IN70043
16-06-2007, 21:18
HEre it's:

# Configuration
# NOTE: no spaces around the = sign
# the config will be sourced (eg. . transmission.conf)

SOURCE=/tmp/harddisk/torrent/source
WORK=/tmp/harddisk/torrent/work
TARGET=/tmp/harddisk/torrent/target
#MAILTO=torrent@somedomain.com
#MAILFROM=torrent@somedomain.com
#MAILOPT="-smail.somedomain.com -f"
USER=admin
GROUP=root
DATE_FORMAT="%d %h %H:%M"

# Transmission daemon variables
PIDFILE=/opt/var/run/transmission.pid
ACTIVE=/tmp/harddisk/torrent/active-torrents.txt
HOME=/tmp/harddisk/torrent
WATCHDOG=300
LISTENING_PORT=65534
# set SPEED in kB/s or -1 for unlimited
UPLOAD_SPEED=10
DOWNLOAD_SPEED=80
#UPLOAD_SPEED=41
#DOWNLOAD_SPEED=180
# change SYSLOG from /tmp/syslog.log to
SYSLOG=/opt/var/log/messages
DEBUG=1
#Uncomment the following for UPNP NAT traversal
NAT_TRAVERSAL=--nat-traversal

# Seed torrent after completition (YES or NO)
AUTOSEED="YES"
# If the following limit is reached watchdog will not enqueue new one
MAX_ACTIVE_TORRENTS=5

# Creating graphical log of transfer with gnuplot
# can be very site specific issue. See transmission.cgi
# how this variables are used.
GNUPLOT=/opt/bin/gnuplot
GNUPLOT_COMMAND=${WORK}/transfer.gnuplot
GNUPLOT_DATA=${WORK}/transfer.data
GNUPLOT_OUTPUT=/opt/share/www/transfer.png
HTTP_IMG_LOCATION=../transfer.png
#TZ offset in seconds. Use +- sign. DST manually
TIMEZONE_OFFSET=+3600

#Colors for command line. # comment out if not needed
GREEN="\033[32;1m"
#NC="\033[0m"
#BACK_UP="\033[1K\033[0G"
NORMAL="\033[0m"
WARN="\033[33;1m"
BAD="\033[31;1m"
BOLD="\033[1m"
GOOD="\033[32;1m"

AND the output of mount command:

/dev/root on / type squashfs (ro)
none on /dev type devfs (rw)
proc on /proc type proc (rw)
ramfs on /tmp type ramfs (rw)
usbfs on /proc/bus/usb type usbfs (rw)
/dev/discs/disc0/part1 on /opt type ext3 (rw)
/dev/discs/disc1/part2 on /tmp/harddisk type ext3 (rw,noatime)

disc0 is a 2GB USB pen where is also configured 512MB of swap
disc1 is a 500GB MAXTOR USB HD.

IN70043
17-06-2007, 14:57
Hi everyone.

Probably the problem is HOME variable?

Trnasmission points to /tmp/harddisk/torrent but admin user has it's own HOME pointing to /usr/local/root.

Can I use another user to start Transmission?

Regards

oleo
17-06-2007, 16:15
daemon should be started with transmission_watchdog. And there HOME is set to $WORK.

IN70043
17-06-2007, 17:58
Hi.

I've changed the HOME to $WORK but it doesn't work. I've tried to run transmissiond manually with this results:;

[admin@ASUS torrent]$ transmissiond HUP active-torrents.txt -v 1
Remove /usr, it's in the way.

With the command transmission_watchdog also doesn't work.

Any idea?

IN70043
17-06-2007, 18:01
Also tried:

[admin@ASUS torrent]$ export HOME=/tmp/harddisk/torrent/work
[admin@ASUS torrent]$ transmissiond HUP active-torrents.txt -v 1
Remove /tmp, it's in the way.

What does it means? --> Remove /tmp, it's in the way.

IN70043
18-06-2007, 07:09
Hi everyone.

I removed the actual release and I installed this release --> transmission_0.6+r1320-1_mipsel.ipk and everything works fine.

