PDA

Bekijk de volledige versie : Telnet Login Problem



rookie
10-03-2007, 16:48
Hello all,

I am reading the forum for a while and bought a WL-500g Premium recently.
Now I try to ugrade the the firmware and have the problem that I can not access to the router via telnet. The connection will be rejected by router.

I tried to upgrade the firmware via the web interface and get an firmware error.
I assume itīs normal since Asus will avoid it.

Is the anybody who has some ideas?

Thanks in advance.

cheers

rookie

lly
10-03-2007, 18:01
First of all - has you enabled this feature? See System setup->Services in web interface.
Second - what firmware you are using now? ASUS? Oleg's?

At last - telnet access has nothing with firmware upgrade process. You have to use tftp or web - see FAQ in this forum.

rookie
10-03-2007, 18:16
1st - There is no Services in System Setup. Therefore I am not able to release the feature.
2nd - I still have the Asus original fw.

I know telnet is not using for upgrade.

At first I would like to access via telnet for test.
Then I would like to upgrade via tftp because upgrade to other firmware than
Asus does not work. I am getting the error: Fail - incorrect image or error transmission.

lly
10-03-2007, 18:37
Sorry, I forgot original FW - possible it can't support telnet. Do you know exact version?

About FW upgrade - you have to read FAQ carefully! Common mistake - opinion that FW is ready directly after tftp upload! You have to wait until router reboots itself of wait approx 10 minutes (for mine Wl500gP it 7 min) and reboot it manually.

rookie
10-03-2007, 18:56
Ok, then is clear.
I got the router delivered with version 1.9.7.0 and made an upgrade to 1.9.7.2.
I tried to upgrade to router via tftp as followed:
tftp 192.168.1.1 put <image>
Unfortunately I am getting timeout.

lly
10-03-2007, 19:19
1) Did you forget to put tftp in binary mode? (-i)
2) Was POWER lamp flash before upload?

rookie
10-03-2007, 19:22
1.) No, sorry - the right command called:
tftp -i 192.168.1.1 put <image>

2.) Yes, the power led is flashing.

Allthough I am getting timeout.

lly
10-03-2007, 19:45
I hope you use wired interface for FW update?
can you ping router?

rookie
10-03-2007, 19:50
Yes, I do.
Yes, I can ping the router.
I followed the instruction of

Chapter 1.3.

I tried another tftp tool from winagents. Here I got an error to check whether the tftp server is available.

I guess there is something wrong with tftp.

rookie
10-03-2007, 19:50
Ups, the link is missing:
http://wiki.openwrt.org/OpenWrtDocs/Installing/TFTP?action=show&redirect=OpenWrtViaTftp

lly
10-03-2007, 19:54
If you use firewall on your workstation - turn it off. No more suggestions :confused:

rookie
10-03-2007, 20:09
Yes, I turn the firewall off.

As you can see I did everything right, but I am not able to upgrade it.

rookie
10-03-2007, 20:13
I found something like:
... WAN interface musst have a valid IP address.

What do you think about that?
Since I am testing it the router is not connected to the WAN network.

lly
10-03-2007, 20:28
I am upgrade FW with disconected WAN since nobody knows how bootloader react on attacks. I hope - no, since many people give WAN IP dynamically (i.e. 0.0.0.0 at startup) and reflashing successfully...

rookie
10-03-2007, 20:36
Yes, it seems that was it.
The transfer was successfully.
Now I will wait at least 10 minutes.

Thanks a lot for your help.