PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : Help to Set Up Wl-500gP in Home Network



Zeropoint
12-06-2007, 10:47
I just purchased the WL-500gP and I am trying to attach it to my existing local network with no luck so any help would be great.
My local network has the following form:
I have a router PC with IP 10.2.109.65
All the other PCs are given IPs from that on. For example my laptop has an IP 10.2.109.66.
The subnet is 255.255.255.224.
DNS: 10.2.109.65
Default gateway: 10.2.109.65
There is an 8port switch that is connected to the PC router and all the other Hardware (including the WL-500GP) are connected to it so as to have network and Internet Access!
The above IPs and Subnet cannot be changed since I communicate with other Network with this IP ranges.
When I ty to set up WL-500gP i do the following:
I Leave automatic IP for WAN connection.
Change LAN IP Settings to 10.2.109.100 and subnet to 255.255.255.224. When I apply these settings it says that the DHCP server settings don't match and they will be changed automatically. I press yes and restart. Then I have problem connecting to router.

If I leave the LAN IP settings to default I can access router and attached HDD only from laptop via wireless, my desktop finds shared disk but can't connect.

If I try to set up WAN settings to match current network, I am not allowed cause as it says 255.255.255.224 is not a valid IP address.

I currently connect only the WAN port of the WL500gP to one of the ports of the switch (I connect nothing on the LAN ports of the WL). Is this correct??
Any help about how I could make the correct set up?

Ideally, I would like to access the router from any PC in my network.
Especially from my laptop I would like to have both wired and wireless connection. The default will be wired and if I unplug the network cable to switch to wireless. (I managed to achieve that at some point, had internet connection at both cases but no other PCs could access the router).
I don't care to have static IP in the wireless network between Laptop and Router.

Any help would be great!
Thank for your time :)

wengi
12-06-2007, 11:33
If i guess right your WL will act as a normal client on the network and not as router for internet (thats your pc's job). You need to connect the LAN port to the switch!

10.2.109.100 is NOT in the range of your network.

255.255.255.224 means you have a max. of 30 hosts (plus BC).
Your host IP Range is 10.2.109.65 - 10.2.109.94.

Try it yourself: http://www.subnet-calculator.com

Zeropoint
12-06-2007, 14:52
If i guess right your WL will act as a normal client on the network and not as router for internet (thats your pc's job). You need to connect the LAN port to the switch!

10.2.109.100 is NOT in the range of your network.

255.255.255.224 means you have a max. of 30 hosts (plus BC).
Your host IP Range is 10.2.109.65 - 10.2.109.94.

Try it yourself: http://www.subnet-calculator.com

Thanks for the help!

If I connect just the LAN port of the WL to the switch will my laptop be able to connect to the Internet and to the rest of the Network, wireless
through the WL?

Do I have to change the operation mode from Home GW to Access Point?
And do I leave the DHCP enabled for WAN?

A lot of questions I know ;)

Regarding the subnet, I had no idea but now I know :)

Thanks again for your help! :D

wengi
13-06-2007, 07:46
Just to be sure:

Your asus will NOT work as router?
Internet connection will still be done by router PC with IP 10.2.109.65?

If the answer to both questions is YES:


If I connect just the LAN port of the WL to the switch will my laptop be able to connect to the Internet and to the rest of the Network, wireless
through the WL? Yes. But your WL has to act as Access Point. LAN and WLAN will be bridged and your laptop will access LAN and internet.


Do I have to change the operation mode from Home GW to Access Point?change to AP. (see above)

And do I leave the DHCP enabled for WAN?WAN will not be used because WAN is done by your router PC. Disable DHCP on the WL.

wengi

Zeropoint
13-06-2007, 11:15
Thanks again for the help!

Yesterday I tried a different configuration and it seems to work!

Connect both WAN and LAN ports of WL to the switch!
Set LAN IP to 10.2.109.90
Subnet to 255.255.255.224
Disable DHCP on the WL
Set IP 10.2.109.90
Subnet 255.255.255.224
Default GW: 10.2.109.65 (IP of the PC router)

The WL is accessed by the laptop both wired (default) and wireless (if I disconnect the lan cable) . Shared folder of HDD attached to WL is accessible both from Laptop and Desktop :)

I will try you configuration today to see if it works better!

The problem is now that I have to solve a second problem :(
Download Manager can't access HDD cause winsock 2.0 is running :( :confused:

I haven't had the time to look on this yet, will do it today afternoon after work!

Any quick hint??:rolleyes:

wengi
13-06-2007, 11:38
No idea on the winsock thing.