2171 admin 1428 S transmissiond -p 65534 -w 300 -u -1 -d -1 -i /opt/var
2174 admin 1428 S transmissiond -p 65534 -w 300 -u -1 -d -1 -i /opt/var
2175 admin 1428 S transmissiond -p 65534 -w 300 -u -1 -d -1 -i /opt/var
2176 admin 1428 S transmissiond -p 65534 -w 300 -u -1 -d -1 -i /opt/var
2177 admin 1428 S transmissiond -p 65534 -w 300 -u -1 -d -1 -i /opt/var
2178 admin 1428 S transmissiond -p 65534 -w 300 -u -1 -d -1 -i /opt/var
2179 admin 1428 S transmissiond -p 65534 -w 300 -u -1 -d -1 -i /opt/var

Could be a bug in release 0.7+r1874-1?

Regards

zwitter
26-06-2007, 00:36
I have better one ----> [752]: Could not open file XD and sup with that shit?

oleo
27-06-2007, 07:33
Setting HOME externally does not help as the $HOME is set by transmission.conf

Stating that Transmission does not work is too little evidence to comment anything. I can fix it if I see that it really does not work for me. By now there was not such case, but for others milestone my vary.

kolp
28-06-2008, 23:24
For some reason the graph in the log tab does not show anything. I have attached it. It just displays this every time i click log also i am not sure if my log i sclearing itself out or not because it still has logs from the Jun 18 till today. I don't know whats going as I am still trying to understand how this program works. Thanks in advance

1.9.2.7-9
Transmission daemon 1.22+ (6196)

oleo
29-06-2008, 00:49
at least you should get a dots. Maybe there is something wrong with syslog or transmissiond is not running.

wpte
29-06-2008, 02:35
at least you should get a dots. Maybe there is something wrong with syslog or transmissiond is not running.

i suggest leaving it running a bit longer.
as you can see there is a red line close to the blue line at the end ;)

make sure you have port 65545 (i believe) is opened and portforwarded to your router for better performance :)
it usually takes 10 to 30 minutes to get a sexy graph :p

kolp
29-06-2008, 03:17
1. It has been doing this for 2 weeks so yea, how do I check for transmissiond if it is active because all the downloads look good and uploadds too. Just the graph is not working.

This is the code I have for syslog:

nano /opt/etc/init.d/S05syslogd

#!/bin/sh
#
# Startup script for syslog
#
PATH=/opt/bin:/opt/sbin:/opt/local/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin

LOGFILE=syslog.log
KERNLOGFILE=kern.log
LOG_OLD=/tmp
LOG_NEW=/opt/var/log

prefix=""
sbindir=${prefix}/sbin

NAME=syslogd
DAEMON=${sbindir}/${NAME}
DESC="syslogd"
OPTIONS="-m 0 -O $LOG_NEW/$LOGFILE -S -l 7 -s 0"

case "$1" in
start0)
printf "Starting ${DESC}: "
# Copy old syslog and create symlink to new
if [ ! -L /tmp/syslog.log ]; then
cat $LOG_OLD/$LOGFILE >> $LOG_NEW/$LOGFILE
mv $LOG_OLD/$LOGFILE $LOG_NEW/$KERNLOGFILE
ln -s $LOG_NEW/$LOGFILE $LOG_OLD/$LOGFILE
fi
${DAEMON} ${OPTIONS}
printf "${NAME}.\n"
logger -t ${NAME} "started."
;;
stop)
if [ -n "`pidof syslogd`" ]; then
printf "Stopping ${DESC}: "
killall "${NAME}"
printf "${NAME}.\n"
fi
;;
start|restart|force-reload)
$0 stop
sleep 1
$0 start0
;;
*)
printf "Usage: $0 {start|stop|restart|force-reload}\n" >&2
exit
;;
esac

exit 0

kolp
29-06-2008, 03:39
So the syslog i posted is from wengi tutorial. I now change the syslog to Moody Blue's. The reason i did this is because I followed Moody's tutorial to get the hds working but because i thought wengi tutorial was much newer so i followed his tutorial after getting the hd back up with moody blue. Maybe this would be the problem U think. I changed the syslog identical to moody would this make a difference or not im not sure just trying things out here.

#!/bin/sh
#
# Startup script for syslogd
#
# Stop myself if running
if [ -n "`pidof syslogd`" ]; then
killall syslogd 2>/dev/null
fi

/sbin/syslogd -m 0 -O /opt/var/log/messages -S -l 7

Same problem I really dont know what is wrong with it. When i click log it takes a while to load because it shows me everything since Jun18th how do i get it so it clears. I am sorry for asking so many questions. I had this problem becausemy router stopped working and I thought it was a good chance to redo the new oleg version but i liked the older version1.9.2.7g better it worked with no flaws just tillt he router died. Thanks for all your help guys. But neways for now I will keep checkin on this post if there is a solution thanks again

wpte
29-06-2008, 23:00
make sure to walk trough 9b of the wengi howto.

then also change in transmission.conf this:

SYSLOG=/opt/var/log/syslog.log

if you did it all right it should be working, or you missed something;)

kolp
30-06-2008, 05:50
I went over that part everything is exactly the same as part b now. Still no difference thnx for suggestion though

hweiee
22-11-2008, 15:40
Hi,

I updated to the latest firmware and updated/upgraded all ipkg packages yesterday.

Currently, I am using Transmission 1.40 (7096)

Everything is working great. I can fetch torrents and start downloading/uploading. Then access the completed downloads with samba2.

My Transmission is started in POST-BOOT, with this line:
/opt/bin/transmission-daemon -g /usr/local/root/.config/transmission-daemon/

When I add a torrent, using the webinterface OPEN button at the top left corner, the download is added to the list in the webinterface. A torrent file is also created in both
/usr/local/root/.config/transmission-daemon/torrents
and
/tmp/local/root/.config/transmission-daemon/torrents


BUT, I realised that when I restart my WL500W, the torrents disappear. This means that when I go to
http://MY OWN IP ADDRESS:TRANSMISSION PORT/transmission/web/
I do not see any ongoing/seeding/paused/etc in the list at all.
It is totally blank.

There is also no torrent file in
/usr/local/root/.config/transmission-daemon/torrents
and
/tmp/local/root/.config/transmission-daemon/torrents


However:
My settings file in
/usr/local/root/.config/transmission-daemon/settings.json
and
/tmp/local/root/.config/transmission-daemon/settings.json
is perfectly file (not deleted, not changed).

The partially downloaded files in the torrent download directory are also still there (not deleted).


Therefore I suspect the issue is, when I reboot router (either by entering "reboot" in putty, or by physically switching off the electrical power supply), the torrents in the 2 "torrent" folders somehow got deleted.
Why?
How do I solve this problem?

Please help.



Thanks so much!
hweiee

kaizen
22-11-2008, 16:13
Hi,

I updated to the latest firmware and updated/upgraded all ipkg packages yesterday.


Your config file is in flash memory.

Read this (http://wl500g.info/showpost.php?p=108370&postcount=30) (mainly move your config file to your pendrive/hdd in my example /tmp/harddisk/torrent/.config - I have mounted my harddisk in /tmp/harddisk)

BTW. Current version is r7132

hweiee
22-11-2008, 19:49
Hi kaizen

I think you are right. That's a really fast and accurate diagnosis :D

Thanks, I think it should solve the problem. But its my bedtime now, shall check it out tmr.



hweiee

Heathen
02-12-2008, 21:29
highjacking this thread as i have the same problem.

i have tried every thing i have found on this forum without any good result.

i still loose my .torrent files when i reboot?

i'm running the latest version.

and when i look for them via ssh i cant even find them?
(yes im newbie to linux)

garifo
23-02-2009, 17:56
Is there a way to get the error log on transmission?
Ok here's my issue.

I leave transmission running...I have a total of 20 files and 5 currently downloading of size 4gb plus each.
After a day or so my transmission crashes. I cannot access through the web interface or through putty. Also my routers may admin page crashes as well. I'm not sure if the problem itself is with transmission or the oleg firmware.

on avg my downloads are at 500kb/s -1.5mb and uploads vary from 50-200kb/s.

Anyone else experience this problems?
Is there a way to get an error log out of transmission or the oleg firmware so I can better report any issues

buddy
02-06-2009, 17:25
I did an update and now Transmission is not working. I downgraded using transmission_1.60+r8350_mipsel.ipk but its still not working.

I found that when I do ps all i have running is ps and sh, no other processes.

Can anyone help me fix this problem?